Roh96 6th Gear April 29, 2014 Share April 29, 2014 buy motorcycle better though COE high...not as high as cars COE... they suck our money dried... Can't say that lah, should say we are willingly to get suck dry by them. No one point gun over your head to pay high COE. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic April 29, 2014 Share April 29, 2014 Brand new Rolex sub is still a better investment than car ownership no? So if need to take installment to buy a car, best not to buy? Thats a very poor case of relativity. But you wouldnt admit it, i know. A brand new rolex sub is no investment to me, and neither is a car. However the uses are different and the quantum is also very different Therefore they cannot quite be compared the way you do. But ...................... Thanks for speaking my heart!!!!! My motto for buying car is, "no full cash dont buy!" I dont wish to go thru this any further, the whole MCF must have heard me repeat my stance ten thousand times.... So let it be, OK? Let it be. Muayhahahahaha. You ask the right man... To him, yes.. He only pay cash... Hehehe... You mean that he picked the wrong guy to challenge that principle.....whahahahahahaha..... But certainly not that many guys (or gals) like you who can afford a $70K piece of paper! Can lah, Singaporean very rich one I heard! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobt Supercharged April 29, 2014 Share April 29, 2014 According to LTA,there were only around 22k car sold(COE issued) last year, and the total car population now excluding taxi,lorry and bus are around 620k. because of the COE system, there are high supply years, and there are low supply years. but one thing is almost certain, during the next few years, there would be more than 100k COE expiring every year. Let's assume 90% of those car owners die die wanna continue driving. Then there would be more than 10K COE for the others to grab, compare to 2.2K last year.The supply and demand situation would be much improved, thus why I am quite optimized about the COE price. It will drop, and it will drop significantly. i do agree with you and i really hope it would drop, but i'm NOT so optimistic becos i'm old enough to witness how our govt have been manipulating the system and the people by roti prata everything over the years. they could just come out another lame excuse to CUT the COE quota. yes, and NO ONE can do anything. the only thing we can do is...KPKB here lor. hahaha 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged April 29, 2014 Share April 29, 2014 But ...................... Thanks for speaking my heart!!!!! My motto for buying car is, "no full cash dont buy!" I dont wish to go thru this any further, the whole MCF must have heard me repeat my stance ten thousand times.... So let it be, OK? Let it be. Muayhahahahaha. I read it as "Let It Go"... Sorry, I'm blind sometimes.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=moSFlvxnbgk Anyway, with regards to what you've said, recently (or maybe not so recently, but it stuck in my head.) I read something that stuck with me. Affordability is not something to be calculated. Most people don't calculate whether they can afford a sweet or candy. If the calculators need to come out, then it's highly likely that it's not affordable. (Different from doing calculation between products to see which is the most value for money). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastnfaster 3rd Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 I mentioned that I prefer "Sell Low Buy Low" lah .... a car with a 10k COE and 90k COE is the same car. A 90K COE car does not drive faster. If everything the same, I would choose the car with 90k coe, for a resale one. Anyway, waiting for coe to fall is like waiting for a lady. U never know if you will succeed,depending on your criteria . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastnfaster 3rd Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 i do agree with you and i really hope it would drop, but i'm NOT so optimistic becos i'm old enough to witness how our govt have been manipulating the system and the people by roti prata everything over the years. they could just come out another lame excuse to CUT the COE quota. yes, and NO ONE can do anything. the only thing we can do is...KPKB here lor. hahaha Right, our population has increased so much and based on the allocation of car population, coe is definitely a limited resource. Chances of Getting a cheap coe is like striking toto ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powxus 3rd Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 i do agree with you and i really hope it would drop, but i'm NOT so optimistic becos i'm old enough to witness how our govt have been manipulating the system and the people by roti prata everything over the years. they could just come out another lame excuse to CUT the COE quota. yes, and NO ONE can do anything. the only thing we can do is...KPKB here lor. hahaha They have already gave the excuse that there is a mistake in the formula during that period. Just hope that they do not cut the quota by too much in the coming years to rectify the mistake. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 (edited) cut quota = jialat maintain quota = also jialat with 1.2M increased in population compare to 2004/2005 the only solution now is increase quota ... which is highly unlikely many do not realise the impact of 1.2M increased population ... keep saying formula look at MRT and Buses ... how many new mrt lines are opened? how many busses are added? compare to 2004/2005 today mrt and bus is full full full ... additional 1.2M people need transportation hor ... which means many buy car too They have already gave the excuse that there is a mistake in the formula during that period. Just hope that they do not cut the quota by too much in the coming years to rectify the mistake. Edited April 30, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 Don't think the future system will be fully GPS, one overcast day, they will lose millions. The new system should be like handphones signal. The technology is there. The question is.... how to divide the $$pork$$..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 i do agree with you and i really hope it would drop, but i'm NOT so optimistic becos i'm old enough to witness how our govt have been manipulating the system and the people by roti prata everything over the years. they could just come out another lame excuse to CUT the COE quota. yes, and NO ONE can do anything. the only thing we can do is...KPKB here lor. hahaha I think LTA should cut the COE quota, as the previous MoT had released one too many COEs early last decade. The roads are way too congested now.It is only appropriate that they right a previous wrong/mistake and not let it propagate! The previous thinking was to let people own car, but keep at home and use only during off peak. That was motivated by the misguided perception of allowing for material asset ownership growth, to appease the peoples' strong appetite for cars. It did NOT work, of course, since anyone who had bought cars sure had wanted to use them, to justifying owning a depreciating asset. So they are now much cleverer! Nip it in the bud and reduce quota and make it very, very, very expensive to even buy a car. Dampen all urge and perish the thought of even buying a car! With time, even wild horses can be tamed ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powxus 3rd Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 The technology is there. The question is.... how to divide the $$pork$$..... The cost of implementing GPS is high as there are many blind spots in our city buildup which requires local base station to track it accurately. If implemented, it will cost we the drivers hands and legs in order to recover the cost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 They have already gave the excuse that there is a mistake in the formula during that period. Just hope that they do not cut the quota by too much in the coming years to rectify the mistake. I certainly hope they will (cut quota). In fact, I think they must - as a form of self honour for past fcuk ups made. They owe it to the motorist public to decongest our roads, which had gotten so much more worse, after that MISTAKE. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 Right, our population has increased so much and based on the allocation of car population, coe is definitely a limited resource. Chances of Getting a cheap coe is like striking toto ! You are quite right there. Not everyone can buy a car, regardless of how much you desire to. COE affordability favors the top X%. If they are willing to pay more for a car, the ADs will gladly entertain to guarantee their COEs, regardless of bid cost. It's a zero sum game. If 500 COEs are released each month, the top 500 ablest bidders (read: those who can afford luxury cars) will get their COEs. Those who scrimp and go for 4-strike non-guaranteed COEs will tan ku ku! You say go to Cat A? Audi already back in there. Next Merc and BMW will be back. Can you fight with them buying their third, or fourth cars - for their children? Do not forget there is a group of people, that their existing car is due soon, and die die want a car. a) they get a used car b) Get a new car with current COE As more car's COE are due (scrapped) soon, hence this group of people are getting more and more. Therefore, the COE might stay there for a while, might not drop too fast. Then there is also the new citizen (rich), new PR (rich), new expat (on company expense account) who all also want a car - be it owned, or rental cars, still need COE to put them on the road. And what was it? 200,000+ head count growth in FY2013 alone? Expensive or cheap is relative. Think current COE is cheap cheap for many rich FT migrating to sg ... lol And do is private property to them too! Who's propping up the market? Cash-rich foreigners. In fact from the last Sunday Times report, foreigners buying private properties have grown on percentage over locals - whose percentage has shrunk. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 The cost of implementing GPS is high as there are many blind spots in our city buildup which requires local base station to track it accurately. If implemented, it will cost we the drivers hands and legs in order to recover the cost. You can bet your COE that it will definitely be the drivers paying through their noses for the system (when it gets implemented). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 with GPS COE ... don't even need to bid every min every sec suck you dry ... it's like constantly bleeding and you don't even feel it You can bet your COE that it will definitely be the drivers paying through their noses for the system (when it gets implemented). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ezfaun 3rd Gear April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 All we can really do now is to suck it up and get on with our lives. Until the next GE that is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 with GPS COE ... don't even need to bid every min every sec suck you dry ... it's like constantly bleeding and you don't even feel it sounds like how eskimo kill wolves. Licking the blade, enjoying their own blood till drop dead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic April 30, 2014 Share April 30, 2014 buy motorcycle better though COE high...not as high as cars COE... they suck our money dried... what bike u intend to get? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...