zerobim08 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Yes I will. the VAG cars I drove in Germany were all manuals. 6 speed stick shifts and they were all reliable machines. Never had to doubt its reliability. It is only the DSG7 dry DQ200 that worries. Change that out and the car is good as gold. But my personal favourite are still the Mercedes benz. Isn't the dsg7 uses the same concept as the manual (which is also a dry clutch). What's so different that cause all the fud? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Isn't the dsg7 uses the same concept as the manual (which is also a dry clutch). What's so different that cause all the fud? Because the Electronic "Leg"....which control the Clutch,always...too tired... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
drwatson 1st Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Before anyone starts discounting my credibility, I deal with parts of the VW formel Q and the outgoing ISOTS16949 converting to the IATF16949. There is a lot of information not released to the public. The strategic sourcing of the components from the vw supply chain suggests the risks involving the DSG7's (dry) reliability. We don't have the actual PPM for the external provider of the transmission and clutch system so unable to know if the failures have been declining. So while some people kept insisting there's nothing wrong with it or it has already recovered from the problem is clearly having difficulties seeing the elephant in the room. The fact is: There is known issues to the mechatronics for the DSG7 (dry). The breakdown rate is high enough to cause worry and we see mass gathering to protest. The failure is unpredictable and can be very spontaneous. There is no known method of prevention. Everyone on a DSG7 (dry) is at greater risk to have their vehicles breakdown. This is a fact we cannot deny no matter how we sugar coat the words to consumers. Contrary to those insisting this is fear mongering, they seem to be having difficulties coming to terms with the facts that have already taken place. There are too many unanswered questions and you cannot expect consumers to offer blind faith. If you want to prove the problem is resolved, then release the field failure PPM since the failure took place, the 8D involved in the rectification of the problem, the ECN submitted by the external provider, the VDA6.1 audit report on the system of the involved external provider, 6.3 of the involved process that went wrong, 6.5 for the products audit reports... Release the involved PPAP (at level 3) to prove conformity otherwise, anything else is No Action Talk Only. Therefore, the best solution is to shun the DSG7 dry (for DQ200). and if you have to go for the VW, go for the DSG6 (DQ250 Borg Warner) wet, or DSG7 (wet) DQ500 Merry Christmas! Many of my friends on the DQ200 have a tow truck number in handy in both Singapore and Malaysia. I suggest those on it without the number to stand by one. You need it more than the rest. We certainly don't want to be stranded during the festivities. Good day gentlemen, have a nice day arguing over the obvious. 5 points to you sir! at last someone criticize like an adult. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fels 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Isn't the dsg7 uses the same concept as the manual (which is also a dry clutch). What's so different that cause all the fud?Different. They both use synchronizers and dry diaphragm spring clutches but different design. Also the mechatronics in the dsg7 dry which executes the command from the ECU is the weakest link. Full manuals don't have mechatronics. Heat dissipation is another question. You can go to youtube and watch the animations. They can help you understand better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Yes I will. the VAG cars I drove in Germany were all manuals. 6 speed stick shifts and they were all reliable machines. Never had to doubt its reliability. It is only the DSG7 dry DQ200 that worries. Change that out and the car is good as gold. But my personal favourite are still the Mercedes benz. The Mercedes 7g-tronic is also known to disintegrate after 5 years ~100K km with the internal oil channels literally falling apart into tiny bits. Yes I will. the VAG cars I drove in Germany were all manuals. 6 speed stick shifts and they were all reliable machines. Never had to doubt its reliability. It is only the DSG7 dry DQ200 that worries. Change that out and the car is good as gold. But my personal favourite are still the Mercedes benz. It's a pity more and more Singaporeans don't know or don't want to drive a manual anymore. Even Eurokars stopped bringing in the manual MX-5. It's an MX-5 for goodness sake. The manual is essential! