SuPerBoRed Twincharged December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 There is no need to dismount. LTA has clarified already. Btw, most people online seems to want cyclists to dismount when crossing and I used to dismount all the time in the past before LTA allowed people to ride across. However, there have been a few occasions when drivers honked or showed their displeasure when i dismounted and pushed my bicycle across instead of quickly riding across. https://www.lta.gov.sg/data/apps/news/press/2016/20160317_%20AMAP-Annex-B.pdf i stand to be corrected pls. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 (edited) exactly such an attitude. policeman nicely told the cyclist that there is a cycling lane for his safety and all they will do is to sort of say mind your own business and sod off. too bad if one day kenna mowed down. darwins theory at work. Edited December 26, 2018 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 Yeah. Could be. He probably had the same train of thoughts. That's why his instinctive reaction was about 2s when a usual human reaction time is 0.3s. However, can the cyclist also claim instinctive reaction when he felt something coming up very near him to swing his arm out to shield himself? Some say avg driver reaction time is about 2s.. https://copradar.com/redlight/factors/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JayyX 2nd Gear December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 Most people thinks that my previous post was to defend the cyclist, but that wasn't my intention. In fact I also believe the driver could've been checking out his mirror on the right and thought he/she hit something in the blindspot on the right, not noticing the rider had moved to the left and wrecked his mirror. I for one would never condone someone who takes out their rage on another, especially since the side mirror is something so important to drivers. I'm not sure how to quote previous replies in the thread... I'll find soon SuPerBoRed: It is extremely easy for cyclists to merge into one single file and let cars pass, that I can assure you. I am not saying that cars should just bear with the inconvenience. Only that if you encounter them, it could be for a reason like I stated. The cyclist in the video most probably was just inconsiderate. Enye: All cyclists riding on the road for the first time can feel some distress if cars drive past them close-up, especially if it is large vehicles. I can already foresee what you are going to say, "then don't ride on the road lah!". But everybody have to start somewhere right? So more experienced riders can create a buffer for them in more tight situations until they feel more at ease, just temporarily. Again, I am not trying to defend the cyclist, the cyclist is not my friend (tsk...). I am just trying to spread more awareness of what cyclists are experiencing from my own experience. So that the bad apples don't spoil the whole basket. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 (edited) https://www.lta.gov.sg/data/apps/news/press/2016/20160317_%20AMAP-Annex-B.pdf i stand to be corrected pls. You don't know meh? Cyclists here can make their own rules to their advantage. Like cycling across 4 lanes from the left-most lane to right-most lane to turn right, or cycling across pedestrian crossing. But some laws they follow to the T, like riding abreast and hogging traffic behind. Edited December 26, 2018 by Weez911 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 I feel both lorry driver and cyclist doesn't need defending. Look at the comments when a car swerves instinctively to avoid an accident but causes another accident instead. People start commenting the car shouldn't swerve and all that. Now a lorry driver swerved and hit a cyclist and everyone feels its right that he does it out of instinct.If it is normal common road accident your point will be valid. This is an incident where no sane minded human being understand and expect. Swing arm on moving vehicle! Count it luck/fortunate that no other "innocent" road users are being penalised/hurt here in this section incident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr8445r 5th Gear December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 This SMLJ Eric meant that he was raised as corn-fed free range Pig but moved to Sgp to breed high quality piglets.. Hopefully, the breeding has not yet started .... FT treat here as his home ground and claim his immunity? I thought when in Rome, do as Rome do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 Most people thinks that my previous post was to defend the cyclist, but that wasn't my intention. In fact I also believe the driver could've been checking out his mirror on the right and thought he/she hit something in the blindspot on the right, not noticing the rider had moved to the left and wrecked his mirror. I for one would never condone someone who takes out their rage on another, especially since the side mirror is something so important to drivers. I'm not sure how to quote previous replies in the thread... I'll find soon @SuPerBoRed: It is extremely easy for cyclists to merge into one single file and let cars pass, that I can assure you. I am not saying that cars should just bear with the inconvenience. Only that if you encounter them, it could be for a reason like I stated. The cyclist in the video most probably was just inconsiderate. @Enye: All cyclists riding on the road for the first time can feel some distress if cars drive past them close-up, especially if it is large vehicles. I can already foresee what you are going to say, "then don't ride on the road lah!". But everybody have to start somewhere right? So more experienced riders can create a buffer for them in more tight situations until they feel more at ease, just temporarily. Again, I am not trying to defend the cyclist, the cyclist is not my friend (tsk...). I am just trying to spread more awareness of what cyclists are experiencing from my own experience. So that the bad apples don't spoil the whole basket. nah, Like that they can read your reply faster. There is a "quote" button to the bottom right of each post, hit that button and you will see that post inside a light blue box, type your reply outside the box in the white area. When you are done, hit the black " add reply" button below. All I can do is prolong your life here by giving you whatever praise I can offer you, how long you can stay here depends on your luck.