khinghong 1st Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 No need to lose any sleep over it lah. New model launch by AD will definitely secure COE on first bid one. Having the new model on the roads is the best advertisement for them.Actually this is what exactly my SE told me and asked me not to waste 2k on guaranteed bid.. they seem confident ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Actually this is what exactly my SE told me and asked me not to waste 2k on guaranteed bid.. they seem confidentFor most ADs, if they got ready stock, quite certain after 1 bid will get liao. Their inventory costs are high n no point stock sit in warehouse or port collecting dust. Whatever price they sell at oredi has a comfortable $$margin. They dun make $$ till they register the car. But if kiasi ppl wanna throw more $$$ at them for guaranteed COE, they happily take lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 No need to lose any sleep over it lah. New model launch by AD will definitely secure COE on first bid one. Having the new model on the roads is the best advertisement for them.Agree. For a sell price of 150k at about 33k OMV, if COE stays flat, they have quite a lot of room to bid high. So there should be no need for guaranteed coe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
clement229 3rd Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 If Q50 at $149k, i will definitely get the Q50 over the Harrier. That is a good deal.Yeah but some strictly wants SUV.. haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 For most ADs, if they got ready stock, quite certain after 1 bid will get liao. Their inventory costs are high n no point stock sit in warehouse or port collecting dust. Whatever price they sell at oredi has a comfortable $$margin. They dun make $$ till they register the car. But if kiasi ppl wanna throw more $$$ at them for guaranteed COE, they happily take lor. haha applicable for the ADs category which u are shopping in. For some of the more B&B makes, they rather play the top up game and piss off their potential customers. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 minimal expectation with MI is an understatement. i only went there to change EO during that FOC period only and nothing else. the good thing is there are ws out there that are good with their car. i will go try out the Harrier maybe next week when it cools off a bit dont want to disturb the real buyer/SE at this period. i know the drive of subaru and toyota but 1 thing i am curious is that on paper there are very close and torque of the harrier come at 1650 rpm so where is this sluggish thing. i tested the NX when it was launched, the drive was very smooth and i did not notice/feel that it was sluggish. maybe i drove like a pussy and it was a short test drive. Hi Arogab,Not only the AWD but the response is totally different despite comparable specification between these 2 mid size SUV.Ya, heard many bad stories on MI's hard stand on sales and aftersales service that must be true to resign to minimal expectation before inking the fxt last Sunday.For bros planning to test drive and get the harrier turbo, please DO NOT also test drive the fxt else end up indecisive ... for me, I could not resist the effortless and responsive pick up of the fxt even though no comparison on the visual appeal of the two.Glad BM brought in this harrier turbo which is certainly a VFM option with a bit of excitement here if not paying >200k for luxury class mid sized SUV like audi, BMW, volvo etc. Still remember those old days where you buy toyota harrier that came modded/debadged to lexus RX300/330 by PI which I can never appreciate or do ...time flies !Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 minimal expectation with MI is an understatement. i only went there to change EO during that FOC period only and nothing else. the good thing is there are ws out there that are good with their car. i will go try out the Harrier maybe next week when it cools off a bit dont want to disturb the real buyer/SE at this period. i know the drive of subaru and toyota but 1 thing i am curious is that on paper there are very close and torque of the harrier come at 1650 rpm so where is this sluggish thing. i tested the NX when it was launched, the drive was very smooth and i did not notice/feel that it was sluggish. maybe i drove like a pussy and it was a short test drive. I personally think the so call "lag" comes from the comparison between the AWD/CVT vs FWD/6AT......AWD and CVT probably have a little faster reaction. FWD might be a little slow and 6AT needs a small timing to engage. However, when not compared, it should not be an issue at all. How many of us have that kind of sensitive experience? My CO definitely will not. If really the 1sec difference (I think might be even less than that) is an issue....then the choice is definitely there. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datura 2nd Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 tested both the xt and harrier turbo recently, the lag i would say is minimum, if you are not shooting off red lights all the time,the harrier will be a better ride. if one consider comfort; decent power, fuel economy and more safety features and of course better looking , one would choose this harrier turbo over the XT. