Atonchia Supersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 The argument between cyclist & motorist will never end. But I cannot understand, even if cyclists are riding abreast, like this cars is just like a car travelling at 30km/hr. What would a motorist do when met with such situation? Just over take lah. This black Hyundai driver that intentionally jam brake to cause the cyclist should be taken off the road. And it doesn't matter cyclist are Angmo, Chinese, Indian, Malay or Bangalah. To the person who dislike my post: It's totally ok to have differing opinions. I have no problem with you disliking my opinion. But your comment: The cyclists at fault 1st. Your are a danger on the road if your a motorist because you probably will also say The pedestrians at fault 1st and the driver can mow him down. We are discussing the intent on the driver, who intentionally cause the cyclist to fall. We do not need such motorist on the road. Please do not condone such behaviour. ↡ Advertisement 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 (edited) Why is it that riding single file is dangerous? Motorcyclists do that all the time on the left, center or right, sometimes between lanes, and I don't see them having insecurities. You need to see a psychiatrist to treat that anxiety of yours. Trust me, it can be cured with medication. As I said, I have ridden a motorbike before. No problems with drivers overtaking me even if I travel on the left lane at 20-30km/h. They leave ample space. However, on a bicycle, drivers somehow can't remember how to overtake safely and try to overtake without even moving out a little to the next lane thus leaving a small gap. Please don't compare motorbikes to bicycles. Majority of the drivers treat them very differently for some reason. Another example would be when I was on my motorbike, I can take up one whole lane at 30km/h but no one honk at me. On a bicycle, I do that and within minutes, I will encounter a driver that will honk at me. If drivers overtake/treat bicycles like how they overtake/treat motorbikes, I think most cyclists would feel alot safer already. Edited December 13, 2015 by Nzy 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 As I said, I have ridden a motorbike before. No problems with drivers overtaking me even if I travel on the left lane at 20-30km/h. They leave ample space. However, on a bicycle, drivers somehow can't remember how to overtake safely and try to overtake without even moving out a little to the next lane thus leaving a small gap. Please don't compare motorbikes to bicycles. Majority of the drivers treat them very differently for some reason. Another example would be when I was on my motorbike, I can take up one whole lane at 30km/h but no one honk at me. On a bicycle, I do that and within minutes, I will encounter a driver that will honk at me. This seems really psychological, there shouldn't be any difference how drivers overtake a cyclist or autobike. Will you lose one kg of flesh or one pint of blood if anyone honk you? However, I still think yours is psychological. To me, there is abosulutely no difference between how a driver view a cyclist or Stoner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 This seems really psychological, there shouldn't be any difference how drivers overtake a cyclist or autobike. Will you lose one kg of flesh or one pint of blood if anyone honk you? However, I still think yours is psychological. To me, there is abosulutely no difference between how a driver view a cyclist or Stoner. Once you have ridden both, you'll know. On a motorbike, I have never been overtaken by a car so closely that I can feel the gust of wind pushing me away. Whereas on a bicycle, I encounter that often. On a motorbike, I don't get drivers trying to squeeze past on the same lane, even when I travel at 30km/h. On a bicycle, that is common. It isn't psychological. It is experience. If you overtake motorbikes without switching lanes also, then I think you got to go back to driving school already. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 This seems really psychological, there shouldn't be any difference how drivers overtake a cyclist or autobike. Will you lose one kg of flesh or one pint of blood if anyone honk you? However, I still think yours is psychological. To me, there is abosulutely no difference between how a driver view a cyclist or Stoner. Don't NATO. Join us on our bicycle on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 Once you have ridden both, you'll know. On a motorbike, I have never been overtaken by a car so closely that I can feel the gust of wind pushing me away. Whereas on a bicycle, I encounter that often. On a motorbike, I don't get drivers trying to squeeze past on the same lane, even when I travel at 30km/h. On a bicycle, that is common. It isn't psychological. It is experience. If you overtake motorbikes without switching lanes also, then I think you got to go back to driving school already. I'm saying from a driver's perspective, that I don't see any difference between how I overtake both vehicles. I don't need cyclist or autobike a sexperience to do that... yawn Don't NATO. Join us on our bicycle on the road. Sorry it's not personal, but I just hate snitchers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 Singapore roads should have 5 lanes. Lane 1 for road hogs, lane 2 for overtaking lane 1 on left, lane 3 for all cars and lorries, lane for 4 for overtaking cyclists on the right and of course lane 5 for cyclists and motorists to travel at <30km/hr 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 I'm saying from a driver's perspective, that I don't see any difference between how I overtake both vehicles. I don't need cyclist or autobike a sexperience to do that... yawn Sorry it's not personal, but I just hate snitchers. Another close minded single side view. When did reporting traffic offense = snitch? So, u would rather ppl complain on STOMP & our road condition continues to get worse? