My encounter with LTA officer

Zippaboy

about 1-2 years back, i encountered something similar with a LTA enforcement officer. 

I stopped at a roadside with engine and hazard light on to pass an envelope to my client who was waiting at the pedestrian walkway.

My back was facing my car less than 2 metres away, this LTA enforcement officer(outsourced type) suddenly came by and immediately stopped his bike in front of my car and started keying into his handheld system

My client told me about it and i quickly approached him. This is all less than maybe 1 min? 

I spoke to the officer very nicely, saying my engine and hazard light was on, i was just beside the car. I ask if he saw me beside the car, he replied yes. Then why am i summoned for parking? 

TRAFFIC ACT CHAPTER 276: “PARK” means to bring a motor vehicle or a trailer to a stationary position and cause it to wait for any purpose other than that of immediately taking up or setting down personsgoods or luggage. 

He just smile back at me sarcastically and asked me to go and try to appeal. 

Then i took a video with him admitting that i was beside the car and HE SAW ME THERE.  (since he asked me to appeal, i want to have some evidence to back up my story) 

I wrote in to appeal but rejected with the following reason "We have consulted the involved officer and that an offence have been committed." This is with me stating that i have all the photo and video evidences of the said incident.

I was really busy that period, i did not follow up and just paid the fine. 

It is not about the money, but you should have seen the look on that guy face...

the guy face like this?

1) :secret-laugh:

2) :ninja:

3) :a-noway:

4) :serious-business:

5) :omg:

6) :confident:

or all the above

hehehe

immediate. 

the officer admitted that he saw me at the car and when i turn around , he already keyed it in. 

The whole scenario, 

i stopped , went out of the car and walk to my client. Engine was still on as well. 

The bike immediately zoom over and stop in front of the car and key into his handheld.

It was like he was hiding for the chance and pounce on it as soon as i got out of the car. 

he saw you but how will he know you are the owner of the car....

and last sentence replied by polar bear liao... hahah

he saw you but how will he know you are the owner of the car....

and last sentence replied by polar bear liao... hahah

engine was on and i was beside the passenger side man...

just imagine, everything happened in less than 10-15 seconds.

You walked to the kerbside, pass the envelope and turn around , the guy already keying in. 

I think this thread sld be locked............... [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Good idea. The parameters keep shrinking.  [laugh]

TS is still typing, let him have the last word. 

engine was on and i was beside the passenger side man...

just imagine, everything happened in less than 10-15 seconds.

You walked to the kerbside, pass the envelope and turn around , the guy already keying in. 

OKOK..................what's your point now???......................so what if every one here agrees with you????..................will that make you feel better???...............if it does make you feel better..................let me agree with you so that you can sleep sound tonight.............. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Good idea. The parameters keep shrinking.  [laugh]

TS is still typing, let him have the last word. 

I love the bear lock............WWE............ [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

It is the wrong comparison, if you were seen to be helping or unloading people out / in from your car I can guarantee no summons like the taxi driver.

For an apple to apple comparison will be taxi uncle stopped his vehicle and left to buy newspaper 2m away from his taxi. He too will get summon.

2 points: -

1. No driver was seen in the vehicle.

2. LTA officer did not see you stepping out from your vehicle so he cannot assume the vehicle is yours.

I came out of the car and walk to the kerb side, pass the envelope immediately to my client who was already waiting there.

How long will it take me ? 15 seconds ? 30seconds ? Definitely much faster than unloading/loading goods/passengers.

But I was still summoned for "parking".

We can't assume he never saw me walking out too. He could have been camping and waiting for the chance only. Maybe he never expected me to be just beside the car? He was still keying in when I turned my back and talk to him....

!#$!#%!@#%!(@%!(#@%&!%&

to saman man!!!

But when i semi-retire i would wan to venture into the saman world and get into the million dollar round table level.

My opinion.

LPPL

What exactly constitute parking is vague. As long as the car is stopped by the roadside obstructing traffic for whatsoever reason can be consider parking already.

So.. my opinion

LPPL

My take is the intention.

If can be seen that it is purely a stop and go situation to pick-up or alight a passenger with the driver still inside then should be fine in the eyes of the law if the vehicle immediately moves off after that. 

But if the drivers waits inside his vehicle OR leaves the vehicle to do something at a no parking zone then it constitutes a parking situation and thus bookable. 

Like most bros mentioned if it is the second scenario and you can be apologetic towards the enforcement officer sometimes they may give chance and let you off but if really kena booked liao then bo bianz LLST just move on lo, no point ki kar pi with him or her as 9 out 10 the law will side with the enforcement officer when you appeal against the offence.

My two cents [wave]

question why can't the client come to the car and you pass him the item over the window? stop and get out of the car indicate an intention to take longer time than just a drop off.

another waste of time thread

anyway

thank you for contribution to nation building

Dun drive...stay home...

It was never about the money, as everyone would say. If it was not about the money, I would have ignored the officer and continue with what I am doing because Hey, who cares about the money? I wouldn't even bother talking to him. That will be the end of your encounter. IF money was not the issue.

Unless they add the following clauses to Chapter 276,

1) Or the said vehicle has it's hazard lights on

2) The driver is within line of sight of the officer and/or within 2000mm of his/her vehicle

3) And hereby the definition of immediately is amended to a time of a 60 seconds there or about, starting from the moment the officer arrives on the scene, not before.

I think it is pretty clear cut that you have parked your vehicle in a place where you are not suppose to.

The same situation happens in many places where drivers stopped their car along the road to buy food causing obstruction. When the LTA officer comes, they just run back and move their vehicle. By not summoning the cars, this problem keeps repeating into a cat and mouse game. The traffic problem continues and we waste manpower constantly enforcing the rule. If an offence have been committed, it is the duty of the officer to issue the summon. It is up to the driver to appeal if he has a reasonable excuse.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=649Y3bRjPNo

Yeah, it always feel like this.  :XD:

The guy at Adam Road flyover is waiting specifically for me too. I know.  <_<

next time jio him to Adam rd Teh halia.... :grin:

OKOK..................what's your point now???......................so what if every one here agrees with you????..................will that make you feel better???...............if it does make you feel better..................let me agree with you so that you can sleep sound tonight.............. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

and thank him for nation building fund.

My opinion.

LPPL

What exactly constitute parking is vague. As long as the car is stopped by the roadside obstructing traffic for whatsoever reason can be consider parking already.

So.. my opinion

LPPL

Follow the Singapore Statue definition of park

park” means to bring a motor vehicle or a trailer to a stationary position and cause it to wait for any purpose other than that of immediately taking up or setting down persons, goods or luggage;

It is interesting to see TS so adamant that he did nothing wrong and that traffic warden was wrong to ticket him.

Like somebody rightly pointed out, it's LPPL. Sometimes you get it, sometimes you don't.

It is like soccer, if a player gives the ref an opportunity to award a foul, then you cannot blame the ref awarding it no matter how soft the challenge may be.

TS you gave the traffic warden the opportunity to ticket you by stopping the car, getting out of car, and stood a small distance away from the car. If you had stop, pass the stuff immediately, drove off within 30s, probably nothing would have happen. 

I always cannot understand why drivers like TS cannot consider alternate location like at a carpark or drop-off point to pass something to his client and have to do it at a roadside.

If you want to take the risk, then don't whine when the risk comes back to bite you.