RadX Moderator August 26, 2015 Author Share August 26, 2015 What you talking about? Putting the bugger into parliament with 15k a month salary is the surest way to get him OFF the streets, muhahaha. Lol. ... true tt ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 can toe panty line? That's Ah Mah Teh Koh. Nowadays, panty is seamless lah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 Why do, for e.g., Ang mohs in the US of A work as construction workers then? Is their pay out of this world? Absolutely not!! But its because it isn't as pathetically low as ours, that's why!! Since when has the gahment implemented minimum wage policies, or audited whether or not workers are being compensated fairly? No they dont. They continue to let the market shape their policies, instead of shaping policies to ensure the market does not screw around with its citizens. All these led to continual supression of wages, which combined with the opening of our doors, thus allowing FTs/FWs to come here and eagerly take up the pathetically low-paying jobs. GDP soared. So? Can eat? Can sleep on it? Can sit on the train? I can go on and on, but you get my drift. My point on contention is about the low birth rate and how the current labour force is a temporary measure to meet the demands of businesses. I agree that not having a miniumum wage does suppress wages and this is a concern for the common man. We have to also understand that having a minimum wage will also mean rising prices of products, especially those that are already not very profitable. Ask the fruit stall uncle, if you tell him that the base salary is 1200 for his workers, what would he do if he's currently paying 800 for them? He will either raise prices, or if it's not profitable, he would have to fold. This is a simplistic illustration of course,but if you multiply the inflationary and multiplicative effect across the different industries and the supply chain, from the producer to the delivery man to the fruit seller, we will soon see higher prices. Sure, the rich ones will be able to afford, but the worker who received a pay raise of 400 may end up worse off, either from being retrenched or have to face higher prices. I'm not saying i have the solution, but I'm saying that minimum wage may not be the best solution here, especially when it is not inbuilt into our system.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 Why no HHH photo... Heard she collected the nomination forms also. where you hear that from? you know her issit? maybe one of the nomination criteria is to have at least $10K in the CPF accounts 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spanly 5th Gear August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 Quite like this Dr Ang back during the 2011 GE during his rally's speeches... Not sure if his chance will be lower with the new party he's now at. Here's his latest speech... not bad https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=222&v=X14E8xJufb0 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 Quite like this Dr Ang back during the 2011 GE during his rally's speeches... Not sure if his chance will be lower with the new party he's now at. Here's his latest speech... not bad https://www.youtube.com/watch?t=222&v=X14E8xJufb0 Omg really... ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 (edited) Not only that, 300+ and the flames are still pretty controlled! No out-of-control emotions. Kudos to the high quality MCF members This thread has not gone out of control because majority of us in this particular thread are opposition symphatisers.Anyone going through this thread would conclude opposition is going to have a landslide victory. PAP thrives on the clueless, apathetic and unsophisicated voters which are glaringly absent from this thread as they are more interested in accessing/discussing the superfical stuff in the other threads in MCF. Edited August 26, 2015 by Nav14 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 Don't anyhow say hor. Not all PAP supporters are clueless. I dont think he said pap supporters. He said voters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nlatio Turbocharged August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 At least this time round SDP got 2 new candy that talk sense.... that is the type of candy we want to see..... not some half bake ass who just cum try their luck every 4-5 years...... or that Parrot man..... wtf..... he think erection is a joke..... And this CB traitor GMS should just quite politik..... farking traitor dont deserve to stand for erection.... pui..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 hmmmmmmm not so good day in history ... Pappy you sure ??? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 (edited) hmmmmmmm not so good day in history ... Pappy you sure ??? Actually, very good day. Be careful of being hijacked in your constituency by scary people who then proceed to destroy your country... Loudest warning ye got. How about this. We need drivers, not uber drivers but those that can duel and make wonderful improvements? I see many pros that are inward prone, how many are able to be like George, to bring rice and water back? Dueling banjos. Enjoy the music. Edited August 26, 2015 by Datsun366 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 I am not really keen on Sdp but the 4 candidates they reveal so far do raise my eyebrow. PAP do take note sdp will be a banana skin. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 I want to sharpen the issue a little. On minimum wage - I understand it was debated in Parliament and the decision has been made. Upon our imperfect democracy, I think we can set it aside for the moment and submit that it is Singapore best interest. (I think Sg sets a minimum wage hybrid - by helping people making $1900 or less with a slew of policies to top their pay, help them buy/rent HDB flats, medical care help) The problem with our pursuit of GDP is really the middle class problem - GDP benefits the rich much much more (GINI) and gov justify the pursuit by using the tax off the rich to subsidie the poor. BUT NOBODY DARED TO FRAME THE ISSUE - WHAT ABOUT US -THE MIDDLE CLASS? We always talk about the minimum wage - but let's be frank - we are mostly the middle class. We are really working our asses off to help the rich and very rich become richer - INCOME INEQUALITY I hope some political party will ignite debate on this issue. I had actually used "minimum wage" as a blanket phrase lol, didn't wanna type a whole long essay about the pros/cons of minimum wage, suppression of wages and/or salary in general. But yes, I agree with you. 1% of our population holds about 25% of our total wealth with a GINI of 0.4XX as of ... 2012, IIRC. It has definitely gotten slightly higher since then. The problem with income inequality is that its a very touchy issue, especially among the "rich". Do we need to become truly communist? I think not ... but abit of a shift towards the right would do some good, mostly. #LiberalCommunism Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 This thread has not gone out of control because majority of us in this particular thread are opposition symphatisers.Anyone going through this thread would conclude opposition is going to have a landslide victory. PAP thrives on the clueless, apathetic and unsophisicated voters which are glaringly absent from this thread as they are more interested in accessing/discussing the superfical stuff in the other threads in MCF. Steady. One key stroke branded PAP voters as clueless, apathetic and unsophisticated. Also that these are more interested accessing/discussing superficial stuff. It's a wonder then that this red dot came so far with this party. No probably totally luck. Regardless of party, if it can unite the people as one and not major on the minor, we will continue to be strong and this home a safe haven for all. I am happy to have opposition represented in parliament. That will keep the current government on its toes to keep improving welfare of its people. Many many better, richer, larger, louder countries also have their share of problems on equality, the poor in their midst, unemployment, housing woes etc. We are not unique. Personally I am unaware of any government which is able to bring genuine equality to their people. Perhaps I am clueless, too apathetic or unsophisticated to access this knowledge. Vote with your heart and mind. It's your rights and sacred to you. We are better off than we realised. At least I am grateful to our forefathers who gave all to make this island the envy of many. I am proud to be a Singaporean, I dun feel that I am sinking or be called a sinkie although the island is literally sinking bit by bit. PAP is not Singapore. Never will this country be subject to any party. It will always be the people who will vote a government to keep things in order. You and I have a stake in this home. Your home and mine. Your life and mine. Vote with eyes open and heart in correct place. Haiz.... I miss the late LKY already. He loved this country. Let's not forget that the next generation have a tougher road ahead. The world is smaller and people more selfish. Safe ride Cheers 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 I watched all the available WP's rally speeches online last round. All very rabble rousing stuff. But actually close to zero ideas on how to improve things. I'm not saying that they don't have, but LTK seems the type to keep his cards close to his chest. If he thinks rabble rousing is enough, he will just do rabble rousing. Archelee perhaps we just need some of them to sit inside parliament to irritate people like Khaw, Teo Chee Hean etc to ensure these folks occasionally come down from their high ivory towers to make things work for us.. WP are the minority..you dun expect major policy changes emanating from them..just recall the recent Yusof Ishak Institute renaming issue where they were outgunned. So really we need a small fraction of them to be inside parliament to irritate the MIW 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 it's obvious who is the arrogance here ... Wha Lau Goh talk a lot hor....still harping on the AHPETC matter. Didn't hear anything from WP on Marine Parade so how come he can conclude they have a certain arrogance. On the contrary, his interview showed a tinge of arrogance but I guess this is peanuts to him 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 Actually, very good day. Be careful of being hijacked in your constituency by scary people who then proceed to destroy your country... Loudest warning ye got. How about this. We need drivers, not uber drivers but those that can duel and make wonderful improvements? I see many pros that are inward prone, how many are able to be like George, to bring rice and water back? Dueling banjos. Enjoy the music. talk about Hijack ...... I think many here will learn from jib gor ...... " No one can hijack my leadership " hahaha Anyone that work like him below will immediately get my vote 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ingenius Turbocharged August 26, 2015 Share August 26, 2015 (edited) I don't know about minimum wage, but my fil who is working as a cleaner in a school, is making $90 a day (daily rated). And to add, he is a millionaire in cash. *touch my heart and swear the truth* Edited August 26, 2015 by Ingenius ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...