What is the most frustrating when vehicle breakdown?

zero082000

My old car broke down twice. Both times along Upper Thomson Road cos that time I work around there.

First time at the traffic light junction just before Casuarina. Car suddenly died while at the red light. Alternator failure. It was raining some more. I stood by road side with umbrella while waiting for tow truck.

Second time (about a year later), car died while I was halfway turning out of the junction from Tagore. Wah, panic, car stuck in middle of the junction during evening rush hour. Somehow eventually managed to push to bus stop ahead (not easy. That road is uphill one). Cam sensor failure. Again wait for tow truck. No car for about a week I think.

i feel you bro. my previous ride also broke down in the middle of a yellow box, at the T-Junction outside CGH, the one leading to the expressways.

was with my two kids when it happened. car stuck in the middle of the yellow box at peak traffic!

it was a harrowing experience!

due to that, i got myself a portable jump starter kit so that i can at the very least jump start the car to move it to a safer location.

It's not always about the age of the battery. A new battery can run flat in a couple of days if you forgot to switch off lights, even the small cabin light can make a new battery go flat and you'll be unable to start the engine.

Those who install car camera and leave it on at parking mode can also discharged the battery to the point of not being able to start the car. A new battery can go flat is less than 2 days. It doesn't mean the battery is spoiled, it's just discharged and need to be charged back.

Those lights and camera you can see. The hidden ones that caused high parasitic load, you can't see. And that drains the battery as well. I've seen a DVD door jams, the motor constantly running and that caused a flat battery.

If you don't have all these parasitic load, a good battery can last one month without starting and still start a car.

Parasitic load generally must not be more than 0.7A.

If you want to play safe, stay away for long period, you can have a battery cut-off switch installed. You just turn the knob and disconnect the battery.

412L79Iz1wL._AC_US160_.jpg

But with newer Conti and Jap cars, you may have problem resetting many things when the battery is disconnected. The worst case I've come across is Volvo XC, which lose all setting such that the remote control to lock/unlock the car cannot work anymore and need to pay a visit to AD (and pay money to reprogram the remote).

that's why the cars from the old days are kinda better. Simple set up with minimal electronics to worry about.

recovery is also easier.

I have the old Kyoritsu 2000, very old and tired.

ZhPWl5z.jpg

But surprisingly can still measure accurately DC amp.

Only problem is max of 6mm cable. 2001 model is better, can measure 10mm cable.

Yours is very used. Mine still very green, indoor use only. Mine is close to 5 years liao and have not changed the original batteries.

that's why the cars from the old days are kinda better. Simple set up with minimal electronics to worry about.

recovery is also easier.

But you compromise on safety. Old cars are not as safe as newer cars, if you compare the same brand/model. 

not entirely true. some of the old car models were built like tanks! dan sturdy bodies.

but in SG, all those models go scrap yard liow!  [laugh]

now a days, the cars got so many electronics. car batt got problem, simi solution also no use.  :mellow: 

dun get me wrong, i am saying old model (aka old school cars) that depends on lesser electronics to be easier to do recovery as compared to the new models these days that depend so much on electronics.

Most frustrating:

Can't start - battery dead, starter motor dead, battery flat due to alternator dead

Can't stop - brake failure - brake master pump dead

wah... the second incident quite scary leh.  :scared:

if dun have clear head, confirm will get ugly.

That's why I always say.

A car that cannot stop is more than scary than a car that cannot start.

Likewise, a car that cannot switch off the engine is more troublesome than one that cannot start engine.

Happened to me recently....KNN. 

If manual, still can jump clutch to kill the engine. Auto how sia? 

not entirely true. some of the old car models were built like tanks! dan sturdy bodies.

but in SG, all those models go scrap yard liow! [laugh]

now a days, the cars got so many electronics. car batt got problem, simi solution also no use. :mellow:

dun get me wrong, i am saying old model (aka old school cars) that depends on lesser electronics to be easier to do recovery as compared to the new models these days that depend so much on electronics.

wah... the second incident quite scary leh. :scared:

I have seen Merc W123 v BMW E46 head on. BMW E46 offers better passenger protection than Merc W123

Keep tire repair kit in boot. I don't spare tyre. Only got tire repair kit

really? repair tyre on road side?

some punctures cannot be fixed wan.

i kenna before. hit stone that tore a hole big enuff to put my fist thru.

no spare really cannot continue the ride.

