KIA Stinger GT

Jzachlee

The 2.0 has merely 246hp and people talk like it’s insanely powerful when 2xx hp cars have been a feature of the local automotive landscape for a long time. Regardless of power level, how quickly a car goes is up to the driver and his right foot.

i think the most important thing the driver needs is guts  [:p]  [:p] 

Yeah. Such people might even rate a very good conditioned w124 higher than a stinger! Haha

A well conditioned W124 is a timeless classic hor... I wish I still had mine.

Maybe the Stinger will be a classic a few decades later. Lol.

Hyundai did have the Genesis which was well built but ultimately here is all about the perceived value of the car. 

People will say it's still a korean car. 

Thats unfortunately true.

But lets rewind the tape.

The way Lexus did it was the same group of buyers who would also perceive the car as.. oh, it an expensive Japanese car. No?

But here where the difference lies.

Lexus took pain in ensuring the Gap fit of the car was industry best.

They benchmark the quality of leather with the best in class Connelly leather.

They balance the engine in the LS400 to be so quiet, you would be hard press to tell that the engine is running.

The IS 200 while not beating the 3 series rival was closed enough to garnered acceptace.

Now let roti prata back to Hyundai. Hope You Understand Nothing Drivable And Inexpensive.

Whats in there that diffentiate?

Probably the design and the suspension Guru that they poach.

But interior build quality wise ? Its still early days to draw a conclusion.

Edited by Sdf4786k

It's different. Lexus was meant to be positioned as a luxury brand, with luxury across all it's models.

Similarly, brands like Ferrari, Lambo, Porsche, their DNA is making sports cars.

Kia is a mass market brand. No matter how good it's cars are, due to its market positioning, it can never win the hearts of the general pubic who is after brand names.

Thats unfortunately true.

But lets rewind the tape.

The way Lexus did it was the same group of buyers who would also perceive the car as.. oh, it an expensive Japanese car. No?

But here where the difference lies.

Lexus took pain in ensuring the Gap fit of the car was industry best.

They benchmark the quality of leather with the best in class Connelly leather.

They balance the engine in the LS400 to be so quiet, you would be hard press to tell that the engine is running.

The IS 200 while not beating the 3 series rival was closed enough to garnered acceptace.

Now let roti prata back to Hyundai. Hope You Understand Nothing Drivable And Inexpensive.

Whats in there that diffentiate?

Probably the design and the suspension Guru that they poach.

But interior build quality wise ? Its still early days to draw a conclusion.

Wrong. Hyundai is never meant to compete with Lexus.

They have since created a new sub-brand, Genesis, to compete in the luxury segment. This brand is still young but should be interesting to watch over the next few years.

I can say in korea, they have the kia k7 k9 which competes with the beem 5&7 series.

Their interior is very solid.. too bad sg dont have

Can’t really blame oso la. If Charles & Keith price their handbag same as LV, got ppl buy meh?

I think for "non-technical" stuff, brand image matters more cos there is not much else concrete to fall on. So in the world of fashion, brand power is more powerful. But where things are backed by specs like cars and gadgets then brand power, though still there, can be somewhat negated by specs.

So comparing C&K vs LV and Kia vs Conti isn't exactly the same. 

Eg. if Apple continued selling 4.5" phones with 8MP camera today they will not make it.

So I will gladly buy Stinger over equivalent conti but i won't buy Bata shoes (but neither will i buy shoes that cost over $300/pr).

I can say in korea, they have the kia k7 k9 which competes with the beem 5&7 series.

Their interior is very solid.. too bad sg dont have

Can't praise you but totally agree as i saw them in Seoul too.

Not sure why C&C don't want to bring in. Maybe scared cannibalise their higher margin MB sales lol

Finally saw one on the road! Gotta admit the road presence is there. Low slung, wide. Looks much better on the roads than on a motorshow stand.

post-1105-0-78431400-1519898659_thumb.jpeg

• Praise 12

Finally saw one on the road! Gotta admit the road presence is there. Low slung, wide. Looks much better on the roads than on a motorshow stand.

looks good sia. no lose to the Jag in front of it  [thumbsup]

looks good sia. no lose to the Jag in front of it [thumbsup]

Guess this is the view most will see...

post-1105-0-32361600-1519901832_thumb.jpeg

My Sorento cost more & is better car in every dept than my C-Class b4 that. And yet ppl thot I downgraded or kena paycut....lol

This is so true... people would rather buy an entry level model of a branded car marque than enjoy the flagship of a non-branded car marque...

Guess this is the view most will see...

Not bad leh bro... I thought only see dust... hahaha... 

looks good sia. no lose to the Jag in front of it  [thumbsup]

Totally agree... but I think looks better is black or racing yellow... this red is too subdued lar...

This is so true... people would rather buy an entry level model of a branded car marque than enjoy the flagship of a non-branded car marque...

Best part is ppl thot i qualify for IMH coz i choose to go from 3-pointed star to King Long....lol

Seriously ah bro... wah ha ha ha... I wonder who actually qualify leh...

Totally agree... but I think looks better is black or racing yellow... this red is too subdued lar...

agree. if its Ferlali red then will be much better...

i wonder who are the ones who qualify for IMH :XD: