How low will COE go?

Darryn

I know he can resurrect the banned, but he has to be something special to revert the dead......

nowonder body itchy....bloody talking abt me.....must be that soya la [:p] [:p]

no need lah

getting people to submit accounting documents will only drive people to start falsifying accouting records which opens them up to serious implications which is really no need lah

1) i respect that there are some new startups that need a commercial ride, for this we shouldnt stop these $2 gong see from buying real commercial rides like high ace, cabstar or big euro vans like transit but we should restrict these $2 gong see from buying those small euro vans because it is clear that these are just drifters from the Cat A,B and E

2) if a real business which already have a fleet of vehicles (which proves that they are real business) and wanna buy small euro vans, i think we should allow lah

dun like that lah...... there are some truely small biz that need only a small van, like my neighbour a canteen operator, often see him drag 2~ 3 big baskets of veggies etc to his small van, these baskets no way to fit into a sedan or even station wagon hor ....

First para: what do you want me to prove? I did not make any statement per se. I just said that your assumption that all MIK buyers are marginal may not be necessarily true, meaning it may be true to some extent but not to the extent like all of them are. However since u work in credit line, i will concede that you may be right that a majority of them are indeed marginal.

Second para, that's just what you say. I also can say Korean cars as reliable as Japanese car. In fact my previous Fit GE started having problems after 18mths. My Kia was problem free up to the 30th month.

Third para: when did i bring higher models in??

Fourth: I don't invest but i have frens who do and this is actually what they told me. Better to buy blue chip or something like that and also that interest rates will not remain this low for long so now that it is low better to take advantage of it. I am hoping someone can tell me what the EIR is for a 1.88% flat rate over 10years tenure.

Fifth: if eveything else is equal, why wouldn't they? You mean a person with annual income of $60k will get higher limit than someone with $90k p.a.?

Not against you but just commenting on point four and five.

Four: dont always say my friend this, my friend that leh, sibei sian one you know? Say i, me, my.

Five: everything else is never equal

strange, i know of an SVP who drives a kangoo.. :D

There are CEO's who ride bicycle to work. It just the general perception I suppose. Actually vans can save a lot of money in hotel fees [laugh]

Oh I see... That's why he bought a van...

My gutfeel is that those looking for a substantial drop in COE premium because of the new ruling by MAS will be disappointed.

The current COE quota is already cut to an extent that it is at an all time low while demand out stripping supply by a lot. Even though this maybe boosted by the new MAS ruling, it will cause more players in the budget group to drop out since not many can afford to pay up so much cash upfront. However, in the first place, I feel more of the current buyers with the current COE quota belongs to the more affluent group. Even much of the vehicles sold in CAT A came from smaller vehicles from Mercs, BMW and Volvo where prices is typically close to 200k or more. The new ruling will only weed out rest of the buyers in the bread and butter segment which does not account much for the current car sales in the first place.

My estimation is that the drop in premium will not likely be more than 20K from current. Probably hovering around 60k for CAT A, and 75K for CAT B.

who mind? it's like $60k-$70k discount from current price

If the COE prices come down to 10-20k...

i certainly wouldnt mind buying at 60% loan...

hehehehe

cooling measure is there to be beaten

$20k downpayment can drive away this 5-series liao ... chop chop wor

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...147&DL=2454

by law must downpayment $100K !!!

Beat The Cooling Measure With Our 90% In House Loan Financing At 2.28% Interest Rate! Be Quick As Our Stocks Are Limited! Last Chance To Own A Car For Your Daily Commute Before Rules Change Again!

cooling measure is there to be beaten

$20k downpayment can drive away this 5-series liao ... chop chop wor

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...147&DL=2454

by law must downpayment $100K !!!

Beat The Cooling Measure With Our 90% In House Loan Financing At 2.28% Interest Rate! Be Quick As Our Stocks Are Limited! Last Chance To Own A Car For Your Daily Commute Before Rules Change Again!

Faster Faster buy before used car prices tumble!!!

My gutfeel is that those looking for a substantial drop in COE premium because of the new ruling by MAS will be disappointed.

The current COE quota is already cut to an extent that it is at an all time low while demand out stripping supply by a lot. Even though this maybe boosted by the new MAS ruling, it will cause more players in the budget group to drop out since not many can afford to pay up so much cash upfront. However, in the first place, I feel more of the current buyers with the current COE quota belongs to the more affluent group. Even much of the vehicles sold in CAT A came from smaller vehicles from Mercs, BMW and Volvo where prices is typically close to 200k or more. The new ruling will only weed out rest of the buyers in the bread and butter segment which does not account much for the current car sales in the first place.

My estimation is that the drop in premium will not likely be more than 20K from current. Probably hovering around 60k for CAT A, and 75K for CAT B.

I agree.. nothing much will change... Those that buying car now, are ppl that die die have a car..

Either they can afford it no matter what is the price(the richie).. or they cannot afford not to have (on-the-road saleman)

In the first place, so high also got ppl buy.. i dun see this will stop ppl from getting a car. Car price rose by 100% since 2008 ?!?

What may happened is that more companies will be buying cars for their salemen or provide company loan to their staff.. Cos salemen cannot afford or able to have own transport before joinning..

Edited by ShepherdPie