Lorry altercation with cyclist at Pasir Ris

1fast1

Malaysia also has its fair share ... I remember quite some years back a Singaporean died in some part of rural Malacca road race and he might have lost control and died and other participants did not even realize it as the gap must have been wide and he could have been thrown off and fallen into the lonkangs lining the kampung roads which don’t have barriers .... still a misadventure as he could also have suffered a heart attack. They found the body after a search mission only

I think it is during Ipoh Century Ride.

If you can see the euphoria of all the threads on fb, Twitter, chats

Etc

This is a clear pent up reaction and all are cheering the unker for what happened. Itâs a clear sign of the amount of anger developed all these years amongst the larger community of motorists, pedestrians, baby walkers, etc

This bloody cyclist absolutely deserve it. There is a lot of pent up anger in me at least when I see cocky E scooters and cyclist abusing their right to be on our roads and footpaths , their mentality is , the law always protect me because I am small and vulnerable . Let’s see what TP says in this. Even though the lorry may horn at him, the fact he threw something to the lorry is wrong .

He didn't threw something. He broke the mirror of the lorry. 

Regulations by the Land Transport Authority stipulate that

1) cycling two abreast is allowed unless the cyclist is on a single-lane road(Double Lane) and is cycling during bus lane operational hours(No sign of Bus lane).

It's pretty clear who is right and wrong now.

To be honest, I also TL when I saw the cyclist breaking the mirror on the lorry. Who is going to pay for the damage, the driver from his own pocket?

Human being tends to read selectively in favor of what they like to see, there is a guideine published by LTA stating right after the cycling abreast statement that

"Required to keep to the left-hand edge of the roadway and not in a way so as to obstruct other vehicles moving at a faster speed.".

Edited by Ct3833

I think when one is doing a recreational or leisurely activity, it really doesn't hurt to give way to another doing his bread and butter job (e.g. truck drivers, bus drivers, etc). It is really a pain when one has to make a living (try driving a manual lorry) and yet encounters busterds on the road who make things even tougher for him.

I'm glad I don't need to support my family driving hours on the slowest lane, and to deal with S-Ho like Eric. If I were the lorry driver, I may do worse stuff, like bang and go-stan, samura.

Edited by Weez911
  • Praise 13

Simi Southampton Solent Uni???? Never hear before.... I go google...

KNS ... ranked 112 out of 131

https://www.thecompleteuniversityguide.co.uk/solent/

2018 - Change of name to Solent University 

2004 – Granted University status 

1984 – Southampton Institute of Higher Education 

Only given university status since 2004.

A university that is even younger than me.

England has unis that are hundreds of years old.

can never understand why lao lan people like to put their entire professional history on social media

99.9% of the time self pwned

I don't think people should say the lorry purposely knocked into the cyclist.

Something hit the windscreen and the shock must have caused the driver to be startled

and lose control of his vehicle.

I suspect the lorry driver is an animal lover and was worried that a bird hit his lorry and

swerve to avoid hurting the poor bird.

Edited by Jamesc

I actually chuckled when I finished the video.

I was thinking ORBIGOOT for the MAMIL.

If it's just the 2 of them, just bloody be gracious and ride in a single file lah! Traffic wasn't exactly light some more.

And he was the one who threw the first punch. Although I don't condone the lorry's reaction I can't help but feel song that such MAMILs need to be taught a farking lesson and be put in their place.

I'm an (ex) road cyclist (OAMIL ð) and I know what road etiquette cyclists should adhere to and not insist on their rights of law.

In hokkien, we call this "Kiam Par".

Somehow, I have slightly more respect for the lorry driver although both of them were very wrong.

Both are wrong la.

But i wont pity the cyclist at all as he is too self-centred and self-entitled.

Obviously he know from the start of the video that the lorry wanted to overtake him. He purposely cycle to the centre of the lane at the traffic light.

When the traffic light changes to green, he purposely stayed close and bidded his time for the opportunity to whack the mirror or throw something at the the windscreen.

Honestly, is it so hard to be gracious?

Give way to faster vehicles will die or lose money??

I am a cyclist and motorcyclist as well.

Respect other road users as well.

Keep left if possible, dont road hog and hold up traffic.

He might be late for deliveries and the customer keep bombing his phone and fxxxing him....

Now next delivery late, can tell the customer "sorry hor, got 2 cyclists riding abreasts so i need to guai guai follow behind them as it is a high traffic area and i am unable to overtake."???

Self entitled behaviour. One day when LTA ban all cyclist on the road, I will arm chio at them.

The cyclists need to pay road tax and COE, if they want to ride like this.

Unfortunately, the lorry driver is the one to be punished in the eyes of the law.

Driving heavy vehicle is not easy.

Bus, coach, lorries, they have to keep to the left lane.

They are sometimes blocked by slower cyclists or cars that stopped there.

If they move out to the next lane, they get complained by other drivers, get booked by TP, LTA.

Spare a thought for them.

the leotard should consider himself lucky that the lorry driver decided to nudge him instead of running him over.

Actually i wonder what is in his mind when he is blocking the lorry?

Isnt it much simpler, faster and safer just to move left and let the lorry pass?

I mean it is intuitive to move away from danger right?

A fast moving heavy vehicle and you are blocking it using your body.

What if he ride into a pothole or rock or tyre burst and accidently trip?

The lorry wont be able to stop in time and will run over him.

Were he dropped when he was a baby???

Edited by Zippaboy