Reckless Cyclist

Brock

Enforcement problem. Reckless without evidence and victim, police can't do anything. As for e-scooter, by the time the police arrived the rider won't be around.

I know enforcement problem.  I just want to find out is it under LTA or TP.  

To enforce one must be able to identify. LTA has categorically said as policy that they will not license bicycles including e bikes. What's is there to talk about anymore.

More reason(s) to find out who do what. 

Road is TP?

Parks is NPark?

Then LTA do what?

Singaporean & PR got IC.

Foreign talent got S pass, EP & WP.

Singaporean & PR got IC.

Foreign talent got S pass, EP & WP.

Not talking about this type ID bro. How do you identify the "vehicle" that just speed pass.. While I can appreciate the point on bicycles but we really need to something about the e bikes.

If it is daily occurrence, snap photo & sent it to TP lor.

Enough noise would resulted in on the ground enforcement.

Mind you, fake registration can also be used since enforcement is lacking.

He figured the answer out himself. We need to develop better cycling infrastructure and educate people about cycling so that we can be like Netherlands where cycling is common and a way of life for many.

Since the govt wants to make Singapore car-lite and they are promoting cycling, LTA should be focusing on developing cycling infrastructure and education instead of licensing cyclists since it is proven that it works already.

Edited by Nzy

already got many rules for cyclist, dun need to make more,  when its not even enforce.

like cycling against the traffic, the rules is there ages ago .

just not long ago I remember got 1 famous video show 20-30 cyclist who break the rules in just a short morning ride

( in woodland area?? )

the authority know the problem is there, they dun act, ( maybe they think we can live with the problem??)

so be it, we voted for it, no complains .

take more video of errant cyclist?? dun bother,

u send the video, also dun know who the f--- cyclist is??

how to catch him???( example the guy who buang the kid jialat jialat )

unless I miss any new he is a hero who own up later???

or just a hit and run and cannot catch.

Riiiiight. And I bet you think the Japanese are deluded too. [rolleyes]

Why? Their registration of bicycles is similar to what we have now right? Where you bring your bicycle to the police station and they record your bicycle's serial number and your particulars. Only difference is they do it for free in Singapore, but in japan they got to pay a fee if they want to register their bicycles.

Actually, I was thinking more of this: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/japan/9323432/Number-plates-for-bicycles-proposed-in-Tokyo.html

But the registration of serials and particulars ties into that as it's easy to piggyback license plates on the existing system.

I don't know the status of the proposal, it might well fail to pass. But the point is that prominent Japanese thinkers have publicly mooted the idea, to the extent that it's reported in the international press.

No solution would be proposed in a vacuum, i.e. if no issues existed. And that means there are problem cyclists even in Japan, a country known for its public civility.

The bottom line is this: there is no intrinsic reason why bicycle registration is "impossible". And the people claiming that it's completely impractical, infeasible, etc. are mostly speaking out of selfish interest.

Suppose hypothetically that car licensure did not exist but the public was clamouring for it after a couple of high-profile accidents, you bet the car owners would be up in arms about it too. Because it's a major inconvenience and increases cost and personal liability. But no one in the modern day and age would doubt that heavy vehicle licensure is absolutely essential to keep our roads safe.

It's time we applied that same logic to bikes, especially given the faster bikes and riders we have now plying the major roads.

Actually, I was thinking more of this: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/japan/9323432/Number-plates-for-bicycles-proposed-in-Tokyo.html

But the registration of serials and particulars ties into that as it's easy to piggyback license plates on the existing system.

I don't know the status of the proposal, it might well fail to pass. But the point is that prominent Japanese thinkers have publicly mooted the idea, to the extent that it's reported in the international press.

No solution would be proposed in a vacuum, i.e. if no issues existed. And that means there are problem cyclists even in Japan, a country known for its public civility.

The bottom line is this: there is no intrinsic reason why bicycle registration is "impossible". And the people claiming that it's completely impractical, infeasible, etc. are mostly speaking out of selfish interest.

Suppose hypothetically that car licensure did not exist but the public was clamouring for it after a couple of high-profile accidents, you bet the car owners would be up in arms about it too. Because it's a major inconvenience and increases cost and personal liability. But no one in the modern day and age would doubt that heavy vehicle licensure is absolutely essential to keep our roads safe.

