Lightbringer

Here is the summary:

I am not earning as much as the ministers

Fark the PAP

I got no balls to go on a strike/protest myself

So I type long letter supporting their strike

Fark the PAP

OK..so the article is about farking ching wo...... OK...thread can be close liao....... [laugh]..... we cannot support such action.....we have no where to be deported to as I sin kar po Lang..may be to pulau ubin or sister island only.............i love ching wo....!!!!!! [thumbsup]

Edited by LoverofCar

The key point raised by the writer was that the PRC workers

did not have proper channels to air their greviances, contrary to what is widely reported.

It has to do with the value system of the majority:

The vast majority here prefer and accept a little exploitation on individual and labour rights

over any real or imagined "loss of order, harmony and co-operation",

which is seen as dangerous to their own survival, interests and legitimacy.

With the above value system,

a company like SMRT and the the majority of individuals will unquestioningly

put out and routinely accept statements such as

"you can always resign and leave for SBS, if you are unhappy".

Values also explains why the greviances of the PRC were bounced around between the

various organisations who sat on their hands.

They hoped the workers and problem will just quietly fade away.

That's the culture here, anyways.

Vincent is asking those reading the article to question and re-evaluate your own judgement values.

[cool]

Btw, I read the whole thing from start to finish.

There are some sad truths in there, but some of it is also "he said she said", or his words against theirs.

Nevertheless, it is something to think about.

Let more ppl know instead of reading rubbish straits times.

The media totally silence the drivers POV.

Did anyone bother to interview the drivers? They probably did. But did not make it to print

I don't totally agree with strike. But if you push a baking dog to a corner, it will definitely bite.

For those with no empathy, dun KPKB the next time it happen to you.

It is the online behaviour of my fellow Singaporeans which saddens me equally. People have speculated whether the drivers
Edited by Icedbs

haha..don't accuse foreigners of bad smelling lah

anyway, very irony, singapore proclaims itself to be a clean, tidy and hygenic place, yet it has got a cancer rate (esp breast and colon cancer) much higher than its neighbouring countries, thailand, malaysia and indonesia

this is a cancer-stricken country mannn

I disagree that "workers rights are indivisible".

"Rights" are perceived -- not stuff casts in stone.

I also disagree that the Chinese bus-drivers that staged the strike, ran out of options.

They are not modern-day slaves, kidnapped from mainland China and brought to Singapore and chained to SMRT buses.

After exhausting all avenues of recourse regarding their pay and living conditions, which the article states that were taken, they could have simply resigned.

they should tried stomp or wanbao first before strike?

I disagree that "workers rights are indivisible".

"Rights" are perceived -- not stuff casts in stone.

I also disagree that the Chinese bus-drivers that staged the strike, ran out of options.

They are not modern-day slaves, kidnapped from mainland China and brought to Singapore and chained to SMRT buses.

After exhausting all avenues of recourse regarding their pay and living conditions, which the article states that were taken, they could have simply resigned.

Its easy for us to say resign, have you put yourself in their shoes? If you have borrow tons of $$ just to come here and work and on contract, by breaking the current contract you have to pay $xxxx to company not to mention your work permit will expire, than loads of other things follows the suit. If you were in this position, what will you do?? Not to mention $xxx in SGP is about 5x of rmb...Resign??? Easier say than done, cause alot of people just take it that they are like Singaporean this company not happy can just jump another company. Seriously, I wouldn;t know what to do if I were in their shoes, after all the avenues to seek redress is used up and still, this is a foreign country to me, I might be alittle lost to actually know what else can I do to get things sorted.

Edited by Ghostami

While something should be done about the welfare of foreign workers, in this case the china bus drivers, i don't see a need to support something that is detrimental to our society.

haha..don't accuse foreigners of bad smelling lah

anyway, very irony, singapore proclaims itself to be a clean, tidy and hygenic place, yet it has got a cancer rate (esp breast and colon cancer) much higher than its neighbouring countries, thailand, malaysia and indonesia

this is a cancer-stricken country mannn

it's a literary device.... he's using irony to make a point lah.

The intended audience for this article is educated Singaporeans who are willing to reflect and consider on the type of society in which they live, and play a part in shaping.

It's not meant for the benefit of the striking bus drivers. And it's probably not meant for you as well.... :D

solli hor...i onli sell tau huay so not beli "educated" like u.

maybe i shall go and cut and paste other ppl's political comments to look more educated.......

Edited by Soya