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 I'm saying from a driver's perspective, that I don't see any difference between how I overtake both vehicles. I don't need cyclist or autobike a sexperience to do that... yawn Just because you treat motorcyclists and bicycles the same and don't give them space when overtaking doesn't mean the rest of the drivers are the same as you. It's like me saying all drivers don't mind cyclists who ride 2 abreast because I don't mind cyclists who ride 2 abreast cuz I don't see a difference between cyclists who ride 2 abreast and take up the slow lane and a heavy vehicle travelling slowly in the slow lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 (edited) Another close minded single side view. When did reporting traffic offense = snitch? So, u would rather ppl complain on STOMP & our road condition continues to get worse? I already say it's my perspective. You are entitled to your opinion. A snitch is a snitch, I will never get comfortable around people like snitch. No chance will I ever ride bike or go ktv with them. Appreciate your invitation. Thanks Mr David Tan. Edited December 13, 2015 by Weez911 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 (edited) Just because you treat motorcyclists and bicycles the same and don't give them space when overtaking doesn't mean the rest of the drivers are the same as you. It's like me saying all drivers don't mind cyclists who ride 2 abreast because I don't mind cyclists who ride 2 abreast cuz I don't see a difference between cyclists who ride 2 abreast and take up the slow lane and a heavy vehicle travelling slowly in the slow lane. OK yawn. Good luck to your future cycling endeavours. Edited December 13, 2015 by Weez911 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 Is there a need to sound disingenuous? There is no need for puerile comments. This is a neverending debate. I will put my hand up to say that I dislike some cyclists, but I do not dislike all of them. Similarly, I dislike some drivers but I do not dislike all of them. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 Legal or not, no one enforce the law. Unlike motorist or drivers that is regulated. LTA and TP officers all around to catch anyone who violated the law So basically drivers not only has to obey the law but also drive with conscience and moral. Unlike cyclist, they cycle based on their conscience and moral to keep the traffic safe and smooth good point here - the conscience! the question is if there's any conscience when someone here quoted that its alright to cycle 2 abreast for better safety, shiok, fun, leisure etc. than keeping on the left..... even in the conscience mind to claim that "since SMRT buses dun overtake'.... but in the expense of hogging all passengers inside buses..... a conscience cyclist will always keep to the left side in the left lane whenever there's vehicle approaching from behind, instead of . . "I'm not breaking the law,,,,,, I'm taking the left lane in the best way for my safety, you driver can overtake me over the right lane ..... etc. and then followed by daring if the driver to bang him/her even after receiving frenly horns ..... with or without that stupid gesture so when vehicle behind has to overtake, cyclist then snitched the best way to defend himself slamming the bad impatient motorists.... sigh! 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 I already say it's my perspective. You are entitled to your opinion. A snitch is a snitch, I will never get comfortable around people like snitch. No chance will I ever ride bike or go ktv with them. Appreciate your invitation. Thanks Mr David Tan. you have my empathy. years back, with a group of cyclists on a sunday (thompson rd)..... of coz, they started 'dominating' the left lane . . . merc came from behind and slowed down patiently tailgating closer & closer, but none cyclist gave way even after few short horns..... merc than signalled to overtake. not only the cyclists did not slow down and give way, they speed up to 'chut pattern'..... wham! one cyclist touched the car and fall, causing another 4 as well ..... no one was seriously injured. the merc did not stop (dun think the driver knew what happened next) you know what?.... they group later spent few days gathering all available clips from other cyclists, and gave the 'edited' ones to TP against the merc..... ok, cut the story short, I was never invited to join that group bcoz I refused to share my clips and chided them for wrongdoings . . . so..... who will reveal what he snitched as evidence against himeself??? of coz, whatever we see are videos defending the snitcher police may or may not be clever enuff to unveil what's the truth when such video is sent..... just like they do nothing by replying . . . . the matter is being under investigations etc. its very easy to point others when there is no consience in reflecting oneself 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 Is there