That 1 Boh pian.

If more than 1 tyre Kenna, still need to call tow truck

wah... the second incident quite scary leh.  :scared:

I won't forget the day the brake pump failed.

Had to drive from Eunos to AMK workshop via PIE.

Leave a big gap in front and pump the brake, bcuz it goes all the way down to the floor, almost no brake.

Then someone would cut in and I had to leave a big gap again and worked the gears and handbrake. [laugh]

I won't forget the day the brake pump failed.

Had to drive from Eunos to AMK workshop via PIE.

Leave a big gap in front and pump the brake, bcuz it goes all the way down to the floor, almost no brake.

Then someone would cut in and I had to leave a big gap again and worked the gears and handbrake. [laugh]

My worst one I think was the clutch master cylinder failed. Drove to the workshop but got to pump the clutch pedal everytime I wanted to change gears. End up driving all the way in third. Cuz 3rd gear just nice can move off normally but still drive at around 60-70km/h. Lol.

only in SG you can do that.

i always have my spare when ever i drive up north.

having a flat and calling and waiting for a tow truck could mean a super long wait of HOURs!

and those hours will expose you to not just the elements, the risk of being robbed is also very real.

so... only in SG you can afford to practice not-keeping-the-spare-tire-in-car.  :meaw:

but don't you think the time spending on changing a flat tyre up north is also equally dangerous?  [;)]  just saying.  [:p]

now a days, the cars got so many electronics. car batt got problem, simi solution also no use.   :mellow: 

wah... the second incident quite scary leh.   :scared:

I knew this is coming, so I oredi said compared to the same brand/model.... Surely the old-school Merc W123 cannot offer better protection than the latest E Class? Tio bo?  Or you expect the old Volvo 240 to beat the safety of current generation Volvo sedans? Heck, let's go Japanese. Is the AE101 safer than the latest Corolla Altis?

That 1 Boh pian.

If more than 1 tyre Kenna, still need to call tow truck

More than one tyres punctured is considered double jeopardy. Usually not taken into account when designing remedy for what-if condition. If we are provided two spare tyres, someone will ask what if three tyres got busted?

now a days, the cars got so many electronics. car batt got problem, simi solution also no use.   :mellow: 

wah... the second incident quite scary leh.   :scared:

I knew this is coming, so I oredi said compared to the same brand/model.... Surely the old-school Merc W123 cannot offer better protection than the latest E Class? Tio bo?  Or you expect the old Volvo 240 to beat the safety of current generation Volvo sedans? Heck, let's go Japanese. Is the AE101 safer than the latest Corolla Altis?

Agree. Once my tyre sheared at the edge,along tyre wall. Tried repair kit first, but the compressed gas / latex foam from canister couldn't even inflate the tyre!

LL gotta change tyre using the spare in boot.

I'd avoid cars that don't c/w spare tyre ... especially if one travels up north a lot

but don't you think the time spending on changing a flat tyre up north is also equally dangerous?  [;)]  just saying.  [:p]

Change tire takes 10-15min max. Compared to waiting for tow truck at least lower risk la.

it is definitely shorter time spent on the road side as compared to waiting for a tow.  [;)]

Donkey's years ago I was setting off to meet a date and found my car battery flat. Worried that I would be late for the first date, I borrowed my sister’s new beemer which I had not driven before. We had a good date, then on driving her home after dinner I could not locate the headlight switch, as I was used to turning it on with the headlight stalk in my Japanese car. I tried to act cool by driving on without headlight, hoping that she would not notice, but helpful drivers kept gesturing to us as they drove past. Hence, I fumbled around the dashboard but silly me still could not find the headlight switch, and eventually had to call my sister to ask where it was, while I thought the girl tried hard not to laugh.