It's time we applied that same logic to bikes, especially given the faster bikes and riders we have now plying the major roads.

That Japan proposal you referred to in 2012 hasn't come through into actual action.  Can't find any articles since then that talk about this proposal being enacted.  It was a proposal that died quickly I believe.

You need to look back at the history of the automobile and the impact it had.  When first introduced the car wasn't readily accepted.  It crashed into people and made the public roads very dangerous.  The car industry had to lobby to make law changes in the 30s.  The car industry was the one that introduced jaywalking and forced the public to the sidewalk and only cross at set points.  Also due to the dangers the car forced onto the public, licensing of the driver and car was enforced to ensure accountability.  This was a major hijack of a cities public spaces.  

The bicycle has been around for nearly 200 years in comparison.  

If you look at the trend of global cities, they are realising that cars are making cities actually unappealing.  Some of the best cities I have travelled to are the ones where I can walk around.  Plus each time you make more roads, they get conjested very quickly.  So what's the point of continuing to make expensive roads that fill up to capacity?  Our government has stated that the NSE will be the last expressway, hence the push to car-lite.

Also if you look at places like NYC, the building of bike lanes has actually sped up traffic.  http://www.fastcoexist.com/3035580/new-york-citys-protected-bike-lanes-have-actually-sped-up-its-car-traffic

But I don't understand this push for cyclists to be registered/licensed etc.  The TP already do an ineffective job with present laws.  

Each day I ride past a primary school on the way to work.  Each day every second car lining up to enter the school has children that don't have seat belts on.  I have seen kids asleep across the back seat (which other drivers would never see).  I see babies/toddlers held in arms.  We keep talking about the 'vulnerable' road user, the cyclist.  Honestly, this is a worse problem as these kids don't understand the risks.  

Then at traffic lights, I see people on their phones always.  I see when the light turns green they continue using their phone whilst driving away.  I see cars weaving in their lane, and when I see that car at the traffic light, they are on their phone.

There are a lot of other big issues that need to resolved but never seem to have the same 'hysteria' that cyclists seem to attract on these forums.

But I don't understand this push for cyclists to be registered/licensed etc.  The TP already do an ineffective job with present laws.  

Each day I ride past a primary school on the way to work.  Each day every second car lining up to enter the school has children that don't have seat belts on.  I have seen kids asleep across the back seat (which other drivers would never see).  I see babies/toddlers held in arms.  We keep talking about the 'vulnerable' road user, the cyclist.  Honestly, this is a worse problem as these kids don't understand the risks.  

So far early morning, I have yet to see any TP around.  Maybe they are still on the way to work. 

That Japan proposal you referred to in 2012 hasn't come through into actual action.  Can't find any articles since then that talk about this proposal being enacted.  It was a proposal that died quickly I believe.

You need to look back at the history of the automobile and the impact it had.  When first introduced the car wasn't readily accepted.  It crashed into people and made the public roads very dangerous.  The car industry had to lobby to make law changes in the 30s.  The car industry was the one that introduced jaywalking and forced the public to the sidewalk and only cross at set points.  Also due to the dangers the car forced onto the public, licensing of the driver and car was enforced to ensure accountability.  This was a major hijack of a cities public spaces.  

The bicycle has been around for nearly 200 years in comparison.  

If you look at the trend of global cities, they are realising that cars are making cities actually unappealing.  Some of the best cities I have travelled to are the ones where I can walk around.  Plus each time you make more roads, they get conjested very quickly.  So what's the point of continuing to make expensive roads that fill up to capacity?  Our government has stated that the NSE will be the last expressway, hence the push to car-lite.

Also if you look at places like NYC, the building of bike lanes has actually sped up traffic.  http://www.fastcoexist.com/3035580/new-york-citys-protected-bike-lanes-have-actually-sped-up-its-car-traffic

Zhun bo???

I watched a lot programs from HGTV. Its a reality channel about ppl renovating or buying houses. Most ppl in the US cities when buying house wants at least a garage or even two car garage!!! If its an apartment, they prefer one that come with parking!!!

If you watch house hunting international, those expats going to europe(Italy, Spain, Portugal, Netherlands and Turkey) or japan also looking for houses with parking.

Everyone who is buying a house is looking for one with parking. They did not say cars are unappealing.