Arogab Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Hi Arogab, Indeed so when not compared and hence commented to potential harrier turbo buyers not to test drive the fxt. I had unfortunately done so and cannot get over the fxt despite obvious visual aspects and one outgoing model against a brand new model but the sgd30k in wallet helps a bit :( Cheers. Richard PS: not sure others but my SE same as MI, no perks at all if any bro is asking Sure Bro, Everyone will have their liking and choice. Otherwise all of us will be driving the same thing and nothing to tok kok about liao. It's just good we all share our likes and dislikes for other bros to compare and comments to make better decisions. Before I purchase my ES250 as I do not want to wait for Harrier in April. I had also taken one month in this forum to read and find out before making a decision. Since then, I think I have made a good decision with all the comments and info. Thus I decided to register with MCF and tok kok here and share as I do like to tok tok too ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 I think its quite normal.. turbo lag before the ecu tells the turbo to kick inFrom what i understand, turbo spooling has nothing to do with ecu as it is the exhaust flow that spools the turbine. Bigger turbo charger needs more flow to spool the fan but also generates more power than smaller ones. The lag which most says is the time you put ur foot down to the time the exhaust flow is enough to spool the turbine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 I am taking the public transport. It's like using my Left hand 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 From what i understand, turbo spooling has nothing to do with ecu as it is the exhaust flow that spools the turbine. Bigger turbo charger needs more flow to spool the fan but also generates more power than smaller ones. The lag which most says is the time you put ur foot down to the time the exhaust flow is enough to spool the turbine. Icic.. thanks for @vratenza and your clarifications. That lag thou... looks very serious But how many times will one slam the accelerator at traffic light... Unless lag when overtaking then quite sian My dad's F10 sometimes has this accelerator lag when trying to overtake... you press the metal, the rpm doesn't move.. den suddenly 1-1.5 sec lag den surge up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 guys this is an example of the 1 sec lag from standstill before the car zooms, which is what i have been talking about here and in the lexus thread this is an IS200t F-Sport which shares the same engine as the Harrier Turbo. however, this only occurs during WOT from standstill/deadstop. if you drive/pedal/throttle normally, it's not like that. https://youtu.be/xDfijOk94Qo I still think the lag comes from the switch from Atkinson cycle to Otto cycle. From wiki " The intake cam has mid-position cam lock mechanism that retards the continuously variable timing. It offers expanded valve opening angles (Wide) which enables the engine to operate in a modified-Atkinson cycle at low rpm for improved economy and lower emissions, and in the Otto cycle at high rpm for better performance, while delivering high torque throughout the rpm band.[" The 1st mod is to disable mid position cam lock for VVT on intake valve. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Icic.. thanks for @vratenza and your clarifications. That lag thou... looks very serious But how many times will one slam the accelerator at traffic light... Unless lag when overtaking then quite sian My dad's F10 sometimes has this accelerator lag when trying to overtake... you press the metal, the rpm doesn't move.. den suddenly 1-1.5 sec lag den surge up That kind of lag is usually the transmission issue. It takes time for the transmission to "understand" and downshift to gain more torque when you put your foot down wanting to overtake. Not sure if it's a technology limitation or a safety feature. Most auto cars I've tried be it AT or DCT behaves similarly in this manner. You can try manually downshift a gear (but will cause a nasty jerk) before stepping on the gas and overtake. Most of the time i'm too lazy to do all this. That's why a MT is more involving to drive. I had no problem downshifting and overtaking smoothly with a MT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cikgoo 1st Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Hi Arogab, Indeed so when not compared and hence commented to potential harrier turbo buyers not to test drive the fxt. I had unfortunately done so and cannot get over the fxt despite obvious visual aspects and one outgoing model against a brand new model but the sgd30k in wallet helps a bit :( Cheers. Richard PS: not sure others but my SE same as MI, no perks at all if any bro is asking Not true bro, i tested a colleague's FXT before Harrier launch and after testing the Harrier, i went to Subaru to test the FXT again, and i still went for the Harrier. It is just a better family car. boot big enough for sports - golf clubs, bikes, etc. And the looks, resale value is just higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 (edited) have u even sat in the Q50. feels like a cramped saloon.... no match for space and comfort of the Harrier... If it is the Q5, then different story... I find q50 ok leh. Comparable