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 You are right brother. But to me, it's a case of a demanding cyclist and a (normal) impatient driver. Let's not get too heated up over it. As a driver or as a cyclist, it may within our rights to respond emotionally, but in the end nobody wins. The cyclist gets physically injured (thankfully not fatal or debilitating). The driver gets demerit points for sure. Who wins when we respond tit-for-tat? i can give way to cyclists... but this guy was insisting on his right of way when he could be more considerate and just move behind his friend. And he started it!!! i am not gonna say 100% that i can still bottle it if it happened to me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 (edited) change lanes to overtake ?? so now you cyclists want more than 1.5m ? you want the whole lane to yourselves ? I thought (since you always like to bring up the Act) that cyclists are supposed to keep to the left as possible ? Its only one van. After the van are many other vehicles leh .... Yah man, first want 1.5m gap..then now want whole lane. Knn... Cyclists vs Drivers are never ending but for this prick, he truly absolutely thoroughly deserved it. Only thing is never whack hard enough...hahaha. When one is in a wheelchair for life then he will realized that his RIGHT to cycle whatever way he want or SMLJ ACT doesn’t matter anymore. Edited December 26, 2018 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 Yah man, first want 1.5m gap..then now want whole lane. Knn... Cyclists vs Drivers are never ending but for this prick, he truly absolutely thoroughly deserved it. Only thing is never whack hard enough...hahaha. When one is in a wheelchair then he will realized that his RIGHT to cycle whatever way he want doesnât matter anymore. When he’s in a wheelchair, ppl may give way 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 Bloody AMDK mentality, always trying to impose their thoughts on us.I say no to western values especially western porn. I only like Asian values and ladies. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 (edited) You don't know meh? Cyclists here can make their own rules to their advantage. Like cycling across 4 lanes from the left-most lane to right-most lane to turn right, or cycling across pedestrian crossing. But some laws they follow to the T, like riding abreast and hogging traffic behind. https://va.ecitizen.gov.sg/cfp/customerpages/lta/explore_faq.aspx Click on the question on why is dismount and push not a rule. Those who don't even know the rules and then start to hate on cyclists just because they think the cyclists make up their own rules are worse. Don't know anything still ok can read. But those who don't even know what they don't know are the worst kind of people. https://www.lta.gov.sg/data/apps/news/press/2016/20160317_%20AMAP-Annex-B.pdf i stand to be corrected pls. https://va.ecitizen.gov.sg/cfp/customerpages/lta/explore_faq.aspx Read the answer on why dismount and push is not a rule. Edited December 26, 2018 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 When heâs in a wheelchair, ppl may give wayHahaha...true that. Take lift no need ask people also give way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 How come amdk nothing nothing always wanna box one?Boxing is a Western sport. That's why they even have Boxing Day which is actually today. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 Since everyone is so free today, can you guys do YOURSELF a favour. https://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2713307-singapore-reckless-drivers-part-vii/page-4?do=findComment&comment=6589396 Feedback to MAS on the attached my matter. I had done my part. If you can keep up the momentum like we do here, we may make a difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 (edited) change lanes to overtake ?? so now you cyclists want more than 1.5m ? you want the whole lane to yourselves ? I thought (since you always like to bring up the Act) that cyclists are supposed to keep to the left as possible ? Its only one van. After the van are many other vehicles leh .... Already on the left lane then where you want the cyclists to go? I have clarified with TP and as left as possible means the left most lane that the cyclist can cycle on while going on his route. That is why turning right also take the left most lane that allows right turn rather than the right most lane which most cyclists do. Going straight also take the left most lane so cyclists are supposed to move out to the next lane if the left most lane is for left turn only. What I meant was that the cyclist felt the lorry isn't going to give him enough space when overtaking so he moved out so there will be more space for him if the lorry really squeezed past. But, as I mentioned, I don't agree with him hitting the lorry's mirror. He could have just reported to TP let TP handle the lorry for overtaking dangerously. Edited December 26, 2018 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 26, 2018 Share December 26, 2018 I wonder how this foreigners cycle in HK ?? Its just as crammed thereForeigners don't cycle in HK. They are too busy drinking in LKF. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...