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fels 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 The Mercedes 7g-tronic is also known to disintegrate after 5 years ~100K km with the internal oil channels literally falling apart into tiny bits. It's a pity more and more Singaporeans don't know or don't want to drive a manual anymore. Even Eurokars stopped bringing in the manual MX-5. It's an MX-5 for goodness sake. The manual is essential! Disintegrate? internal oil channels falling apart into tiny bits? Lol... I'm not sure if you know what you are saying Anyway the Christmas weekend is coming. Have a good holiday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Before anyone starts discounting my credibility, I deal with parts of the VW formel Q and the outgoing ISOTS16949 converting to the IATF16949. There is a lot of information not released to the public. The strategic sourcing of the components from the vw supply chain suggests the risks involving the DSG7's (dry) reliability. We don't have the actual PPM for the external provider of the transmission and clutch system so unable to know if the failures have been declining. So while some people kept insisting there's nothing wrong with it or it has already recovered from the problem is clearly having difficulties seeing the elephant in the room. The fact is: There is known issues to the mechatronics for the DSG7 (dry). The breakdown rate is high enough to cause worry and we see mass gathering to protest. The failure is unpredictable and can be very spontaneous. There is no known method of prevention. Everyone on a DSG7 (dry) is at greater risk to have their vehicles breakdown. This is a fact we cannot deny no matter how we sugar coat the words to consumers. Contrary to those insisting this is fear mongering, they seem to be having difficulties coming to terms with the facts that have already taken place. There are too many unanswered questions and you cannot expect consumers to offer blind faith. If you want to prove the problem is resolved, then release the field failure PPM since the failure took place, the 8D involved in the rectification of the problem, the ECN submitted by the external provider, the VDA6.1 audit report on the system of the involved external provider, 6.3 of the involved process that went wrong, 6.5 for the products audit reports... Release the involved PPAP (at level 3) to prove conformity otherwise, anything else is No Action Talk Only. Therefore, the best solution is to shun the DSG7 dry (for DQ200). and if you have to go for the VW, go for the DSG6 (DQ250 Borg Warner) wet, or DSG7 (wet) DQ500 Merry Christmas! Many of my friends on the DQ200 have a tow truck number in handy in both Singapore and Malaysia. I suggest those on it without the number to stand by one. You need it more than the rest. We certainly don't want to be stranded during the festivities. Good day gentlemen, have a nice day arguing over the obvious. Thanks for finally injecting some intelligence in this thread. Ok on this positive note, the rest of the aunties uncles you may now continue your tia-gong wet market critique liao. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detach8 5th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 (edited) Disintegrate? internal oil channels falling apart into tiny bits? Lol... I'm not sure if you know what you are saying Anyway the Christmas weekend is coming. Have a good holiday. There's little oil passages in the MU valve body for hydraulics. The internals are made of soft material (aluminium?) and is known to fall part, presumably from interaction with bad/old transmission fluid. I've seen it at the workshop. If you think I'm kidding you, that's fine. Merry X'mas. Edited December 21, 2016 by Detach8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Different. They both use synchronizers and dry diaphragm spring clutches but different design. Also the mechatronics in the dsg7 dry which executes the command from the ECU is the weakest link. Full manuals don't have mechatronics. Heat dissipation is another question. You can go to youtube and watch the animations. They can help you understand better. Other than mechatronics the rest of the gearbox is made up of chunks of metal. Other auto gearboxes also have mechatronics so what's the world of difference to justify all the FUD about dsg7? Like you said the weakest link is the MU. Hasn't the fact been established that the premature mechatronics failure was caused by corrosive oil? It has nothing to do with mechanical design soundness. The use of mineral oil reduces or eliminate oil from turning corrosive. Of course the other factor is heat which can reduce the lifespan of the mechatronics. So buyers should take a calculated risk. If you are going to use your car in crawling jams across (like crossing the causeway) everyday then you should be prepared to replace the wear and tear mechatronics and clutches. Otherwise buyers shouldn't be too concerned about all the FUD in this thread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 What for argue? End of the day it still boils down to how much time off you can schedule to go down to the workshop and get it fix. If you do not have time avoid this type of car. If you are those who own time own target, you just go ahead. It's not you who is doing the repairs. Even if you know the details you will still have to leave it to the mechanic. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fels 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 Thanks for finally injecting some intelligence in this thread. Ok on this positive note, the rest of the aunties uncles you may now continue your tia-gong wet market critique liao. Haha yes, not going to waste time and reduce myself to that level. They obviously don't know what they are saying. 