Weez911 Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Well, the left lane is for slow moving vehicles. Can I drive/ride a slow moving vehicle on the lane that is for slow moving vehicles any time I like? I also drive my car out for fun occasionally with no destination in mind. I have never said "don't ride a bike on the leftmost lane".. I said be considerate, ride single file during busy hours to allow traffic to flow, since in your own words, you are riding for fun / song / shiok / only... There is a clear difference. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 I sometimes drive or ride slowly for joyrides and when the cyclist had to overtake me from the right, they were plenty rude too. Strength in numbers. Try driving slowly in front of them n see how some of their behaviour are. Guess I am lucky, never met these kind before. My usual route has a few cyclists who are alot faster than me. They overtake with no problems. But they always shout hi or good morning to me. I have never said "don't ride a bike on the leftmost lane".. I said be considerate, ride single file during busy hours to allow traffic to flow, since in your own words, you are riding for fun / song / shiok / only... There is a clear difference. I used to think that way and cycle in a single file with my family. But then most drivers will try to overtake without changing lanes and give us very little space. It seems to antagonize drivers too. After we start cycling 2 abreast, all drivers change lanes to overtake us and we get alot less reckless drivers overtaking us as well. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 I used to think that way and cycle in a single file with my family. But then most drivers will try to overtake without changing lanes and give us very little space. It seems to antagonize drivers too. After we start cycling 2 abreast, all drivers change lanes to overtake us and we get alot less reckless drivers overtaking us as well. Personally, I don't think the Hyundai driver would be antagonised by cyclists in single file (because I haven't seen youtube video of him jamming brake in front of cyclists in single file). I don't think there will be an accident consequently. Noted that the Hyundai driver got off with "driving without due care or reasonable consideration" instead of "reckless or dangerous driving". Just saying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 (edited) Personally, I don't think the Hyundai driver would be antagonised by cyclists in single file (because I haven't seen youtube video of him jamming brake in front of cyclists in single file). I don't think there will be an accident consequently. Noted that the Hyundai driver got off with "driving without due care or reasonable consideration" instead of "reckless or dangerous driving". Just saying. Yeah, that is the puzzling part. There were times when I sent in videos of cars overtaking me too closely and they got charged with reckless driving. This hyundai driver is definitely alot more reckless than those I sent in. Maybe it is because he had 2 more even more serious offences of failing to stop and failing to report a traffic accident already. Edited December 11, 2015 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Yeah, that is the puzzling part. There were times when I sent in videos of cars overtaking me too closely and they got charged with reckless driving. This hyundai driver is definitely alot more reckless than those I sent in. Maybe it is because he had 2 more even more serious offences of failing to stop and failing to report a traffic accident already. No, laws are not usually applied like that. Can post videos of those you sent in to TP that are deemed "reckless driving"? (NVNT). Please post TP letters to you informing you of charging them with "reckless driving" too (NPNT). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 No, laws are not usually applied like that. Can post videos of those you sent in to TP that are deemed "reckless driving"? (NVNT). Please post TP letters to you informing you of charging them with "reckless driving" too (NPNT). For what? I got nothing to prove. Just trying to compare, cuz it doesn't make sense. I think it depends on the IO also cuz all those I send in, not all get charged and not all considered reckless driving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 For what? I got nothing to prove. Just trying to compare, cuz it doesn't make sense. I think it depends on the IO also cuz all those I send in, not all get charged and not all considered reckless driving.Then you are just spreading fear unnecessarily.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 (edited) Then you are just spreading fear unnecessarily.. What fear? Only reckless drivers need to fear. If you don't believe then don't believe. I am not trying to warn people about anything. Just sharing my experience. Just continue doing what you usually do. If nothing wrong, nothing to fear. Just like those drivers who think they own the roads cuz they pay road tax and COE. They think cyclists do not belong on the roads. They forget the govt owns the roads. The govt says bicycles belong on the roads means bicycles can use and belong on the roads. Edited December 11, 2015 by Nzy 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Then you are just spreading fear unnecessarily.. I had sent video to TP as Taxi driver tried to purposely run-over me. TP had taken appropriate action against the driver. What appropriate action? Beat me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 (edited) I had sent video to TP as Taxi driver tried to purposely run-over me. TP had taken appropriate action against the driver. What appropriate action? Beat me. I don't know leh.. I have never sent any videos to police before to chui other people... nobody ever tried running-over me or jamming brake in front of me.. heng ah Edited December 11, 2015 by Weez911 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 I had sent video to TP as Taxi driver tried to purposely run-over me. TP had taken appropriate action against the driver. What appropriate action? Beat me. Ya. Sometimes they send that. I think that one means they just send letter remind the driver only, no fine or anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Mine says this: Dear Sir, I refer to the police report dated 24 Dec 2014 against SDS 6883 G. Please be informed that appropriate action has been taken against the driver. Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JerryOrtizz December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 I think it depends on the attitude of a person..that how uglier he is going to be ....be it cyclist or anyone else.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 I don't know leh.. I have never sent any videos to police before to chui other people... nobody ever tried running-over me or jamming brake in front of me.. heng ah Once a taxi on my left turn right on a left turn only junction. I also sent video to TP. That time i am driving hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 Once a taxi on my left turn right on a left turn only junction. I also sent video to TP. That time i am driving hor. If I ever spend time transferring and sending all these videos captured on daily basis (so many instances!), then I probably will have no time left to play with my children. Seriously thinking of selling my Advanced Car Eye to clear my cluttered windscreen, but decided to keep in case such video evidence can help with my accident insurance claims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 If I ever spend time transferring and sending all these videos captured on daily basis (so many instances!), then I probably will have no time left to play with my children. Seriously thinking of selling my Advanced Car Eye to clear my cluttered windscreen, but decided to keep in case such video evidence can help with my accident insurance claims. Honestly, I only report those that are really crazy and endanger my life/health. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 If I ever spend time transferring and sending all these videos captured on daily basis (so many instances!), then I probably will have no time left to play with my children. Seriously thinking of selling my Advanced Car Eye to clear my cluttered windscreen, but decided to keep in case such video evidence can help with my accident insurance claims. Not that many occurrences la. Maybe 1 or 2 a month at most. Not like every small thing also send in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear December 11, 2015 Share December 11, 2015 what to do? its these cyclists' perceptions of as long as they are not breaking the law, they will always own the left lane . . . how to share road with this mentality??? its definitely wrong for the hyundai driver since there was no reason for him to drive into left lane just like that and causing hurt to the cyclist in the video. imagine . .what if its the car that goes below 30kph in front of cyclists . . will the cyclist be patience enuff to go behind the car by not overtaking??? or, if the car e-brake for a good reason and that resulted the cyclist to bang into the car's rear..... will cyclist admit his wrong and pay for damages like a normal car2car accident? sigh . . . . SBS, SMRT drivers lan lan...... they'd rather go slow than taking the risk from overtaking, be it causing dangers to cars on the right lane and complains from the cyclists. they are just looking after their rice-bowl. but this act is actually pissing so many passengers inside the bus....... sigh, one's self-centered act in the expense of so many, sigh! now I know why buses can still be late even when gahmen goes all out to have dedicated bus lane, penalizing cars driving on the lane etc. should cyclists be fined from delaying buses by riding on bus lane during peak hours??? its obvious that cyclists who ride in 2 abreast . . . they dun wanna let themselves be delayed or slowed down by another cyclist in front.... macham like shoulder to shoulder ..... this is no difference to those boy racers...... in the expense of all road users behind them! imagine, if the cyclist on the left sees another cyclist overtaking on the right..... will he slow down??? and even if the left cyclist slows down - will the overtaking cyclist go onto the left after overtaking??? the answer is obvious if cyclist adopts the same mentality mentioned above! sometimes, dunno what's inside these cyclists head . . . they can run out-of-luck some day and it will be too late and be utmost regrets for their loved ones, both the cyclist's and driver's.......sigh! I used to be an avid cyclist and I have witnessed exactly this ..... one can be so stubborn to swim across the river of piranhas instead of waiting for the boat, arguing that they will not attack without provokes..... but when things happen, blaming games begin . .. why there's no signboard.... this & that - sigh if all the key notes highlighted above are well covered by the so-called ettique or mentality of cyclists here in our conjested roads, I'm sure there will be harmonious between both cyclists and drivers. likewise, we have laws here to penalise road hogging on lanes on the right, so slow drivers will have to stick on the left lanes drivers should go into right lane if its clear instead of tailgating cyclist on left lane on purpose similarly, cyclist should always filter to the left to avoid hogging oncoming vehicles from behind ..... in short, they are free to cycle even in the middle of the left lane if its clear of traffic..... but keep to left the moment vehicles being approaching near instead of the mentality of 'I'm not breaking the law of riding 2 abreast even if I'm hogging vehicles behind' . . . then this will NEVER end! back to the video . . . actually the wife's injury was also partly contributed by the husband or that ang mo who insisted of the abovementioned mentality! instead of continual riding 2 abreast but move to the left..... the hyundai might just move on.... thus avoiding this unnecessary accident...... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...