Wt_know Supersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 countries i want to emigrate australia, new zealand, taiwan, japan msia - might as well stay in spore? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boringchap Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 Even if you eventually don't migrate, it is useful to think what your ideal retirement life is like. For me, I think I will still hold on to the Singaporean passport but I probably will spend substantial time overseas. I like Europe. Hopefully can spend a few months there every year, during retirement. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 Actually if one is seriously considering migration must start planning early, most of these countries easiest way to migrate is so called investments. Problem is there are many people from PRC/India etc who can easily match this and requirements for the sought after counties are just getting higher every year. I think Aust/NZD are primary choices but to use skilled profession usually its those household type jobs (plumbing/gardening etc) which gets the most points, even those are age restricted. I'm targeting NZD, just need to start out the approach accordingly. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 Actually if one is seriously considering migration must start planning early, most of these countries easiest way to migrate is so called investments. Problem is there are many people from PRC/India etc who can easily match this and requirements for the sought after counties are just getting higher every year. I think Aust/NZD are primary choices but to use skilled profession usually its those household type jobs (plumbing/gardening etc) which gets the most points, even those are age restricted. I'm targeting NZD, just need to start out the approach accordingly. Hi, what's the criteria for nz huh? Sounds like a better place compared to Aust Even if you eventually don't migrate, it is useful to think what your ideal retirement life is like. For me, I think I will still hold on to the Singaporean passport but I probably will spend substantial time overseas. I like Europe. Hopefully can spend a few months there every year, during retirement. The downside is the long travel hours, I hate taking long flights now...not sure if body can take it when older though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 For investor, (don't be surprised at the below figures, they used to be much much higher) Type 1: 1.5M NZD to be invested in various "selected vehicles" which includes govt bonds,there are groups petitioning to change this to riskier vehicles like startups. This category comes with a catch where the investee will need to be in NZD 144 days in a year for 3 years before PR is granted. Age < 65 (problem is the more you invest the more points you get, i,e if a PRC investor cannot speak english but invest 5M he will automatically get more points than a bare minimum investor. Type 2: 10M NZD to be invested in various selected vehicles (as above), investor only needs to be in NZD 44 days out of 3 years and no age category. At this level will have less people fighting From my knowledge there is no requirement once you get NZ PR to keep going back to maintain but Aust there is, 3 out of 5 years. This one need to check I not 100% There are other ways of course, skilled migration. But I am not certain of this route, some people also buy small business (cafe etc) to run and get PR. But from my knowledge in Aust hiring locals are always a headache due to their minimum wage and strong labour laws so likely to be the case in NZD also. Flight wise least NZD got direct flight now, last time have to transit thru Sydney double xianz. Hi, what's the criteria for nz huh?Sounds like a better place compared to AustThe downside is the long travel hours, I hate taking long flights now...not sure if body can take it when older though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 everytime i travel, i want to emigrate after 1-week i want to take the earliest flight back to spore ... muahahahaha now traveling in japan ... what's that? looks interesting is that like some xmm JAV mass orgy?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 (edited) hmm not sure why so many of you guys so keen on oz and nzl the winter will kill you when older. lol i was actually thinking of thailand. changmai or something. so much closer to sg and our retirement dollar can stretch a long long long way. http://www.thaiembassy.com/retire/retire.php why bother so much go angmoh countries to be 2nd class citizens? For investor, (don't be surprised at the below figures, they used to be much much higher) Type 1: 1.5M NZD to be invested in various "selected vehicles" which includes govt bonds,there are groups petitioning to change this to riskier vehicles like startups. This category comes with a catch where the investee will need to be in NZD 144 days in a year for 3 years before PR is granted. Age < 65 (problem is the more you invest the more points you get, i,e if a PRC investor cannot speak english but invest 5M he will automatically get more points than a bare minimum investor. Type 2: 10M NZD to be invested in various selected vehicles (as above), investor only needs to be in NZD 44 days out of 3 years and no age category. At this level will have less people fighting From my knowledge there is no requirement once you get NZ PR to keep going back to maintain but Aust there is, 3 out of 5 years. This one need to check I not 100% There are other ways of course, skilled migration. But I am not certain of this route, some people also buy small business (cafe etc) to run and get PR. But from my knowledge in Aust hiring locals are always a headache due to their minimum wage and strong labour laws so likely to be the case in NZD also. Flight wise least NZD got direct flight now, last time have to transit thru Sydney double xianz. Edited November 10, 2015 by Little_prince 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 For investor, (don't be surprised at the below figures, they used to be much much higher) Type 1: 1.5M NZD to be invested in various "selected vehicles" which includes govt bonds,there are groups petitioning to change this to riskier vehicles like startups. This category comes with a catch where the investee will need to be in NZD 144 days in a year for 3 years before PR is granted. Age < 65 (problem is the more you invest the more points you get, i,e if a PRC investor cannot speak english but invest 5M he will automatically get more points than a bare minimum investor. Type 2: 10M NZD to be invested in various selected vehicles (as above), investor only needs to be in NZD 44 days out of 3 years and no age category. At this level will have less people fighting From my knowledge there is no requirement once you get NZ PR to keep going back to maintain but Aust there is, 3 out of 5 years. This one need to check I not 100% There are other ways of course, skilled migration. But I am not certain of this route, some people also buy small business (cafe etc) to run and get PR. But from my knowledge in Aust hiring locals are always a headache due to their minimum wage and strong labour laws so likely to be the case in NZD also. Flight wise least NZD got direct flight now, last time have to transit thru Sydney double xianz. Thanks bro! Need to consider migration as back up plan :) hmm not sure why so many of you guys so keen on oz and nzl the winter will kill you when older. lol i was actually thinking of thailand. changmai or something. so much closer to sg and our retirement dollar can stretch a long long long way. http://www.thaiembassy.com/retire/retire.php why bother so much go angmoh countries to be 2nd class citizens? Thai is a popular choice it seems, my cousin went there to work and migrated there, dun wanna come back liao Alot of ang moh also migrated there Cost of living is low 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boringchap Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 The downside is the long travel hours, I hate taking long flights now...not sure if body can take it when older though Yeah, that's a valid point. I know some people like yourself who absolutely hate long flights. Fortunately, I'm perfectly ok with flying for now and my wife is also fine with it. Hopefully it stays that way. Maybe one reason is that I am quite fascinated with the aviation industry and I keep myself very busy by making flight review videos. These are my two most recent videos. Amsterdam to Singapore on Singapore Airlines Economy. Singapore to Amsterdam on Singapore Airlines Economy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 Yeah, that's a valid point. I know some people like yourself who absolutely hate long flights. Fortunately, I'm perfectly ok with flying for now and my wife is also fine with it. Hopefully it stays that way. Maybe one reason is that I am quite fascinated with the aviation industry and I keep myself very busy by making flight review videos. These are my two most recent videos. Amsterdam to Singapore on Singapore Airlines Economy. Singapore to Amsterdam on Singapore Airlines Economy. Good for u n wifey, u guys are lucky On top of not liking the long flights, I dun like the jet lag too It takes me more than 2 weeks to recover from a trip... ... ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boringchap Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 Good for u n wifey, u guys are lucky On top of not liking the long flights, I dun like the jet lag too It takes me more than 2 weeks to recover from a trip... ... ... Yeah, jet lag is tough. I'm thankful I can cope with it. Recently, I have had to travel a bit more for work and I have to operate at 100% despite the jet lag. A lot of coffee helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 (edited) Hi, what's the criteria for nz huh? Sounds like a better place compared to Aust The downside is the long travel hours, I hate taking long flights now...not sure if body can take it when older though Same here. Long flights is a torture for me. When bloods don't circulate for twenty over hours one can die. If have a few million to invest in other country then in the first place there is no need to migrate liao. Cos cost of living is not a problem already. Frankly , where got car and houses are cheap and income from job is high one and tax is low. Lol.the truth is other countries are facing much higher unemployment rate and more homeless people. Edited November 10, 2015 by Ingenius 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 NZD have to drive alot too just fyi, pending on where your home is it can be like 3 - 5 hours driver after you touchdown at the airport :) Good for u n wifey, u guys are luckyOn top of not liking the long flights, I dun like the jet lag tooIt takes me more than 2 weeks to recover from a trip... ... ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 Kinda depends on lifestyle, I used to work in UK for a stretch and ever since coming back I cannot get used to the weather lol, I perspire like alot even when doing very little. Cold countries are my favorite, I can always throw on another sweater hehe. Boils down to lifestyle I suppose, I'm the type who like open greenery and spaces, mountain trekking etc. If I had a place which faces snow caped mountains in the morning be perfect , (and some nice cars in the garage) As for belonging there wise seems the Kiwi's are more receptive to foreigners compared to Aussies, then again if its retirement then the interaction with locals is minimal compared to say working there. And also once you become a common face among the community I won't be surprised if one felt more welcome going to a cafe then say over here. (Ps I spent several years in Aust too so am acquainted with Aussie rules haha) hmm not sure why so many of you guys so keen on oz and nzl the winter will kill you when older. lol i was actually thinking of thailand. changmai or something. so much closer to sg and our retirement dollar can stretch a long long long way. http://www.thaiembassy.com/retire/retire.php why bother so much go angmoh countries to be 2nd class citizens? Swee is that a Go Pro? Yeah, that's a valid point. I know some people like yourself who absolutely hate long flights. Fortunately, I'm perfectly ok with flying for now and my wife is also fine with it. Hopefully it stays that way. Maybe one reason is that I am quite fascinated with the aviation industry and I keep myself very busy by making flight review videos. These are my two most recent videos. Amsterdam to Singapore on Singapore Airlines Economy. Singapore to Amsterdam on Singapore Airlines Economy. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boringchap Turbocharged November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 Swee is that a Go Pro? Yeah. My videos are made with a mixture of go pro, sony compact camera and iphone. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 (edited) It more of a case of too much regulations, bullying of glc and clamping down on creativity. Take for example, uber became successful, regulations comes in fast and furious to make sure auntie lucy rice bowl is protected The entire economy is structured for people to follow and not be creative. And foreigners are treated much better But that's my 1 man's view. Edited November 10, 2015 by Staff69 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 If i could, prob oz, perth or melb. If sea country, ever thought of boleh. But i cant read spk malay. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic November 10, 2015 Share November 10, 2015 Kinda depends on lifestyle, I used to work in UK for a stretch and ever since coming back I cannot get used to the weather lol, I perspire like alot even when doing very little. Cold countries are my favorite, I can always throw on another sweater hehe. Boils down to lifestyle I suppose, I'm the type who like open greenery and spaces, mountain trekking etc. If I had a place which faces snow caped mountains in the morning be perfect , (and some nice cars in the garage) As for belonging there wise seems the Kiwi's are more receptive to foreigners compared to Aussies, then again if its retirement then the interaction with locals is minimal compared to say working there. And also once you become a common face among the community I won't be surprised if one felt more welcome going to a cafe then say over here. (Ps I spent several years in Aust too so am acquainted with Aussie rules haha) Swee is that a Go Pro? Wah, so good de, u get to work overseas in different Ang moh countries, great exposure u have ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...