to q5. Again..to each his own...but q50 is quieter. Not true bro, i tested a colleague's FXT before Harrier launch and after testing the Harrier, i went to Subaru to test the FXT again, and i still went for the Harrier. It is just a better family car. boot big enough for sports - golf clubs, bikes, etc. And the looks, resale value is just higher.Fxt boot seems better. Larger capacity. But i would kuv the harrier. More refine. Not true bro, i tested a colleague's FXT before Harrier launch and after testing the Harrier, i went to Subaru to test the FXT again, and i still went for the Harrier. It is just a better family car. boot big enough for sports - golf clubs, bikes, etc. And the looks, resale value is just higher.Fxt boot seems larger capacity. But i would luv the harrier. More refine. Edited July 5, 2017 by Andyngps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Icic.. thanks for @vratenza and your clarifications. That lag thou... looks very serious But how many times will one slam the accelerator at traffic light... Unless lag when overtaking then quite sian My dad's F10 sometimes has this accelerator lag when trying to overtake... you press the metal, the rpm doesn't move.. den suddenly 1-1.5 sec lag den surge up Precisely. No one WOTs every single time from the lights. So this so called lag from the Harrier is hugely overblown like what I mentioned before. If one drives normally, there's no lag at all, as evidenced by the bro who test drove the NX200t earlier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 it is all personal preference and what is appealing to the individual. Not true bro, i tested a colleague's FXT before Harrier launch and after testing the Harrier, i went to Subaru to test the FXT again, and i still went for the Harrier. It is just a better family car. boot big enough for sports - golf clubs, bikes, etc. And the looks, resale value is just higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Not true bro, i tested a colleague's FXT before Harrier launch and after testing the Harrier, i went to Subaru to test the FXT again, and i still went for the Harrier. It is just a better family car. boot big enough for sports - golf clubs, bikes, etc. And the looks, resale value is just higher.Hi Cikgoo, Noted and sure .. indeed just me then and just sharing. But do think your comments also further reinforce my recommendation no need to test drive both cars for the stated reasons of mentioned visual looks, space, resale etc. which I fully agree since we dun need test drive to realise them, right ? Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xlack 2nd Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 whahaha the COE bidding result that just ended.. my SE told me successfully secured the COE! Lucky didn't go for the $2K gold bid... first round secure liao lol Stock of car not yet arrive, so now await further news on confirm date. Most likely collect car next month! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datura 2nd Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 anyone got their coe , all the prices are up .$49802 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Choonkok Neutral Newbie July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Lucky leh.. even without and gold bid and $2,301 increase in COE, you still got it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xlack 2nd Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Lucky leh.. even without and gold bid and $2,301 increase in COE, you still got it! like what the bros on here say, BM surely aggressive to put the cars on the road ASAP cuz the presence is best advertisement! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 That kind of lag is usually the transmission issue. It takes time for the transmission to "understand" and downshift to gain more torque when you put your foot down wanting to overtake. Not sure if it's a technology limitation or a safety feature. Most auto cars I've tried be it AT or DCT behaves similarly in this manner. You can try manually downshift a gear (but will cause a nasty jerk) before stepping on the gas and overtake. Most of the time i'm too lazy to do all this. That's why a MT is more involving to drive. I had no problem downshifting and overtaking smoothly with a MT. I don't think it is a tranmission issue since BMW transmission is adapt to individual driver. I have no problem with instanteneous downshift once i floor the throttle. Nowadays, i will switch to manual shift. Once i floor the pedal, turbo will spool rather than a downshift. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xlack 2nd Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 anyone got their coe , all the prices are up .$49802 hmm.. BM actually bidded $52K for me.. View your COE Bidding prices and results over here Enter NRIC No. https://ocoe.lta.gov.sg/PaInternetAction.do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LookSkyWalker 1st Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 hmm.. BM actually bidded $52K for me.. View your COE Bidding prices and results over here Enter NRIC No. https://ocoe.lta.gov.sg/PaInternetAction.do Huh? How you tell that BM actually bid $52K for you? I go to the link you provided but can't see what BM bid for me. Anyway, I got outbid this time. :( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...