kelaihoyin 5th Gear January 18, 2018 Share January 18, 2018 Kia marketing a bit crazy.... like new K3 also compare track performance against Lambo... makes no sense... no conclusion can be drawn. Same as putting drone in fly-out against jet fighter.... just laughable. Stinger should squarely fight its own rivals... like 4series GC, Audi S5... and win. See by you and others having a discussion here about the advert Kia's marketing team had already won. The whole purpose of the advert was to generate interest even though is quite ridiculous. Once interest is generated people will start to research and that is when things start to sell. The important thing is people start talking about it. Moreover they compared it to something that is of total different class. It is always good image for a company to take on the bigger guys than to ridicule rivals of similar standard. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 18, 2018 Share January 18, 2018 (edited) They measuring stats like slalom and acceleration so fight against heavier car with same engine as 440i make Kia look better. Also look better when comparing price. But to be fair Kia size is in between 4 and 6 so can argue either way. I think its just marketing la. To most people, the 6 series is bigger so should be more expensive and have better performance. So to most people, if the Stinger is better than 6 series in terms of performance then no need to compare to 4 series already. Just like one of my colleague, she was mentioning that the boss drives a M3 but one of our colleagues dare to drive a "better and faster" car. She didn't know a 525i is slower and cheaper than M3. Edited January 18, 2018 by Nzy 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KuangFu 1st Gear January 18, 2018 Share January 18, 2018 New k3 vs Lamborghini for some reason made me tot of the narration is done by Deadpool haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercury1 Turbocharged January 18, 2018 Share January 18, 2018 I think its just marketing la. To most people, the 6 series is bigger so should be more expensive and have better performance. So to most people, if the Stinger is better than 6 series in terms of performance then no need to compare to 4 series already. Just like one of my colleague, she was mentioning that the boss drives a M3 but one of our colleagues dare to drive a "better and faster" car. She didn't know a 525i is slower and cheaper than M3. Yeah I got similiar people in my office too haha, see number nia everything else is ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 Supercharged January 18, 2018 Share January 18, 2018 Yeah I got similiar people in my office too haha, see number nia everything else is ... Drive Saab 9000 win liao lor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged January 19, 2018 Share January 19, 2018 I think its just marketing la. Factual. If you rename the Kia Stinger, as Kia Magentis, sales will dive south. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern Supercharged January 19, 2018 Share January 19, 2018 Hrmm didn't think of that, video was by third party (or so I thought) so I was under impression they picked the cars, looking at the specs overall (Length especially which plays a larger role in handling) the Stinger is closer to the 440 GC than the 640. Be good to have video pitting the Stinger against a 3 or 4 series in track Stinger 3.3 GT - Length Dimensions (L x W x H) (4830 x 1870 x 1400) mm Kerb Weight - 1780 kg 440 M Sport - 1690 kg Dimensions (L x W x H) (4640 x 1825 x 1389) mm Kerb Weight - 1690 kg 640 M Sport Dimensions (L x W x H) (5007 x 1894 x 1392) mm Kerb Weight - 1825 kg I saw that advert, to be honest I thought it was good humor. Agreed on the fighting grounds, no one would fault the stinger on any negativity in my opinion given the price and the its offering. Given the dimensions I would say the Stinger is closer in size and weight to the 640, no? See by you and others having a discussion here about the advert Kia's marketing team had already won. The whole purpose of the advert was to generate interest even though is quite ridiculous. Once interest is generated people will start to research and that is when things start to sell. The important thing is people start talking about it. Moreover they compared it to something that is of total different class. It is always good image for a company to take on the bigger guys than to ridicule rivals of similar standard. Agree... the degree of interest in the Stinger is unprecedented... I guess a lot of it also looking for a epic fail from Kia... I think its just marketing la. To most people, the 6 series is bigger so should be more expensive and have better performance. So to most people, if the Stinger is better than 6 series in terms of performance then no need to compare to 4 series already. Just like one of my colleague, she was mentioning that the boss drives a M3 but one of our colleagues dare to drive a "better and faster" car. She didn't know a 525i is slower and cheaper than M3. Aiyoh... ignorant people cannot count lar... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 Given the dimensions I would say the Stinger is closer in size and weight to the 640, no? Agree... the degree of interest in the Stinger is unprecedented... I guess a lot of it also looking for a epic fail from Kia... Aiyoh... ignorant people cannot count lar... But the majority are the ignorant people you are talking about. Most don't really know much about cars and would assume bigger car means better. At least in my circle of friends, a 5 series will always be better than a 3 series. They don't really care about the size of the engine. I guess that explains why most rather get a big car but lowest spec rather than small car but high spec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 But the majority are the ignorant people you are talking about. Most don't really know much about cars and would assume bigger car means better. At least in my circle of friends, a 5 series will always be better than a 3 series. They don't really care about the size of the engine. I guess that explains why most rather get a big car but lowest spec rather than small car but high spec. 1 of my friend just change to a c180 from her wish, i told her about other cars and the kia, she feel its a downgrade. the c180 is a upgrade, wat to do ? to them badge upgrade is more important then anything else. (anw she drive slowly and lousy ) but more or less i understand her feeling, she live in condo, maybe feel pressure from neighbour. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 But the majority are the ignorant people you are talking about. Most don't really know much about cars and would assume bigger car means better. At least in my circle of friends, a 5 series will always be better than a 3 series. They don't really care about the size of the engine. I guess that explains why most rather get a big car but lowest spec rather than small car but high spec.For some car size is to make up for being less endowed down there. Bigger is more satki! Everyone can see. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 For some car size is to make up for being less endowed down there. Bigger is more satki! Everyone can see. Ya lor, that's why I drive small car. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 Ya lor, that's why I drive small car. A 911 is also a small car! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 CnC is really damn 1 kind: locked up the display unit in their showroom. so damn precious ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 Maybe it’s sold? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 For some car size is to make up for being less endowed down there. Bigger is more satki! Everyone can see.Buibui eheh, lj teteh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplecar 4th Gear January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 CnC is really damn 1 kind: locked up the display unit in their showroom. so damn precious ah? They will open when you ask. Saw a SE open the doors for a prospective customer just now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sHy3r 4th Gear January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 3.3l road tax vomit blood sia... rich :) haha 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged January 20, 2018 Share January 20, 2018 3.3l road tax vomit blood sia... rich :) haha esp. if keep past 10yrs, then +10%/yr until 150% ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...