COE solutions??

Wind30

then jia lat. our housing all base on quota liao [sweatdrop]

weakness in a system... kena exploit by opportunists.... is called Free Market.

... I learn something new today. [:/]

That's why i say make the balloted COE non-transferable so it cannot be sold on.

Good point about someone being paid to ballot and register a car and then letting someone else use it. However i don't think this would be too popular in a "black market" sense, who is going to fork out that much money for an asset that is registered in someone else's name? Not to mention the insurance and driving license issues that might arise. Also on the psychological level, people who want the latest and greatest models are not going to be too happy driving a car that is registered under someone else's name, as in essence and legally it is not theirs. Same thing with paying someone to ballot/register a car for you, even if the car is transferred immediately after collection, your "new car" is esentially a second-hand car in LTA and AD records, shiok meh? Might as well buy used car.

For the sake of argument let's say the Ballot Plan Cat A is pegged at 10k. Compare that to today's rate of 80k. Would "black market" second hand cars really command a premium of 70k "COV" over new cars(keep in mind the paper value is still based on a pegged 10k COE)? Especially since you cannot include much of this into your loan quantum.

Anything that come with quota are no more "free market" imho.

the quota is there but the bidding is free market?

so if no quota then how to bid? set a pre determined amount? then also not free market liao

That's why i say make the balloted COE non-transferable so it cannot be sold on.

Good point about someone being paid to ballot and register a car and then letting someone else use it. However i don't think this would be too popular in a "black market" sense, who is going to fork out that much money for an asset that is registered in someone else's name? Not to mention the insurance and driving license issues that might arise. Also on the psychological level, people who want the latest and greatest models are not going to be too happy driving a car that is registered under someone else's name, as in essence and legally it is not theirs. Same thing with paying someone to ballot/register a car for you, even if the car is transferred immediately after collection, your "new car" is esentially a second-hand car in LTA and AD records, shiok meh? Might as well buy used car.

For the sake of argument let's say the Ballot Plan Cat A is pegged at 10k. Compare that to today's rate of 80k. Would "black market" second hand cars really command a premium of 70k "COV" over new cars(keep in mind the paper value is still based on a pegged 10k COE)? Especially since you cannot include much of this into your loan quantum.

Balloting is bad idea. It's akin to raiding our reserves. [laugh]

Point is, if you are rich, you must pay the price, not depending on "lucky draw".

Edited by Kangadrool

weakness in a system... kena exploit by opportunists.... is called Free Market.

... I learn something new today. [:/]

This is what this world is all about. if not why farmer in our south like to burn their excess goods.

Sound like communism. you support communism?

so everyone have to ballot for COE?

let's say a poor person that cannot afford a car and has no licence but ballot for COE so he can 'rent' the COE out

vs

a person that can afford and wants a car

abit funny leh... you don't think so?

Balloting is bad idea. It's akin to raiding our reserves. [laugh]

Yeah man, we are all traitors for discussing possible reductions to their earnings. Wait kena charged for treason :ph34r:

let's say a poor person that cannot afford a car and has no licence but ballot for COE so he can 'rent' the COE out

vs

No license cant ballot then.

Non transferable.

Its not communism, its equality on the basis of statistical fairness.

Maybe another cat for those who really want a car to pay a premium akin to

ERP or express queue at theme parks

This is what this world is all about. if not why farmer in our south like to burn their excess goods.

you sure they burn the excess goods or the waste?

Exactly this used to happen in New Zealand.

To buy a car you had to get an "import permit".

There was often a 1+ year waiting time.

People would get a new car and then immediately sell it for a profit.

There are countless examples if you do research of how it happens.

To turn COE into a ballot you are going to have to invest in a big, comprehensive and cumbersome monitoring system to make sure that people don't onsell.

It will be a nightmare, but the time you make the system "secure" it will be so unwieldy that there will be massive extra costs associated with it - and the inefficiencies just mean that a lucky few get rich at the expense of all tax payers.

vs

No system is perfect, but i believe a balloting system is fairer to everyone and not so skewed to the rich and/or maximising profits. People who want to own a car still have to be earning a suitable amount to own/take a loan/maintain a car. It's not like if a balloting system is implemented tomorrow everyone is going to rush in.

I don't think the examples you have cited are abit funny because:

a. A person that can afford and wants a car can go and ballot with every one else who can afford and wants a car. This person is not a unique snowflake. Just because some can comfortably afford/want a Suzuki Swift and others can comfortably afford/want a Volvo S40 (both Cat A), why must the system be skewed towards the one with more cash to throw for COE? Why not just allow everyone to can afford/want a car in Cat A (or B) to have a fair chance to get it?

b. A "poor person" with no license will still need to fork out money for the COE and car, which will be registered under their name (without a license?). Even if got license, can they afford to fork out the money/take loan for the car and then find someone willing to "rent" the car from them? If i got alot of money and really want a car but don't want to ballot, would i be willing to sponsor this poor person to get COE/buy a car under his name with my money? What's to stop him from just selling off the car since legally he is the registered owner? That's quite a risk to take vs just balloting for my own COE.