RadX Moderator December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 From the vid , can see that Eric the CBK was in shock .. The lorry driver really sent a Nbz message to this CBK.. Exactly Gd that this video now is cropped up Clear evidence who’s the bully ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 Just few days back, someone here mentioned that there seems to have lesser aggressive driver towards cyclist nowadays and more drivers are overtaking cyclist with wider space. Then Come this lorry driver swing and hit cyclist video. This cyclist deserve it Sia. So kuai Lan and block the lane plus use fist to hit the lorry side mirror off. This lorry driver, at the moment of anger did something that endanger cyclist life. If the cyclist want to go ahead and make police report and or report to TP. This van driver will kanna big time sia. When both idiots met on the road and that is the result. I am the one that mentioned that. This case is obviously totally different. The lorry driver wouldn't have hit the cyclist if the cyclist did not hit his mirror. If the cyclist really did not want to let the lorry overtake, he can just stay in the middle of the lane and the lorry will just overtake on the next lane just like the driver of the cam car. That's why I did also mention that cyclists should not take the law into their own hands also. He could have just reported the lorry driver cuz I'm sure these groups with expensive bikes will have cameras. But now that he took the law into his own hands, both parties will get penalised. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 I'm not saying that cyclists shouldn't use the roads. But they should do so with consideration, and not be pricks insisting on the right to ride two abreast no matter what the traffic conditions are. Remember there are already purpose built paths for cycling (like the PCNs) - if the issue is that the speed limits are too low or that foot traffic is encroaching on the cycling paths, then take that up with the relevant authorities and solve that problem first!! Don't ignore that problem and use it as an excuse to make life more difficult for motor vehicles on our already crowded roads. To be fair to cyclists, they now have limited choices to cycle faster on the PCNs and pavements, due to the speed limits because of the proliferation of those stupid damn PMDs. PMDs being a nuisance to other pedestrians and causing accidents, also drag cyclists down to all these mobility act rulings. The authorities should ban those PMD nuisances totally and clear up the mobility act issues as in give cyclists more flexibility to use the PCNs and pavements. Before those PMDs come in, I hardly have issues with cyclists riding on pavements and PCNs. Most will slow down when approaching people and being foot peddled, they don't accelerate and speed fast. And this has been happening for decades even before PMDs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 Cyclist rear facing camera? Even if does what can the video show? Lorry sway into him or cyclist road hogging..Cyclist smashing venting his ego onto the lorry side window? Mind you...you won't say such a thing if the lorry driver sway left hit a few cars and injured some innocent motorist. MERELY AN EGO boosted cyclist behaving like a road bully! Rear facing camera on bicycles quite common already. That is how I managed to report the 2 hit-and-run drivers and also those who overtook so close to me. TP will take action. There was no need for cyclist to take law into his own hands. Cyclist might be considered as being inconsiderate. But still legal. Not hogging the road since the lorry can overtake on the next lane. In the past, the RTA was not clear. They only say can cycle 2 abreast as long as not obstructing faster traffic. It actually meant as long as there is more than 1 lane so the faster cars can overtake. So now they have made it clearer and just state that can cycle 2 abreast as long as there is more than one lane for each direction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mengami 2nd Gear December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 (edited) That's why now single lane road they don't allow 2 abreast already. Sounded like common sense to me share means not to obstruct traffic. You mean they were allowed to ride side by side before and now they have to ride single file? Oh I just read the rules. Sorry for asking stupid question :P Edited December 24, 2018 by mengami 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 (edited) https://www.todayonline.com/lifestyle/laws-cyclists-ought-know ALWAYS KEEP LEFT, AND GIVE WAY TO FASTER TRAFFIC. Back out on the roads, the law says that “every bicycle shall be ridden close to the left hand edge of the roadway and in such a manner as not to obstruct vehicles moving at a faster speed”. Drivers who get frustrated with cyclists who ride in the middle of a lane and get in their way might seem impatient, but they have the law on their side. Bicycle riders have to stick to the left hand edge of a road and stay there. And any cyclist is breaking the law if he or she deliberately obstructs a faster vehicle. That means cars, buses, trucks, motorcycles... you get the picture. WHERE THERE IS A CYCLING LANE, YOU HAVE TO USE IT. According to the law, “wherever part of a road or a path adjacent to a road has been set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles, no bicycle shall be used on any other part of the roadway”. If a stretch of tarmac has been set aside just for cyclists, such as the one at Tanah Merah Coast Road, then riders are not allowed to stray from them, according to the Road Traffic (Bicycles) Rules. After all, what is the point of having cycling lanes if no one uses them? MORE THAN TWO RIDERS SIDE-BY-SIDE IS A NO-NO. “No bicycle shall be ridden on the right of any two other bicycles proceeding abreast in the same direction except when overtaking such other bicycles or on parts of roads or paths set aside for the exclusive use of bicycles,” says the Road Traffic (Bicycles) Rules. The Highway Code — which, is strictly speaking, more of a code of conduct than an actual set of laws — recommends that cyclists ride in single-file, but riders are allowed to ride two abreast, except when riding in bus lanes. *** Here lies the problem in the language. It says recommends. Not legally not allowed. Just like LTA Lingo... Advisory notice for Private estate. No one gives a damn.. Edited December 24, 2018 by Sdf4786k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 when it come to cycling sadly our highly educated tour de france wanna be local and amdk is worst then those ft worker cycling to work and back. even on a 3 lane road bus road they can cycle right on the side on the yellow line, they never cycle side by side, these ppl are genuine green and saving the environment, i alway give them as much space as possible, look at this idiot that kenna buang, these ppl is well to do, but they choose to bring their entertainment to the road( a freaking busy road, and purposely blocking traffic, causing a pile up behind, causing how many extra carbon to be burn???) my malaysian workers also cycle to work, at first i discourage them, but they tell me sg driver usually quite nice and will give way and look out for them, ( they dun cycle side by side, and keep the the edge) conclusion is driver dun hate cyclist, they just hate idiots and fishmongers Cyclist on the roads have co-existed with other road users for decades in Singapore. Nothing new. However I noticed the recent grouses about them are caused by those egoistic new generation cyclists who think they are entitled on the roads. And not just FTs, most of the considerate roads cyclist are those older people too. Just think back to the 70s and 80s back then. Does cyclists back then have such luxury to cycle like that on the roads? Most of the roads back then don't have road kerbs, and beside the roads are already drains. Still have double yellow lines to guide? And most roads do not have shady trees that can shade the roads from the hot sun, compared to now. And the vehicles back then. More polluting emission fumes, loud engine noises, especially those big vehicles, cars with less safety features like absence of ABS and TCS systems, etc. Riding beside them and with those environment was a big challenge for those older generation cyclists. Did they kpkb so much back then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 The cyclists need to pay road tax and COE, if they want to ride like this. Pay road tax and COE still need to follow road rules hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DACH Supersonic December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 Nbz why leg not broken Ehz I see a cycling path at the road side. Hahaha Got cycling tracks build for them to use but rather use the roads and create troubles. Really an idiot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 Sounded like common sense to me share means not to obstruct traffic. You mean they were allowed to ride side by side before and now they have to ride single file? Oh I just read the rules. Sorry for asking stupid question :P Before that never state that single lane cannot ride 2 abreast. NOw they do state. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
flashbang Turbocharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 Ehz I see a cycling path at the road side. Hahaha Good observation Why e-diot didn't use the path? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mengami 2nd Gear December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 Cyclist on the roads have co-existed with other road users for decades in Singapore. Nothing new. However I noticed the recent grouses about them are caused by those egoistic new generation cyclists who think they are entitled on the roads. And not just FTs, most of the considerate roads cyclist are those older people too. Just think back to the 70s and 80s back then. Does cyclists back then have such luxury to cycle like that on the roads? Most of the roads back then don't have road kerbs, and beside the roads are already drains. Still have double yellow lines to guide? And most roads do not have shady trees that can shade the roads from the hot sun, compared to now. And the vehicles back then. More polluting emission fumes, loud engine noises, especially those big vehicles, cars with less safety features like absence of ABS and TCS systems, etc. Riding beside them and with those environment was a big challenge for those older generation cyclists. Did they kpkb so much back then? So true. We knew our place on the road back then and learned to share it with cars. This generation is aggressive and rude, is it because their bikes are not as humble as ours back then? Coming from someone who rode to work every day and sometimes night for 2 years to work and now drive to work, so should be quite qualified to give my opinion bah. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 (edited) I am the one that mentioned that. This case is obviously totally different. The lorry driver wouldn't have hit the cyclist if the cyclist did not hit his mirror. If the cyclist really did not want to let the lorry overtake, he can just stay in the middle of the lane and the lorry will just overtake on the next lane just like the driver of the cam car. That's why I did also mention that cyclists should not take the law into their own hands also. He could have just reported the lorry driver cuz I'm sure these groups with expensive bikes will have cameras. But now that he took the law into his own hands, both parties will get penalised. Well, now that its out in the open,its a timely reminder that there is a limit or element of unpredictable behaviour of the drivers in SingaporeI am sure AMDK will be more mindful when they ride two or 3 abreast and may be side swap or horn at by the bus driver Edited December 24, 2018 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 YES!!! To the part I upsized, bolded and underlined. That's something I never even considered till