2017 is round the corner. Merry Christmas and a happy New year to you too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 No big issue one lah. Car got problem just ask the wife help to drop you off/pick you up....like this guy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 What for argue? End of the day it still boils down to how much time off you can schedule to go down to the workshop and get it fix. If you do not have time avoid this type of car. If you are those who own time own target, you just go ahead. It's not you who is doing the repairs. Even if you know the details you will still have to leave it to the mechanic. You are talking like it is a weekly affairs which isn't the case here. In the worst case scenario, you maybe inconvenienced one or two days every few years. So do you need to cut your toes to avoid sand worms (as the saying goes)? Mine is at 2 years 50000km and there was no issue with gb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 (edited) Isn't the dsg7 uses the same concept as the manual (which is also a dry clutch). What's so different that cause all the fud? You make me laugh. DSG is not equal to manual GB. Even my young niece can tell the difference. You are talking like it is a weekly affairs which isn't the case here. In the worst case scenario, you maybe inconvenienced one or two days every few years. So do you need to cut your toes to avoid sand worms (as the saying goes)? Mine is at 2 years 50000km and there was no issue with gb. l A lot of us know that your A3 with the 7 speed dry clutch has no problem. Congratulations. But you not tired meh, defend so hard in the the A3 thread that you started. In this thread also wants to defend. People have their choices .... some people will still buy any VW including Audi with the 7 speed dry and there are some that will not. Period. It is their money and they decide. I would have gotten the A3 or the Jetta if it does not comes with the 7 speed dry clutch. They are very nice car, good value for the price. But it s my choice, my money. Edited December 21, 2016 by Civic6228 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 You are talking like it is a weekly affairs which isn't the case here. In the worst case scenario, you maybe inconvenienced one or two days every few years. So do you need to cut your toes to avoid sand worms (as the saying goes)? Mine is at 2 years 50000km and there was no issue with gb. Wow, ppl here are so defensive. Even assume I say something negative siah. Scary. Hahaha.... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 You make me laugh. DSG is not equal to manual GB. Even my young niece can tell the difference. l A lot of us know that your A3 with the 7 speed dry clutch has no problem. Congratulations. But you not tired meh, defend so hard in the the A3 thread that you started. In this thread also wants to defend. People have their choices .... some people will still buy any VW including Audi with the 7 speed dry and there are some that will not. Period. It is their money and they decide. I would have gotten the A3 or the Jetta if it does not comes with the 7 speed dry clutch. They are very nice car, good value for the price. But it s my choice, my money. post purchase dissonance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 You are talking like it is a weekly affairs which isn't the case here. In the worst case scenario, you maybe inconvenienced one or two days every few years. So do you need to cut your toes to avoid sand worms (as the saying goes)? Mine is at 2 years 50000km and there was no issue with gb. One or two days being inconvenienced every few years is OK ; provided that you know which day that it will fail . Its the feeling driving around and with the though of not knowing when it will fail that is disturbing . Get stuck in causeway jam , the though comes , not a good feeling. If your car really clocks 500,000 km in 2 years without any gb issue , tomorrow I go buy one immediately . If its a typo error and you actually meant 50,000 km , then its still to early to celebrate . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zerobim08 4th Gear December 21, 2016 Share December 21, 2016 You make me laugh. DSG is not equal to manual GB. Even my young niece can tell the difference. l A lot of us know that your A3 with the 7 speed dry clutch has no problem. Congratulations. But you not tired meh, defend so hard in the the A3 thread that you started. In this thread also wants to defend. People have their choices .... some people will still buy any VW including Audi with the 7 speed dry and there are some that will not. Period. It is their money and they decide. I would have gotten the A3 or the Jetta if it does not comes with the 7 speed dry clutch. They are very nice car, good value for the price. But it s my choice, my money. Did I say equal? :p I don't care how you want to use your own money. That's your prerogative. But I do care if you want to stick your opinion and tell me how I should or should not use money using FUD. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...