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 although CVT claims that it is always at the optimal rpm, real time awd actually rob the power because it need to move all 4 wheel at the same time. i think (until i test the harrier) is the way power is delivered, one is raw and on your face type and the other one is smoother hence the feel of no as responsive. I personally think the so call "lag" comes from the comparison between the AWD/CVT vs FWD/6AT......AWD and CVT probably have a little faster reaction. FWD might be a little slow and 6AT needs a small timing to engage. However, when not compared, it should not be an issue at all. How many of us have that kind of sensitive experience? My CO definitely will not. If really the 1sec difference (I think might be even less than that) is an issue....then the choice is definitely there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 although CVT claims that it is always at the optimal rpm, real time awd actually rob the power because it need to move all 4 wheel at the same time. i think (until i test the harrier) is the way power is delivered, one is raw and on your face type and the other one is smoother hence the feel of no as responsive. Yeah Bro, Try it and let us know again. I will definitely go down and look see look see a bit coming month end when I back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aloe111 5th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 I wonder if the selected driving mode made a difference. Those who felt F was quicker off the line, which drive mode was that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aloe111 5th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 guys this is an example of the 1 sec lag from standstill before the car zooms, which is what i have been talking about here and in the lexus thread this is an IS200t F-Sport which shares the same engine as the Harrier Turbo. however, this only occurs during WOT from standstill/deadstop. if you drive/pedal/throttle normally, it's not like that. https://youtu.be/xDfijOk94Qo Thanks for sharing.This IS seems modded. Will be nice if any NX200t owner here can comment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Thanks for sharing.This IS seems modded. Will be nice if any NX200t owner here can comment. I think its quite normal.. turbo lag before the ecu tells the turbo to kick in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 (edited) must look for LPT (low pressure turbo) that kicks in asap ... 1250rpm turbo kick in yo ... I think its quite normal.. turbo lag before the ecu tells the turbo to kick in Edited July 5, 2017 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 minimal expectation with MI is an understatement. i only went there to change EO during that FOC period only and nothing else. the good thing is there are ws out there that are good with their car. i will go try out the Harrier maybe next week when it cools off a bit dont want to disturb the real buyer/SE at this period. i know the drive of subaru and toyota but 1 thing i am curious is that on paper there are very close and torque of the harrier come at 1650 rpm so where is this sluggish thing. i tested the NX when it was launched, the drive was very smooth and i did not notice/feel that it was sluggish. maybe i drove like a pussy and it was a short test drive. Hi Earthboy, Nice and considerate of you .. a well deserved compliment ! Just to clarify, the Harrier Turbo is NOT laggy to me (I drives an overloaded estima) ... it is just normal and guess tuned so which is betta then the non turbo PI one which I drove 2 weeks and to thr test drive. I decided on the fxt cos it appealed to me more with betta effortless response all the time and never wanting to my expectation but of course with higher FC. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Turbo do not work this way.......if you are talking about supercharger, yes the ECU will determine when the SC kicks in since it is essentially a electrically powered compact fan. Turbo works with the exhaust gas building up enough pressure to spool the turbine fins to force more air into the intake over and on top of the negative pressure sucking the air in from normal engine combustion (forced intake). So the design of the turbo and exhaust system will determine how fast the turbine can spool up to force a decent amount of air to aid in oxygen enriched (with more fuel injected) combustion resulting in higher torque and hp. So those who have done Stage1/2 tuning will know that there is a limit to how early the torque can come in. That is why the bigger and single scrolled turbos tend to have super big lag but the top end power is tremendous. I think its quite normal.. turbo lag before the ecu tells the turbo to kick in 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 Hi Earthboy, Nice and considerate of you .. a well deserved compliment ! Just to clarify, the Harrier Turbo is NOT laggy to me (I drives an overloaded estima) ... it is just normal and guess tuned so which is betta then the non turbo PI one which I drove 2 weeks and to thr test drive. I decided on the fxt cos it appealed to me more with betta effortless response all the time and never wanting to my expectation but of course with higher FC. Cheers. Richard Cheers....Bro Richard, so your are one of them whom is clear of your choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 5, 2017 Share July 5, 2017 (edited) I personally think the so call "lag" comes from the comparison between the AWD/CVT vs FWD/6AT......AWD and CVT probably have a little faster reaction. FWD might be a little slow and 6AT needs a small timing to engage. However, when not compared, it should not be an issue at all. How many of us have that kind of sensitive experience? My CO definitely will not. If really the 1sec difference (I think might be even less than that) is an issue....then the choice is definitely there. Hi Arogab, Indeed so when not compared and hence commented to potential harrier turbo buyers not to test drive the fxt. I had unfortunately done so and cannot get over the fxt despite obvious visual aspects and one outgoing model against a brand new model but the sgd30k in wallet helps a bit :( Cheers. Richard PS: not sure others but my SE same as MI, no perks at all if any bro is asking Edited July 5, 2017 by richard_crl032 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...