Super7 Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Actually, cyclist are part of the road like motorist are. They therefore have to follow the traffic rules. I believe it's quite difficult to introduce cycling paths islandwide. I remember last time in 1968 when I got my first bicycle as a present from my mother for doing reasonably well in my PSLE. The bicycle brand is Kris and quite expensive at that time. I was told it costs $110 back then. We have to register the bicycle at ROV Middle Road for a fee of $10. I remember my bicycle no. was 376814 with the numberings in White on Red background. Nowadays bicycles are no longer required to be registered. Bring back registration for bikes, this will be the first step towards "enforcement"... stomps will see to it the culprits who misbehave will be exposed. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kamani 3rd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Actually, cyclist are part of the road like motorist are. They therefore have to follow the traffic rules. I believe it's quite difficult to introduce cycling paths islandwide. I remember last time in 1968 when I got my first bicycle as a present from my mother for doing reasonably well in my PSLE. The bicycle brand is Kris and quite expensive at that time. I was told it costs $110 back then. We have to register the bicycle at ROV Middle Road for a fee of $10. I remember my bicycle no. was 376814 with the numberings in White on Red background. Nowadays bicycles are no longer required to be registered. ...... and I did the same too and if I am not wrong they guy even stamped the number somewhere on the main frame so in case if theft happen maybe they can trace the owner and also a red disc to be put like a number plate at the back of the bike; $110 back then in '60s was a lot when a car would have been only about $6,000 and now X 20 times... only thing is that in the old days most cycles had like rear view mirrors and seems many of the race or road bikes as they are called (to minimize the weight) don't have mirrors and can go at break neck speeds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 LOL... Dont like that say leh..... cyclists also need space just like pedestrians and drivers. Maybe someone should invent bicycles which can be riden in longkangs... problem solved!!! Jokes aside, for the sake of encouraging more road users go green ie cycling instead of driving wherever possible, its about time LTA includes cycling paths in their new road / upgrade designs, it's always better late than never. They keep adding cycling paths but then they put it together with the pedestrian paths instead of the road. In the end the cyclists who want to go fast will still end up on the road because on the PCN they cannot cycle more than 15km/h or 18km/h IIRC. Now AMK going to be the same as Tampinese. Saw the plan on how they going to make a cycling path beside pedestrian path. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 (edited) They keep adding cycling paths but then they put it together with the pedestrian paths instead of the road. In the end the cyclists who want to go fast will still end up on the road because on the PCN they cannot cycle more than 15km/h or 18km/h IIRC. Now AMK going to be the same as Tampinese. Saw the plan on how they going to make a cycling path beside pedestrian path. Can they make the surface of footpaths "rough" enough to 'irritate' the cyclists but not pedestrians, or any type of texture which achieves the same, so that cyclists will choose to avoid riding on footpaths? (or build in some grooves to trap the wheels of the bikes?) Edited January 7, 2015 by Super7 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 They keep adding cycling paths but then they put it together with the pedestrian paths instead of the road. In the end the cyclists who want to go fast will still end up on the road because on the PCN they cannot cycle more than 15km/h or 18km/h IIRC. Now AMK going to be the same as Tampinese. Saw the plan on how they going to make a cycling path beside pedestrian path. They should add a mini longkang between the foot and cycling path. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 They should add a mini longkang between the foot and cycling path. Simple but effective solution!! ... and add signboards saying "Users take full responsibilities of all injuries etc if they go into the longkang" 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Can they make the surface of footpaths "rough" enough to 'irritate' the cyclists but not pedestrians, or any type of texture which achieves the same, so that cyclists will choose to avoid riding on footpaths? (or build in some grooves to trap the wheels of the bikes?) Quite hard la. Cuz on bicycle you have 2 wheels to absorb the impact whereas on foot you are directly impacting the ground. How to be more comfortable than the cyclists. In the end have even more pedestrians on the cycling path instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Quite hard la. Cuz on bicycle you have 2 wheels to absorb the impact whereas on foot you are directly impacting the ground. How to be more comfortable than the cyclists. In the end have even more pedestrians on the cycling path instead. How about making corrugated surface in the same direction of the wheels, ie slim "slots" that will catch the wheels, on the footpath surface? Pedestrains will not feel much discomfort walking over such slim "slots". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 ...... and I did the same too and if I am not wrong they guy even stamped the number somewhere on the main frame so in case if theft happen maybe they can trace the owner and also a red disc to be put like a number plate at the back of the bike; $110 back then in '60s was a lot when a car would have been only about $6,000 and now X 20 times... only thing is that in the old days most cycles had like rear view mirrors and seems many of the race or road bikes as they are called (to minimize the weight) don't have mirrors and can go at break neck speeds Yes, Thanks for reminding bro. The chassis was also stamped. That is, they practically punch the numbers on it. But now LTA don't want to be bothered with such troublesome works. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 But TP say cyclists also have to follow the Highway Codes. Many do not follow and often cycle across Pedestrian Crossing or Zebra Crossing without stopping to look out for vehicles as if it's their God given right. And if you don't give way to them, they are give that sort of killer stare. They simply do not know the Highway Code. I think TP should make all cyclist study the Highway Codes. In the early 1960s when I was in primary school, our school organised an excursion to a Safety Park (Not sure what it was actually called) in Paya Lebar sponsored by Shell. We were given pedal cars and were asked to pedal on the circuit that simulated the actual road conditions, with zebra crossings, traffic lights and traffic junctions thrown in. All children get to play their part at the circuit. Some were play the pedestrians, some the motorist (I am one of them). This is good education for the children who were in the excursion. Nowadays, I am not sure if there is any more such excursion and education for school children and whether the Safety Park is still around. Still have... I interviewed the Local CEO of Shell about 2 years back - it was something she was very proud of ...... and I did the same too and if I am not wrong they guy even stamped the number somewhere on the main frame so in case if theft happen maybe they can trace the owner and also a red disc to be put like a number plate at the back of the bike; $110 back then in '60s was a lot when a car would have been only about $6,000 and now X 20 times... only thing is that in the old days most cycles had like rear view mirrors and seems many of the race or road bikes as they are called (to minimize the weight) don't have mirrors and can go at break neck speeds Wah...in today's terms that would make the license around $2k!! Faint lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kamani 3rd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Still have... I interviewed the Local CEO of Shell about 2 years back - it was something she was very proud of Wah...in today's terms that would make the license around $2k!! Faint lor... don't say too loudly and very simple analogy ... they(u know right) will be reading it and said MCF'r said sounds right but anyway some bikes you cannot use the metal plates to punch as the frame might just crack like the carbon ones- they should come up with some laser printing method 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 Can they make the surface of footpaths "rough" enough to 'irritate' the cyclists but not pedestrians, or any type of texture which achieves the same, so that cyclists will choose to avoid riding on footpaths? (or build in some grooves to trap the wheels of the bikes?) Got another idea. Why not paint regulating strips along all bicycle paths like LTA do for cars going round a bend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 One of my friends recently broke his arm when riding on PCN - he was wiped out when a little kid made a sudden turn across the path in front of him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 (edited) One of my friends recently broke his arm when riding on PCN - he was wiped out when a little kid made a sudden turn across the path in front of him That's the reason why it's dangerous to speed for cyclist and to the pedestrians. I once went for an exercise in the evening along the PCN from Bt Batok over the PIE towards Jurong East over the big monsoon drain. There is a downslope bend from JE towards Bt Batok direction. This cyclist was riding so fast down the slope and without lights at around 7.30pm. He just missed hitting me by inches. I immediately shouted to him, "Slow Down". Edited January 7, 2015 by Thedecemberone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 That's the reason why it's dangerous to speed for cyclist and to the pedestrians. I once went for an exercise in the evening along the PCN from Bt Batok over the PIE towards Jurong East over the big monsoon drain. There is a downslope bend from JE towards Bt Batok direct. This cyclist was riding so fast down the slope and without lights at around 7.30pm. He just missed hitting me by inches. I immediately shouted to him, "Slow Down". I was cycling on the Punggol PCN round the back closer to the Marina (with a light on back and front) - when some blardy moron had put a fishing pole across the path - I wiped it out completely and broke it. To cap it off - the morons had ridden their motorbikes along the PCN and parked them on the edge. They expected me to pay for the pole - I told them to forget it (didn't have my wallet anyway) and carried on I wonder what they said about the Chao Ang Mo FT inconsiderate cyclist to their friends Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedecemberone 3rd Gear January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 I was cycling on the Punggol PCN round the back closer to the Marina (with a light on back and front) - when some blardy moron had put a fishing pole across the path - I wiped it out completely and broke it. To cap it off - the morons had ridden their motorbikes along the PCN and parked them on the edge. They expected me to pay for the pole - I told them to forget it (didn't have my wallet anyway) and carried on I wonder what they said about the Chao Ang Mo FT inconsiderate cyclist to their friends This is the job for TP. How can they ride the motorbike on the PCN in the first place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 That's the reason why it's dangerous to speed for cyclist and to the pedestrians. I once went for an exercise in the evening along the PCN from Bt Batok over the PIE towards Jurong East over the big monsoon drain. There is a downslope bend from JE towards Bt Batok direction. This cyclist was riding so fast down the slope and without lights at around 7.30pm. He just missed hitting me by inches. I immediately shouted to him, "Slow Down". Ya. Cyclists who want to go fast should cycle on the roads instead. PCN is supposed to be for slower cyclists cuz pedestrians will walk all over the cycling path. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 7, 2015 Share January 7, 2015 This is the job for TP. How can they ride the motorbike on the PCN in the first place? The same way you can get you bike onto the PCN... they will have entered it from the road beside the marina ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...