More COE Next Year (2014) .....

Maxus-MIFA9

Drove past Leng Kee last weekend, there are not many people at the car shops. Think many people still believe that COE will continue to fall with the surging supply of COE in the coming months.

Many people are holding back to wait for further drop in COE. The current COE prices are still high hovering around $70K +.

Do not forget there is a group of people, that their existing car is due soon, and die die want a car.

a) they get a used car

b) Get a new car with current COE

As more car's COE are due (scrapped) soon, hence this group of people are getting more and more. Therefore, the COE might stay there for a while, might not drop too fast.

I think the COE system will not differ much. This is demand vs supply.

As long as there are people who scrap, most will purchase. It is only the minority of sellers who will decide to change thier lifestyle and not have a car.

We also have to factor in the fact that the measures for both housing and cars are so called for the good of our future to curb with housing and traffic problems.

My take: this is just Singapore's unique way of managing the country. Until we have a change in the current system, things are looking bleak for those who hope that the old COE system will revert.

Do not forget there is a group of people, that their existing car is due soon, and die die want a car.

a) they get a used car

As more car's COE are due (scrapped) soon, hence this group of people are getting more and more. Therefore, the COE might stay there for a while, might not drop too fast.

The scenario you describe can be used in a low COE supply scenario. So, applying your logic, when less people scrapped their cars, this group of people are getting less and less. Therefore, COE might stay the same and will not raise too fast. ==> We know that this is simply not true as the last 2 years, COE cheong!

The logic is much simpler:

more COE supply = cheaper COE

less COE supply = expensive COE

no need to think too much. the longer you wait the cheaper it is. that is, until COE supply shrinks again.

Edited by Lincoln

more COE supply = cheaper COE

no need to think too much. the longer you wait the cheaper it is. that is, until COE supply shrinks again.

You need to see how much more and the demand. More COE does not mean it will drop if everyone chiong in and buy.

If the supply of the coe quota same during 2006-2009, then the coe will drop. If not dont think it will drop much la. Cause the demand for buying car is always there.

layman law

when you think it is expensive, you cannot afford it

when you think it is cheap, everyone will cheong to buy

either way ... many are fighting for coe either coe is high or low

so the low will not stay low for long

car buyer is sibei hungry ...

layman law

when you think it is expensive, you cannot afford it

when you think it is cheap, everyone will cheong to buy

either way ... many are fighting for coe either coe is high or low

so the low will not stay low for long

car buyer is sibei hungry ...

Eh thats funny, i am the opposite.

I can well afford it but when i feel its expensive i dont buy

When i think it is cheap, even if i cant afford it, i will find a way to buy.

Oh i know, that means i not layman??

Yippee

Edited by Throttle2

Yippee

Expensive or cheap is relative. Think current COE is cheap cheap for many rich FT migrating to sg ... lol

please share/show the "way" ... sharing is caring ....

like how i found the way to buy my dream lolie sub ... THG 50 months installment [sly]

Yippee

please share/show the "way" ... sharing is caring ....

like how i found the way to buy my dream lolie sub ... THG 50 months installment [sly]

Brand new Rolex sub is not investment lah, brother!

If need to take instalment to buy a watch, best not to buy.

Luxury item must be luxurious mah. Heh

Expensive or cheap is relative. Think current COE is cheap cheap for many rich FT migrating to sg ... lol

Yah everything is relative

*yawn*

Brand new Rolex sub is not investment lah, brother!

If need to take instalment to buy a watch, best not to buy.

Luxury item must be luxurious mah. Heh

Yah everything is relative

*yawn*

Brand new Rolex sub is still a better investment than car ownership no?

So if need to take installment to buy a car, best not to buy?

a) they get a used car

There are also a group of people that COE due to expire soon, and they die die want buy new car only. So whether the COE is reasonable for them to buy, or they will not buy at all. So I guess this group not so sensitive to the COE prices, and most likely will not wait. ie use finish liao just buy loh.

Edited by drivinghazard

Brand new Rolex sub is still a better investment than car ownership no?

So if need to take installment to buy a car, best not to buy?

You ask the right man... To him, yes.. He only pay cash... Hehehe...

There are also a group of people that COE due to expire soon, and they die die want buy new car only. So whether the COE is reasonable for them to buy, or they will not buy at all. So I guess this group not so sensitive to the COE prices, and most likely will not wait. ie use finish liao just buy loh.

My COE is ending next year. I will wait to see if the price will drop else will LL just buy. There are many guys around me in the same situation and they are just waiting. All of them are able to afford the current down payment but may not feel justify to pay so much for a piece of paper.

But certainly not that many guys (or gals) like you who can afford a $70K piece of paper!

There is at least a 1000 (Cat A, B & C) every month for the past 3 years paying COE more than $70k.

25k coe per year compare to 125k coe previously is 80% cut in quota

that's why buyer fight until siao to secure coe

There is at least a 1000 (Cat A, B & C) every month for the past 3 years paying COE more than $70k.