Reckless Cyclist

Brock

1 hour ago, Soya said:

That's why I say good cyclist mah. Very considerate since hospital just there. No need to trouble others 

He can do that at Lavender Street too. 

3 hours ago, Atonchia said:

Cyclist that use right turn, I suspect usually are drivers. 

We also don't not want to be called jumping from road to pedestrian whenever we are happy. 

Most of the time during the right turn, the speed is close to turning cars. 

Seldom see cars turn more than 40km/hr. 

For me usually I wait 20m behind then follow the last right turning car.

And most of the time I ride have no cars. 😅

If the cyclist stop at the pedestrian crossing and cross slowly, giving way to pedestrian, i think it will be appreciated by both driver and pedestrian. 

I am just curios because to me it is just exercising, like jogging, but we do not see jogger running red light or endangering themselves that much. 
anyway, i shall stop here as i know it will be a never-ending discussion as both or maybe 3 ( driver, cyclist, pedestrian ) have their own perspective.  

3 hours ago, Kia7200 said:

@Soyaconsiderate then cycle along mandai.

Straight away cremate if kana accident, don't need to waste time

Weekend Mandai a lot siah, so need to do something different to stand out. 

2 hours ago, RH1667 said:

If the cyclist stop at the pedestrian crossing and cross slowly, giving way to pedestrian, i think it will be appreciated by both driver and pedestrian. 

I am just curios because to me it is just exercising, like jogging, but we do not see jogger running red light or endangering themselves that much. 
anyway, i shall stop here as i know it will be a never-ending discussion as both or maybe 3 ( driver, cyclist, pedestrian ) have their own perspective.  

Of course you should have your opinion, I also shoot those cyclist, motorist, pedestrians and e-scooterist that acted not in line any normal person will do. 

I don't call them cyclist....these are troublemakers.. 

Likewise we can see it in any type of any mobility devices and any vehicle.... 

We do see some errant runners running across when red man was up.  We even see people electric wheelchairs disregard traffic lights. 

I don't see any point for us arguing on people bent on putting their own life at risk and causing other motorist at risk to lose licence. 

Some of my post are in jest and sometimes to offer an alternative view or possibility on why people behave differently. 

Edited by Atonchia

Where do cyclists belong? Not on roads or pedestrian paths, a new survey finds

SINGAPORE: Even as an expert panel mulls over regulations for road cyclists, a survey has found cyclists to be between a rock and a hard place.

More than 90 per cent of 503 people surveyed think cyclists should be made to follow more rules. Yet, a majority do not want cyclists to be allowed on roads (59 per cent) and pedestrian paths (74 per cent).

More than 80 per cent of respondents also felt there are more errant cyclists today on both roads and pavements, found the online survey commissioned by the programme Talking Point.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/cnainsider/where-cyclists-belong-roads-pedestrian-paths-new-survey-rules-15177052

1 hour ago, Blueray said:

Where do cyclists belong? Not on roads or pedestrian paths, a new survey finds

SINGAPORE: Even as an expert panel mulls over regulations for road cyclists, a survey has found cyclists to be between a rock and a hard place.

More than 90 per cent of 503 people surveyed think cyclists should be made to follow more rules. Yet, a majority do not want cyclists to be allowed on roads (59 per cent) and pedestrian paths (74 per cent).

More than 80 per cent of respondents also felt there are more errant cyclists today on both roads and pavements, found the online survey commissioned by the programme Talking Point.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/cnainsider/where-cyclists-belong-roads-pedestrian-paths-new-survey-rules-15177052

cyclist  can go anywhere they want, they belong every where.

the key point is wherever they go , they must strictly follow the rules and regulation and guideline for that area or route.

for example, they want go on the road. ok fine, follow what all other roadusers are doing. they must be register have a number plate have insurance, go through lesson and pass test on road theory.

they want go pcn, fine follow the rules for pcn. its really that simple.

9 minutes ago, Beregond said:

the key point is wherever they go , they must strictly follow the rules and regulation and guideline for that area or route.

for example, they want go on the road. ok fine, follow what all other roadusers are doing. they must be register have a number plate have insurance, go through lesson and pass test on road theory.

They must have duty of care just like other motorists to protect the innocent and vulnerable, otherwise they will grow to become like sovereign beings, short of calling them superman.

Better start sooner rather than later when the sovereign mindset and entitlement is engraved in big enough numbers, it becomes a norm and a nightmare for all. 

10 minutes ago, Beregond said:

If road going bicycle requires number plate, go through lesson and pass on road theory, that would mean EVERY SINGLE cyclist will be subjected to the same rule 

For those riding on PCN and pavement, it has higher than duty of care towards pedestrians.

7 minutes ago, Beregond said:

I am a leisure cyclist.... so I never ride during peak hours. 

Don't want to be caught between the bumper and hard place. 😅

But how about those who cycle as a daily commute? 

Those who make deliveries. 

Actually this group is the most vlunerable to be affected should registration and insurance are implemented. 

The highway code could be a more simpler version centering on safety and self preservation. 

2 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

Actually this group is the most vlunerable to be affected should registration and insurance are implemented. 

The highway code could be a more simpler version centering on safety and self preservation. 

Currently, delivery guys are required to have insurance.

I used to commute to work with bicycle.  I chose road with low traffic.

1 minute ago, Atonchia said:

Follow the rules loh.

Dun mean daily commute or delivery dun need follow rules or can dun know the rules of the road right?

Every 1 that go on the road must follow the same standard. Cannot have 2 set or it will lead to chaos. 

Esp now ppl are saying its ok for cyclist to turn right like a motor cycle cutting across the lanes. All the more they need to follow and know the rules 

All the more they need to be track and punish if they break those rules. 

2 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Follow the rules loh.

Dun mean daily commute or delivery dun need follow rules or can dun know the rules of the road right?

Every 1 that go on the road must follow the same standard. Cannot have 2 set or it will lead to chaos. 

Esp now ppl are saying its ok for cyclist to turn right like a motor cycle cutting across the lanes. All the more they need to follow and know the rules 

With VRN, there are still so many uninsured or unpaid road tax car on the road.

many cyclists are hybrid, one moment is pedestrian, next moment is road user, hence the gripe by people.

43 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Best if bicycle people go and hog all the bus lanes :XD:

errrr.. if don don take the bus lane liao lah.. 3 lanes; one lane bus, one lane bicycle.. left one...

49 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Best if bicycle people go and hog all the bus lanes :XD:

the thing is must be automatic.

most bro here very automatic. they dun do leisure cycling during peak hours, they know it cause alot of inconvenience , they alway follow the rules, they give way when needed. i dun even go on the road these days.

its sad that now we need to keep coming up with so many rules and regulation to make sure cyclist dun become a menace. its most unfair to this group of ppl.

i dun know why or when, but suddenly so many cyclist on the road lack the proper social etiquette or buay zi dong. 

Edited by Beregond

4 hours ago, Beregond said:

Follow the rules loh.

I meant to say some delivery riders probably need some time to pass the highway code if theory test is implemented. 

Then also foreign workers... Not all will be able to pass or even take the test.... But know how to ride bicycle. 

If really implement, it should be included under some 3party liability from the company that apply for their work permit. 

That will solve the insurance side easily. 

Edited by Atonchia