Harrier 2017

SKX

Test drive Germans b4 Harrier not advised.

Test drive FXT b4 Harrier not advised.

But still sell like hotcakes.

Means many juz test drove Harrier? Haha

Not true, I test drove most of German and Jap SUVs, still bought Harrier.

Those who bought thr Harrier T don't even need to test drive. It is just a formality. 

Announcement for launch of AD Harrier : 60% certain will buy

AD = BM : 20% certain will buy

Got highest Attas Luxury package to differentiate themselves from the lesser fellow owner who don't fork out the extra : 20 % certain will buy

So just these 3 factors already 100% cheque book out liao. 

What? Got turbo? Got active cruise control? Got nappa leather? Got active LED lighting? What handling? What steering feel? What suspension? What FWD? 

Simi lai eh?  Never mind, they give I take.... Just icing on the cake, already sold before test drive. 

Edited by Vratenza

Not true, I test drove most of German and Jap SUVs, still bought Harrier. ð

Joking onli lah. Not saying Harrier is a bad choice

Test drive FXT twice but still opt for Harrier

Reason.  BM good service standard and Toyota unmatched reliability .

Reason. BM good service standard and Toyota unmatched reliability .

FXT in same league as Harrier? Should be easy for most to make that decision lah.

Reason. BM good service standard and Toyota unmatched reliability .

Hi Bullgt,

Valid mentioned reasons but dun need to test drive one to find out leh.

Cheers.

FXT in same league as Harrier? Should be easy for most to make that decision lah.

Hi Heartlander,

Not sure of FXT if is same league as Harrier turbo but it is same league and price range as BMW X1 down in Australia and noted better if you believe the following well respected caradvice review:

http://www.caradvice.com.au/460224/subaru-forester-xt-premium-v-bmw-x1-sdrive-20i-comparison/

post-149594-0-63577500-1501112114_thumb.png

Edited by richard_crl032

I think FXT and harrier are quite different.

FXT is built with a "Chiong" off-road concept behind the scenes. But harrier is more refined for for luxurious fast cruising.

one of the simplest mod i would do when getting a new car is a strut bar. 

anyone installed for the Harrier? I would assume with the higher body roll, the strut bar would make it better at cornering?

Test drive doesn't mean anything.

One can test drive from attrage all the way up to S class/7 series and eventually still buy an attrage if his budget is limited or he doesn't think it is worth while spending money on essentially a point to point transport.

In the meanwhile, it is human nature to defend and justify your big ticket purchase. Sometimes we need to step back, take a deep breath to have a clearer picture of what we are doing. 

Hi Bullgt,

Valid mentioned reasons but dun need to test drive one to find out leh.

Cheers.

Hi Heartlander,

Not sure of FXT if is same league as Harrier turbo but it is same league and price range as BMW X1 down in Australia and noted better if you believe the following well respected caradvice review:

http://www.caradvice.com.au/460224/subaru-forester-xt-premium-v-bmw-x1-sdrive-20i-comparison/

I would suggest you stop deceiving yourself or rationalising your purchase. In Aussie, the 2 rides are only A$3610 apart so classify as same price league. Over here, it is $190k vs $130k, so definitely not same league. You could say you got a better deal by paying much less for a FXT over here, but you really getting what you paid for.

The whole article is really waxing lyrical over X1. The only area it lose out is off road, which does not apply here at all.

And ask yourself truthfully, would you want to be in a X1 or FXT if you can afford both rides and don't mind paying more for X1.

Anyway, be happy with what you have. No point arguing over something that does not make sense. Cheers.

Excerpt from the article:

It’s here, inside the cabin, that the BMW really gives the larger Forester a serve. That’s the case despite being a physically smaller vehicle in most areas too. The BMW is 4439mm long, 1821mm wide and 1598mm high, while the Forester is 4595mm long, 1795mm wide and 1735mm high. Ground clearance measures in at 183mm for the BMW, while the Subaru has 220mm.

One of the big bragging rights figures though is the luggage space on offer, and it’s here that the BMW really surprises, offering up 505 litres with the second row in use and 1550 litres with those seats folded flat. Against those figures, the Forester has 422 litres with the second row up and 1474 litres with those seats folded down. The BMW has a run-flat spare so it has extra storage space beneath the floor as well, while the Forester has a full-size spare and therefore a slightly higher floor than we’d like.

2016-BMW-X1-S-DRIVE-20i-v-2016-Subaru-Fo

So, while the Forester sits in a larger segment and is a physically larger vehicle, it’s not larger by that much, and as you can see from the accompanying video, the X1 impresses in every sense in the real world when you assess the cabins. The BMW also has second row seat bases, which slide forward and back to make even better use of the space. Both vehicles have second row seat backs that can be dropped remotely.

On the subject of trim and ambience, both feel solidly built and well insulated, but the BMW doesn’t feel quite as premium and luxurious as we’d like and perhaps you’d expect of a European flagship.

The Subaru gets leather trim with perforated inserts and we really liked the heated front seats, but the lack of second row air vents is annoying. The BMW seats are trimmed in Sensatec man-made leather, that is acceptable but not as appealing as real leather. That’s not to say the Subaru has the most luxurious trim we’ve encountered and we’d probably prefer cloth anyway if we had the choice.

why harrier thread must compare FXT and X1 ah.

can we continue to worship the harrier.

Edited by Junky73

For any worship to happen there need to be sacrificial offerings. Just saying :D

why harrier thread must compare FXT and X1 ah.

can we continue to worship the harrier.

Haha, while the Germans were being test driven enthusiastically, the SE was receiving a number of calls about problems with their cars. Harrier test drive in contrast was a boring affair, SE just said turn left here, turn right there but no complaints. Harrier is a no brainer but I can only follow orders.

And ask yourself truthfully, would you want to be in a X1 or FXT if you can afford both rides and don't mind paying more for X1.

Haha, good question. While I test drove all the cars, the X1 is the only car that my wife actually got off the passenger seat to test drive herself. Although the FXT is her dream car, she was more than ready to buy the X1 until the engineer in me convinces her that there will be reliability issues. BTW, I think the X1 handled better with seamless power delivery than the FXT, the finish is also much better, other than the reliability issues. Anyway, for those interested, BMW has an additional $5200 discount for National Day week.

But at the end of the day, as Vratenza said, it is essentially a point to point transport, so to me the most important criteria is that the car must move and that is the most certain with the Harrier. Of course we should also feel shiok owning that car since we are paying so much.