Seems like motor insurance going to increase again soon

3dwin

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/Owner...608-283038.html

after Sunday flood, looks like the motor insurance is going to increase again!!!

Depends on insurance company will honor act of god not? If got clause that will honor act of god than good news for them but bad news for people who pay for premium. Well.. give and take lor.. maybe next time when just so sway happen to you than you will be glad that insurance got cover act of god. [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

Edited by Yewheng

Motor Insurance going to increase in 2016 ............ [:(]

Yahoo : Chart of the Day: Car insurance premiums set to jump in 2016

Insurers have great pricing power.

The low car ownership rate in Singapore will not deter motor vehicle insurers from hiking premiums this year, according to a report by BMI Research.

BMI expects motor vehicle insurance premiums to rise by 5.2% this year, bringing the segment’s total value to a whopping $1.3 billion in 2016. Premiums should continue to rise at mid-single digit rates over the next four years, such that the segment will amount to $1.6 billion in 2020.

“Motor vehicle insurance (including both compulsory and voluntary covers) is the largest domestic insurance sub-sector. It accounts for a little less than half of premiums pertaining to Singapore risks and just over 10% of total premiums written in the non-life segment. We think that it will expand more rapidly than most of the other domestic insurance sub-sectors (with the exception of health insurance),” BMI Research said.

"The overall size of the motor vehicle insurance sub-sector, which accounts for somewhat less than half of the domestic insurance

business in terms of business written, is constrained by the low ownership of motor vehicles. Nevertheless, the motor vehicle insurers appear to enjoy pricing power, and should continue to achieve growth in premiums as a result,” the report added.

link : https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/chart-day-car-insurance-premiums-012500286.html

post-21853-0-33581700-1455083212.jpg

The low car ownership rate in Singapore will not deter motor vehicle insurers from hiking premiums this year, according to a report by BMI Research.

BMI expects motor vehicle insurance premiums to rise by 5.2% this year, bringing the segment’s total value to a whopping $1.3 billion in 2016. Premiums should continue to rise at mid-single digit rates over the next four years, such that the segment will amount to $1.6 billion in 2020.

“Motor vehicle insurance (including both compulsory and voluntary covers) is the largest domestic insurance sub-sector. It accounts for a little less than half of premiums pertaining to Singapore risks and just over 10% of total premiums written in the non-life segment. We think that it will expand more rapidly than most of the other domestic insurance sub-sectors (with the exception of health insurance),” BMI Research said.

"The overall size of the motor vehicle insurance sub-sector, which accounts for somewhat less than half of the domestic insurance

business in terms of business written, is constrained by the low ownership of motor vehicles. Nevertheless, the motor vehicle insurers appear to enjoy pricing power, and should continue to achieve growth in premiums as a result,” the report added.

link : https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/chart-day-car-insurance-premiums-012500286.html

coe constant, volume how to rise? :=B:  :secret-laugh:  :XD:  :grin:

Lucky I just renewed mine before CNY.

"The overall size of the motor vehicle insurance sub-sector, which accounts for somewhat less than half of the domestic insurance business in terms of business written, is constrained by the low ownership of motor vehicles. Nevertheless, the motor vehicle insurers appear to enjoy pricing power, and should continue to achieve growth in premiums as a result,” the report added

So the reason hey increase the premium is due to low number of vehicles sold in Singapore??? And so those retail or F&B businesses who have fewer customers must raise their prices too??? In the past years, they gave reasons for increasing premiums is due to insurance scams, inflated claims, etc. Now find another reason. Next time dunno what other reasons - maybe COE down so increase insurance to makeup the shortfall. Same logic as raise GST is to help the poor.

"The overall size of the motor vehicle insurance sub-sector, which accounts for somewhat less than half of the domestic insurance business in terms of business written, is constrained by the low ownership of motor vehicles. Nevertheless, the motor vehicle insurers appear to enjoy pricing power, and should continue to achieve growth in premiums as a result,” the report added

So the reason hey increase the premium is due to low number of vehicles sold in Singapore??? And so those retail or F&B businesses who have fewer customers must raise their prices too??? In the past years, they gave reasons for increasing premiums is due to insurance scams, inflated claims, etc. Now find another reason. Next time dunno what other reasons - maybe COE down so increase insurance to makeup the shortfall. Same logic as raise GST is to help the poor.

There are 20 GI in Singapore.  For motor insurance, 50% of the market share is top 3.  The remaining 50% is fight btw remaining 17 companies.

If loss experience is bad, of course increase in premium.  What to expect.

There are 20 GI in Singapore.  For motor insurance, 50% of the market share is top 3.  The remaining 50% is fight btw remaining 17 companies.

If loss experience is bad, of course increase in premium.  What to expect.

Competition in motor insurance is tough ... 2 to 3 new insurers will be doing motor business in 2016...

Expect these new players to price low in order to drive their sales.

I had checked my premiums (Aviva & Directasia) in Jan but did not buy. I checked again in Feb, increased liao lor.. by abt $100+. My insurance is due in Mar. Upset..

Missed the promo for Directasia. Maybe I shld sign w Aviva. Now got voucher if sign 2 years..

Edited by thebreadface

How insurance was being quoted? My insurance still so expensive even I ncd50% .....

Which insurance company provide cheaper rate ...

Currently with AXA : insurance premium @1.6k plus plus plus

Currently using comprehensive

I had checked my premiums (Aviva & Directasia) in Jan but did not buy. I checked again in Feb, increased liao lor.. by abt $100+. My insurance is due in Mar. Upset..

Missed the promo for Directasia. Maybe I shld sign w Aviva. Now got voucher if sign 2 years..

Car insurance can sign 2 years? If got claim in 1st year, no impact on 2nd year huh?..

car insurance per year how much ahhh?? 1k ahh?? 2k?? why some bros mentioned 6k?? 6k per year insurance on car?? wahh car insurance so expensive also ahh.... ?? alamak i need to recalculate again whether i can afford a car now..hais...

Edited by Fruit-tart

How insurance was being quoted? My insurance still so expensive even I ncd50% .....

Which insurance company provide cheaper rate ...

Currently with AXA : insurance premium @1.6k plus plus plus

Currently using comprehensive

Insurance premium $6K+? Mine is just 10% of yours.

You must be driving an exotic car.

or very young....

How young then can get 6k premium? When i was 22, my premium was around $800, now it is about $650.