How low will COE go?

Darryn

Crash? Don't be silly. You still can get 100% loan and 10 years repayment. Thats tons of bank not regulated by MAS. Big player like Century Tokyo, Hitachi & etc. Only Singapore high street bank got effected.

Maybe if buy from AD have to pay by new ruling......if not, yes agree, COE will go upwards.

The worst is Asian economic crisis. I think u haven't finished secondary school then. I was retrenched in 1998 n has seen 1997 to now. Worst is 1997-1999 and 2003 H1n1 bird flu pandemic, and the 1 year after Sept 11, 2003.

"9/11" was 2001 -.-

then y honda pricing their crv at abt 170k? thats abt 20K lower liaoz

spore property is on viagra ... not going to go down for some time

property punter bet that those who want but not change car due to high downpayment may turn into property by saving a little more ... huat ah !!!

I am waiting for 2015.

so they are not happy because the profit margin is low but not because not being to sell car?

everyone is happy to sell 2011/2012 car because the profit margin is sibei high ... who wouldn't? wahahaha

At the Ubi and Commonwealth used car belts and The Grandstand Car Mall, business was slow-going. The used car dealers said that in recent days, more people are buying cars with Certificates of Entitlement (COE) that will expire in less than five years. The profit margins are low for these cars, they lamented.

a good time relook into rule78

you terminate your loan early ... you kena rule 78

you redeem your loan early ... you kena rule 78

excerpt from dbs car loan illustration [thumbsup]

basically, every $50K loan the interest is $8,125 and monthly repayment is $968.75

30xactz.jpg

Yeah its less tax give to Govt.

Affordable maybe less so, they have to make it less affordable in order to rein in the COE bubble. PAP cannot afford a 200k COE, they would be opposition if so [laugh]

They last time they rein in COE prices was when it tried to reach 100k as well, so that is their level of concern, that time it moderate to 50k, then quickly to 30k+, then 20k

Less tax better than end up that fellow cant pay ... in this way u milk the cow slowly... ^_^

if coe drop to 10k, then many people can afford the 40% or 50% downpayment, many people buy car, so drive up the coe again ?

The rule of the game has changed slightly....i.e. is who wants to fork out 50% cash as dp? n take a 5 yrs loan n pay that i/r.. ^_^ so now it is really abt affordability...rather than buy first then slowly pay...

Yes indeed, now is about AFFORD ABILITY.......

Last time was LOAN ABILITY....

Hope that MAS keeps its reins tight on making sure that there are no gaps nor leaks.

Otherwise, its just a time wasting paper exercise.

For marginal owners, they cannot even renew their cars' expiring COE because they probably can't get a loan on that. Need up front payment to LTA.

MAS already tell Banks to PRESSURE finance company not to provide 100 percent loan.

Go n read the report

An MAS spokesman said the authority will address

MAS working with MTI to tighten the loose end

Yes indeed, now is about AFFORD ABILITY.......

Last time was LOAN ABILITY....

Hope that MAS keeps its reins tight on making sure that there are no gaps nor leaks.

Otherwise, its just a time wasting paper exercise.

I am hoping COE crashes to less than 10K... or even some nominal amount... Its basically a money sucking policy with zero benefits to anybody except the Govt. They should just scrap the whole COE thing, that would be even better!