a need to sound disingenuous? There is no need for puerile comments. This is a neverending debate. I will put my hand up to say that I dislike some cyclists, but I do not dislike all of them. Similarly, I dislike some drivers but I do not dislike all of them. I will also put both my hands up to say I despice cyclists with the much said about 'attitude & mentality' . . . but I also cycle occasionally, even in group with reminders to be tolerant to all motorists. Similar, I also condemn some reckless drivers while thumbs-up to the good ones. so??? do I receive praises from cyclists and drivers here???? nahhhhh! many have said .... its never ending here when attitude, mentality, morale, conscience, self-righteous are all evidence here just for his/her justifications think its enuff said from me . . . . To All, a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2016..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 you have my empathy. years back, with a group of cyclists on a sunday (thompson rd)..... of coz, they started 'dominating' the left lane . . . merc came from behind and slowed down patiently tailgating closer & closer, but none cyclist gave way even after few short horns..... merc than signalled to overtake. not only the cyclists did not slow down and give way, they speed up to 'chut pattern'..... wham! one cyclist touched the car and fall, causing another 4 as well ..... no one was seriously injured. the merc did not stop (dun think the driver knew what happened next) you know what?.... they group later spent few days gathering all available clips from other cyclists, and gave the 'edited' ones to TP against the merc..... ok, cut the story short, I was never invited to join that group bcoz I refused to share my clips and chided them for wrongdoings . . . so..... who will reveal what he snitched as evidence against himeself??? of coz, whatever we see are videos defending the snitcher police may or may not be clever enuff to unveil what's the truth when such video is sent..... just like they do nothing by replying . . . . the matter is being under investigations etc. its very easy to point others when there is no consience in reflecting oneself Brudder...if the Merc is tailgating the peloton, how can a cyclist which is in front touches the car & buang ? More like the Merc edges too close to the pack when overtaking lah.....Thomson riders are a fast pack. Many national riders. It is an offense to edit video evidence & submit to the authorities.....and to gather all of them to edit simultaneously? Brudder....they are cyclist leh not film editor la. Your description may be a tat 夸张. I like your story no matter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 (edited) you have my empathy. years back, with a group of cyclists on a sunday (thompson rd)..... of coz, they started 'dominating' the left lane . . . merc came from behind and slowed down patiently tailgating closer & closer, but none cyclist gave way even after few short horns..... merc than signalled to overtake. not only the cyclists did not slow down and give way, they speed up to 'chut pattern'..... wham! one cyclist touched the car and fall, causing another 4 as well ..... no one was seriously injured. the merc did not stop (dun think the driver knew what happened next) you know what?.... they group later spent few days gathering all available clips from other cyclists, and gave the 'edited' ones to TP against the merc..... ok, cut the story short, I was never invited to join that group bcoz I refused to share my clips and chided them for wrongdoings . . . so..... who will reveal what he snitched as evidence against himeself??? of coz, whatever we see are videos defending the snitcher police may or may not be clever enuff to unveil what's the truth when such video is sent..... just like they do nothing by replying . . . . the matter is being under investigations etc. its very easy to point others when there is no consience in reflecting oneself Which group? First time I heard of cyclists accelerating faster than a car. Especially a merc. Brudder...if the Merc is tailgating the peloton, how can a cyclist which is in front touches the car & buang ? More like the Merc edges too close to the pack when overtaking lah.....Thomson riders are a fast pack. Many national riders. It is an offense to edit video evidence & submit to the authorities.....and to gather all of them to edit simultaneously? Brudder....they are cyclist leh not film editor la. Your description may be a tat 夸张. I like your story no matter. I think when the merc decided to overtake after that la. Then he said the cyclists accelerate to match the speed of the car when the car changed lane to overtake. Edited December 13, 2015 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged December 13, 2015 Share December 13, 2015 Which group? First time I heard of cyclists accelerating faster than a car. Especially a merc. I think when the merc decided to overtake after that la. Then he said the cyclists accelerate to match the speed of the car when the car changed lane to overtake. The Merc signaled to overtake....either the pack also moved out to the right OR the Merc overtake dangerously close to the pack. In this case, I would believe it's the latter. When riding in peloton, where got time to look back & chut pattern with the tailgating car.....whether fact or frictional, the Merc is at fault for not stopping after an accident. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...