now, but it's a very good point. These "green" cyclists wax eloquent about saving the damn planet. But how much more vehicular emissions are they actually responsible for by hogging busy traffic? It's not like they don't have a choice, since they can choose a less crowded route or a less crowded time of day. And it's not like the vehicle drivers have a meaningful choice either - certainly, this truck driver cannot help but drive his good-carrying vehicle for a living. It's really the cyclists who are enjoying a purely *elective, optional, non-vocational* journey who should be accommodating. And let me just get this off my chest: cyclists always like to kpkb about "sharing the road". Here's a newsflash: the "road" is *primarily* intended for motorised vehicles. It's meant to be a thoroughfare for the quickest modes of user-piloted land based transport we have, and that's motorised traffic. To say that motorised vehicles need to yield to cyclists no matter what they do is nonsense. If you really thought that every conceivable form of traffic had an absolute equal right to road space, go and live in a place like India - where humans, cows and bullock carts vie with cars, trucks and auto-rickshaws for road space. Do you really want an absurd situation like that in our country? I'm not saying that cyclists shouldn't use the roads. But they should do so with consideration, and not be pricks insisting on the right to ride two abreast no matter what the traffic conditions are. Remember there are already purpose built paths for cycling (like the PCNs) - if the issue is that the speed limits are too low or that foot traffic is encroaching on the cycling paths, then take that up with the relevant authorities and solve that problem first!! Don't ignore that problem and use it as an excuse to make life more difficult for motor vehicles on our already crowded roads. Do cyclists really cause a pile up? Or is it just traffic in general? My average speed on my car's dashboard states that it is 30km/h. The routes I drive I don't usually encounter any cyclists. My strava data also shows that my cycling route's average speed is 30km/h. So I don't think its the cyclists causing a pile up. How long does it take to overtake a cyclist? 5s to 10s? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 (edited) Sounded like common sense to me share means not to obstruct traffic. You mean they were allowed to ride side by side before and now they have to ride single file? Oh I just read the rules. Sorry for asking stupid question :P The issue is that these cyclist darn knn, they also disobay traffic light signal. 90% of the time these cyclist will just cycle pass red light. They thought they are small so okay to just beat red light. Darn wtf man. Hope someday some bus driver/ van driver/ lorry driver/ bikers/ car driver that turn at high speed and did not see the cyclist and then collide these cyclist that beat red light then they know.. Edited December 24, 2018 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 (edited) nother video the cbk still throw the ah neh phone https://www.facebook.com/Roads.sg/videos/480022192525063/?t=0 the music hahahahha I think he needs to feel the full extend of Karma.. Let hope he is not a PR. But even the flag tearing guy also got away with a slap on his hands .. When I see Ah neh and Chinese, automatically I think someone going to put a racist card on the table. So lets keep it clean even if we think that way before this thread gets locked. Edited December 24, 2018 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceng Turbocharged December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 The 2 lane Loyang Avenue has many cyclists cycling abreast on weekends, even if it’s just 2 cyclists. The main culprits are the caucasians – they are very arrogant. Just a slight tap of the horn when you overtake them (to warn them that there’s a car overtaking on their right) gets them very agitated and they will start to show all forms of hand signs and even shout out loud profanity. I have learnt to take this in my stride. If I am shown any hand signs or any profanity when I over take them, I will take it easy on the left lane – and play the role of a F1 safety car. This escort by the safety car will continue all the way the Changi Coast Road where there is a cycling lane on the extreme left. These cyclists like to cycle on the road (lane on the immediate right of the cycling lane) instead of the cycling lane. I will cruise one car length ahead of them, so the entire convoy is stuck cycling on a single file on the cycling lane for eternity, till they reach the end of Tanah Merah Coast Road – that’s an enjoyable 15km of “slow” ride for these bunch of smart alec. This makes my day! 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 24, 2018 Share December 24, 2018 The 2 lane Loyang Avenue has many cyclists cycling abreast on weekends, even if it’s just 2 cyclists. The main culprits are the caucasians – they are very arrogant. Just a slight tap of the horn when you overtake them (to warn them that there’s a car overtaking on their right) gets them very agitated and they will start to show all forms of hand signs and even shout out loud profanity. I have learnt to take this in my stride. If I am shown any hand signs or any profanity when I over take them, I will take it easy on the left lane – and play the role of a F1 safety car. This escort by the safety car will continue all the way the Changi Coast Road where there is a cycling lane on the extreme left. These cyclists like to cycle on the road (lane on the immediate right of the cycling lane) instead of the cycling lane. I will cruise one car length ahead of them, so the entire convoy is stuck cycling on a single file on the cycling lane for eternity, till they reach the end of Tanah Merah Coast Road – that’s an enjoyable 15km of “slow” ride for these bunch of smart alec. This makes my day! Got spray wiper fluid and clean your windscreen while driving slowly? ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...