Hc246 Neutral Newbie October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 hi all folks, thanks for all the replies and did a check on the power steering pump area, the pump is leaking and the fluid level is even below the lower line. Guess will have to drop by the ws soon and sovle it before it leads to another thing. Hopefuuly this will also stop all the funny noises. Could any folks, advice also what are the options for me now, to change or to repair and the estimated cost involved. Really appreciate all the info in helping me trouble shoot. thanks a lot again. Regards, Lim ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 hi all folks, thanks for all the replies and did a check on the power steering pump area, the pump is leaking and the fluid level is even below the lower line. Guess will have to drop by the ws soon and sovle it before it leads to another thing. Hopefuuly this will also stop all the funny noises. Could any folks, advice also what are the options for me now, to change or to repair and the estimated cost involved. Really appreciate all the info in helping me trouble shoot. thanks a lot again. Regards, Lim pump will seldom leak unless you referring to the rack and pinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hc246 Neutral Newbie October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 hi Hamnurger, i think thats what it should be called, i thought it is called the pump. Any idea how much to fix it ? thanks a lot! regards, Lim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhngmycar 1st Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Bro which Honda model u driving.. if we Intro u to here or there also no use.. If u don't know what they using. Just like mine.. My Honda is parallel Import, So my GB oil should be HMMF (Honda multmatic fluid) which is more expensive and its already stated on the cap itself. & 1 of the local workshop add Honda CVTF which will work! but will have the Jerking problems & not smooth... so please check.. if u know what u are doing u can just go to any shop.. good luck haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 hi Hamnurger, i think thats what it should be called, i thought it is called the pump. Any idea how much to fix it ? thanks a lot! regards, Lim if at below engine, it's rack n pinion. whole assembly is power steering rack. overhauling (dismantle, disassemble & service / change seal + install & alignment / side slip) a couple of hundreds maybe some 500 - 700 but dunno can tahan how long. replace whole rack cost at least 1k+ incl labor n align / slide slip. if ur car has at least 4 yrs to go, replace. if 2yrs left, overhaul. if in between, u decide. this how i justify. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 I've read my service manual over and over again... never mentioned anywhere that states need to change ATF... it only states to check every 20k. And i've been following the steps in the manual to check..on top of the checks done during servicing by my mechanic. so far the ATF still looks good. Bright red witrh no signs of discoloration or drop in volume. then start to read alot on forums saying must change ATF every 20k or something. Went to mazda motors(old) and was told no need to change one, just inspect, if good no need to change. I do have friend driving same model as mine who has never changed his atf...now 150k liao...still problem free. but then i hum ji still changed it during 80k. now 110k liao.. Yes even my Optra handbook say just check only but we drive 10 yrs. Other countries ty sell car only 2-3 years so different. Here cars too expensive. Some older systems r sealed so cannot change ATF but when the car reached a certain age/mileage, the ws wil do a autobox overhaul n change fresh ATF. These sealed systems r cos manufacturer dun wan ws to put wrong type of fluid n fark-up the autobox. All overhaul r done at dealer only. In SG we take better care cos overhaul autobox damm ex. At least $2K plus or more. The worst enemy of yr autobox is high heat cos it destroy the ATF. Fresh ATF wil ensure yr autobox can last much longer. I now use synthetic ATF cos it can take much higher heat without damage. It also last much longer but it costs more. I used to drain n fill fresh mineral ATF every 20K km but now with synthetic ATF, it can last maybe 50-60K km b4 I need to drain n fill again. Also the shifts r much smoother. Same goes for Power Steering Fluid n Brake Fluid. Flushing n changing fresh fluid wil keep the whole system working better for longer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 Talking about GB... Anyone try this before? http://www.lucasoil.com/products/display_products.sd?iid=29&catid=2 Review online is some hit and some bad.. Just wondering any bro locally use it before... :-) My GB has a minor leak at the torque converter area tot of trying this to swell the seal to stop the leak n drive my car for 2 more yr till coe end. The Lucasoil mentioned is not for oil leaks. Although its a very old n reputable brand, maybe u can check if ty hv something for Autobox oil leaks? There r many products out there. Some do nothing. Some work but some wil destroy yr autobox in a short time. Since yr leak is small n only 2 years to scrap, u can try some reputable products that stop the seal from leaking till u scrap. Good for you. My previous car the agent also say no need to change ATF. I always went back to the agent for servicing (not cheap, mind you, cos it was a continental car). After 5+ years, the gearbox started slipping. The service staff said that they will "try changing ATF". Siao liao... I paid for the expensive ATF but problem was still there. Then the service staff said they do not service gearboxes, only replace. A gearbox costs $13K. I said "nevermind". Then they said "Don't worry, we can get you a refurbished one at $8K". I said "nevermind". To those who always say that the "agent knows best", I say you're naive. Not only unable to monitor ATF/gearbox condition, but no skill to service the gearbox... I also have very little confidence in the workmanship at the agents. I trust the information I get in here more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 they said some parts worn off and had to change... but obviously they didn't get the actual problem / part(s) since the same problem recurred after 3 months. U sud hv gone to Khangs. They specialise in Continental autobox. I overhauled my Corona autobox there. Reverse vary slow to engage when cold. Good job n never gave anymore problems. Cost abt $2K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 hi all folks, thanks for all the replies and did a check on the power steering pump area, the pump is leaking and the fluid level is even below the lower line. Guess will have to drop by the ws soon and sovle it before it leads to another thing. Hopefuuly this will also stop all the funny noises. Could any folks, advice also what are the options for me now, to change or to repair and the estimated cost involved. Really appreciate all the info in helping me trouble shoot. thanks a lot again. Regards, Lim First thing is to top up yr PS fluid to the full mark n monitor often so it dun drop too low again. (U can try using PS Fluid Stop Leak sold in many auto shops) If the leak persists, U can chk with your ws what r yr options n the prices. Of course change all new is best but also very expensive. Repair if done well is almost as good as new. Prob change all the rubber seals so it sud solve the problem. There r some reputable products sold to stop leaks in yr PS system. U can try topping up with it n see if it helps but if the damage is too much, no choice but to overhaul or change it. One bro here just had his PS system repaired for abt $1K. He drive a Matrix. Just make sure u hv it done at a good reputable n experienced ws cos some ws after "repair" it wil get worse n u end up throwing more money at it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 U sud hv gone to Khangs. They specialise in Continental autobox. I overhauled my Corona autobox there. Reverse vary slow to engage when cold. Good job n never gave anymore problems. Cost abt $2K. I did... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear October 29, 2013 Share October 29, 2013 (edited) Yes even my Optra handbook say just check only but we drive 10 yrs. Other countries ty sell car only 2-3 years so different. Here cars too expensive. Some older systems r sealed so cannot change ATF but when the car reached a certain age/mileage, the ws wil do a autobox overhaul n change fresh ATF. These sealed systems r cos manufacturer dun wan ws to put wrong type of fluid n fark-up the autobox. All overhaul r done at dealer only. In SG we take better care cos overhaul autobox damm ex. At least $2K plus or more. The worst enemy of yr autobox is high heat cos it destroy the ATF. Fresh ATF wil ensure yr autobox can last much longer. I now use synthetic ATF cos it can take much higher heat without damage. It also last much longer but it costs more. I used to drain n fill fresh mineral ATF every 20K km but now with synthetic ATF, it can last maybe 50-60K km b4 I need to drain n fill again. Also the shifts r much smoother. Same goes for Power Steering Fluid n Brake Fluid. Flushing n changing fresh fluid wil keep the whole system working better for longer. Hmn...I better change my ATF and steering fluid in my coming servicing liao. Edited October 30, 2013 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged October 30, 2013 Share October 30, 2013 I feel that Honda cars auto tranny should be fail proof for the first 10 years Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 30, 2013 Share October 30, 2013 Hmn...I better change my ATF and steering fluid in my coming servicing liao. Its good to have a regular schedule to change all those fluids. Keeps yr car running smooth n less repairs. Today I just did my 2nd drian n fill of synthetic ATF. Now the shifting smoother. Also with synthetic I dun need to drain so often. Last time I drain every 20K km. Now only every 50-60K km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged February 25, 2014 Share February 25, 2014 My auto gearbox when changing gear can hear the click click sound when I shift amongst the different D, R, N, P gears. Is that a sign that there is wear and tear or nothing to worry? Or can issue by solved by replacing ATF? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic February 25, 2014 Share February 25, 2014 All got sound one. You stand in cp and observe people shift gear, very loud one. Manual GB lagi loud kkkkkkrrrrrrraaaaaccccckkkkkkkkkkk.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged February 26, 2014 Share February 26, 2014 But some cars when moving gears like very quiet, esp the newer cars, so I thought maybe it is a sign that near the end of lifespan or something.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 26, 2014 Share February 26, 2014 I feel that Honda cars auto tranny should be fail proof for the first 10 years a toyota maybe, definitely not a Honda. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matoonia 6th Gear February 26, 2014 Share February 26, 2014 But some cars when moving gears like very quiet, esp the newer cars, so I thought maybe it is a sign that near the end of lifespan or something.... If you shift from D to P or R the sound is quite normal. But if the sound is from 1st to 2nd to 3rd etc when driving, worth to do a check of the GB. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...