Philipkee Twincharged August 9, 2021 Share August 9, 2021 I am thinking of investing in a treadmill. I have been going to safra regularly to use the treadmills. The problem now is with the lockdown, it's really throwing my rhythm off. Train one month, off one month and so on..... But I think the air circulation will be very bad cos the flat is small. ↡ Advertisement 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic August 9, 2021 Share August 9, 2021 35 minutes ago, Philipkee said: I am thinking of investing in a treadmill. I have been going to safra regularly to use the treadmills. The problem now is with the lockdown, it's really throwing my rhythm off. Train one month, off one month and so on..... But I think the air circulation will be very bad cos the flat is small. Haven't used threadmills for a while. Gym threadmills are commercial types and longer, more robust and thus more expensive. Better research the models properly so don't end up with one not nice to use, eg too short. For circulation, just use a strong fan. I have a fan blowing my back at max when I row. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 9, 2021 Share August 9, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, Philipkee said: I am thinking of investing in a treadmill. I have been going to safra regularly to use the treadmills. The problem now is with the lockdown, it's really throwing my rhythm off. Train one month, off one month and so on..... But I think the air circulation will be very bad cos the flat is small. After i bought a cross trainer last year due to Covid, I stopped going to the gym (even after reopening). Don't think i will go back again unless for the chiobus. Air circulation, just switch on aircon or buy one with a built in fan. It helps a bit. Edited August 9, 2021 by Voodooman 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 9, 2021 Share August 9, 2021 Will treadmill in hdb and when you are running on it, the downstairs neighbors would hear stomping sound? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 9, 2021 Share August 9, 2021 3 minutes ago, Voodooman said: After i bought a cross trainer last year due to Covid, I stopped going to the gym (even after reopening). Don't think i will go back again unless for the chiobus. Air circulation, just switch on aircon or buy one with a built in fan. It helps a bit. Seriously i find gym cannot go unless no more covid. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic August 9, 2021 Share August 9, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, 13177 said: Seriously i find gym cannot go unless no more covid. So far no gym cluster yet, comparing with KTV, market, food court, hospital, airport, where is safer? 😅😅 Edited August 9, 2021 by Ct3833 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 (edited) 10 hours ago, Voodooman said: After i bought a cross trainer last year due to Covid, I stopped going to the gym (even after reopening). Don't think i will go back again unless for the chiobus. Air circulation, just switch on aircon or buy one with a built in fan. It helps a bit. What's a cross trainer? Edited August 10, 2021 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 11 hours ago, Philipkee said: I am thinking of investing in a treadmill. I have been going to safra regularly to use the treadmills. The problem now is with the lockdown, it's really throwing my rhythm off. Train one month, off one month and so on..... But I think the air circulation will be very bad cos the flat is small. I definitely won't invest in a treadmill. Just run outdoors. Better air better scenery better everything. Rowing machine maybe if u have the space. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 1 minute ago, Lala81 said: I definitely won't invest in a treadmill. Just run outdoors. Better air better scenery better everything. Rowing machine maybe if u have the space. maybe those who bought like to share their experiences and advantages of treadmill against running outdoor? No place to run probably is one reason. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 8 minutes ago, Victor68 said: maybe those who bought like to share their experiences and advantages of treadmill against running outdoor? No place to run probably is one reason. I don't like treadmill but few things I think good is 1. All weather of course 2. Less load on knees due to softer surface 3. Incline. My friend has bad knees so he does max incline 30 mins walks. If u have the latter two, I think can consider. There's no such thing as no place to run outdoors. Pcn is all over the country. If u have a car, guaranteed can drive to a park or pcn to run within 10 mins max (if u don't want to run beside the road) . 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 11 minutes ago, Victor68 said: maybe those who bought like to share their experiences and advantages of treadmill against running outdoor? No place to run probably is one reason. Used to run in the gym. I would say threadmill is a little bouncy, thus slightly more gentle on the joints. And you are forced to run at the set speed, cannot slow down (unless you adjust the speed of course)! Run outdoor can adjust suka suka speed up or slow down when tired or feel like chionging. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 10 hours ago, 13177 said: Seriously i find gym cannot go unless no more covid. Agree. With Delta, the odds of not getting infected while sharing the gym with someone who is asymptomatic, running on a treadmill and panting (without mask obviously), is close to zero. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 (edited) 34 minutes ago, Lala81 said: What's a cross trainer? It is an elliptical runner. Edited August 10, 2021 by Voodooman 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 It is really the situation that counts. I am able to hit the riverside and run, get my bike out anytime when at home. At my current place, I cannot go out to run as the area is not so convenient. I got treadmill instead though. But if got no determination, then no use. Another friend copy me buying one, but his housemate say he can put the mattress there to sleep. So must have determination to "Do it". Overall, I prefer outdoor exercise too 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 4 minutes ago, Voodooman said: It is an elliptical runner. Can I say the machine you push and pull with the hands and half run half cycle on the legs. Haha elliptical so chim. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 2 minutes ago, Arogab said: It is really the situation that counts. I am able to hit the riverside and run, get my bike out anytime when at home. At my current place, I cannot go out to run as the area is not so convenient. I got treadmill instead though. But if got no determination, then no use. Another friend copy me buying one, but his housemate say he can put the mattress there to sleep. So must have determination to "Do it". Overall, I prefer outdoor exercise too In BKK, downtown may not be that convenient to run. The road is really narrow. Outside of BKK should be ok? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 15 minutes ago, inlinesix said: In BKK, downtown may not be that convenient to run. The road is really narrow. Outside of BKK should be ok? I live at one side of the highway while our factory is on the other side. No way to cycle and my estate which is a rather small development is not good for running. I choose to stay near to the big supermarket Makro for convenient. My side, to ride, I have to drive the bike to the Don Muang airport I heard. Anyway, I am happy the treadmill is providing a high ROI. Haha 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 10, 2021 Share August 10, 2021 In SG, running outside beats running on a treadmill. I used to be able to run a few km on a treadmill but now, no longer. Adv of running outside: A good chance to enjoy the outdoors after cooped up WFH or office the whole day You can see further - giving your eyes a chance to relax The slightly uneven terrain strengthens different parts of your ankles, toes, calves, knees etc This depends on your route but you might see a chiobu (or an auntie which will then fall into disadv of running outside) A lot less monotonous Can speed up, slow down easily The flat, uphill and downhills keep you challenged - heightens your alert buzzer and stimulates your whole body You might meet a chiobu on the way (did I repeat myself?) Adv of treadmill: Can run in any weather Some people likes to watch their phone/TV when they run but I think if want to run, then run. Want to watch phone/TV, then do that. If you can do both and still do a PB, that means the intensity of the run can be increased a lot. Can hang clothes. ↡ Advertisement 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...