Lorry altercation with cyclist at Pasir Ris

1fast1

Western side have large container trailers, huge lorries and many buses....

Sure get flattened.

I see many cyclists along LCK road, Jalan bahar, sungei kadut, old woodlands road, mandai road. These places got big heavy vehicles esp sungei kadut leading to mandai road,  but not as many driver vs cyclist issue reported, and not many accidents involving cyclists. 

I think one common route for cyclist in the west is LCK towards international road leading to west coast up to vivo, ( I see many solo cyclists do this route on weekend morning), and the stretch outside jurong Island the amount of heavy vehicles is really no joke. 

Tuas, I have no idea.

In the eastern side, changi area nearer to cargo side, I am sure there are many heavy vehicles also because air freight all come out of there.  PSA is at the southern tip, and all containers need to come out from there, so I believe the heavy vehicles movement cannot be any better than west area.

But so far videos I saw  mostly from southern side, and accidents I see is from the eastern side. 

I have no  figures to justified, but are cyclist more kuai lan and drivers more impatience in the east, or cyclists more kiasi and drivers more forgiving in the west? I am just curious only.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I must say first hor, I am not MAMIL hor, I dont even cycle on the pavement. 

Let's not forget that in the world of WWW, fake accounts are not uncommon.

anyone can cfm those accounts with the name change is the original?

Personally i dont see a need for him to change his name in this manner, not like he has done something so unforgivable and shameful to have to change his full name.

It is quite stupid to do that. However It is even more silly and childish to even think of such ideas if these name change accounts are not the real thing.

To think that educated professionals would believe without verification. Anyone manage to verified?

Well said . And for the first time your post has no knn. Praise you. Haha.

To be frank... I rather they ALL keep to PCN and keep off the roads. 

But the reality is they are here to stay like it or not.

It is a matter of thinking out of the box for a solution to a pesky problem. 

If they want to share the road, fine, keep to a regulated speed so that motorists can overtake them in a safer manner. 

Reason most MAMILs gave for not using PCN is because they want to go for maximum speed which only roads allow. Why then, an owner of a porky 911/mclaren cannot practice his top speed on our own public roads and need to go up North for tracking? 

Speeding (yes on a manpowered machine) , racing, hogging, pedestrian/Road user role quick switch, riding across pedestrian crossings..... This is as unregulated as you can get at this current state.

In essence, some sort of regulation, be it registration, speed control, will remind them that they have as much responsibility to themselves as well as the rest of the road users they share the roads with. 

Cyclists esp those MAMIL with the AMDK attitude  if  keep to PCN, then we going to see many fights will come out into the paper liao. Chances they hit someone is higher than they get knock down by lorry, and chances they get hammer until become meat cakes will be super high.  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Maybe for groups of 10 or more there has to be marshaling or a vehicle following etc.

that will probably put a stop to large groups causing a nuisance on the road

this will ensure the safety of the group but will create more traffic pileup, making cycling more difficult and costly. . 

Edited by Ct3833

Well said . And for the first time your post has no knn. Praise you. Haha.

have lah, got many without "KNN" ones. Usually when I am a little more serious, the "KNN" disappear. 

"KNN" is my way of say "hello buddy", So when you see "KNN" from me, unarm yourself, friendly one friendly one... [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Where do TdF wannabe in other countries practise?

Even top TdF cyclists get killed whilst out training.

Check out Michele Scarponi.

I think there have been others as well.

Why do bike speed limit has to be lower than B&B car? For my own understanding.

My last B&B car can only do 140km/h max.

Can you write to Singapore Cycling Association to shift OCBC Cycle indoor? Thanks.

Reason is simple, it is not mandatory for cyclist to have insurance to cover 3rd party injury

If you want ask why, feel free to write to LTA...

this will ensure the safety of the group but will create more traffic pileup, making cycling more difficult and costly. .

Well if the bad apples continue their arrogance, I’m sure this will be implemented sooner or later.

Sweeping measures have been implemented for e scooters, all it takes is for more altercations to occur. In the end cyclist themselves will suffer.

Cyclists esp those MAMIL with the AMDK attitude if keep to PCN, then we going to see many fights will come out into the paper liao. Chances they hit someone is higher than they get knock down by lorry, and chances they get hammer until become meat cakes will be super high. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Yesss....shift the reckless leotards to PCN and the next fight will be with reckless e-scooters. So let the battle begin! Darwinism rules

I just don't believe him.

"I thought I had enough space between the cyclist and me, so I was looking out for the taxi on my right," he said. He claimed that he then heard the taxi driver travelling on the right lane sound his horn, and then he heard a loud crash.

Thinking he had hit the taxi, he "instinctively" swerved to the left...."

Wasn't the loud crash on his left from the cyclist breaking the wing mirror or throwing a water bottle.

So why did he swerve left.

The uncle's explanation doesn't work for me.

You mean you have not encounter when people horn you while you driving you wonder who is horning you?

Yesss....shift the reckless leotards to PCN and the next fight will be with reckless e-scooters. So let the battle begin! Darwinism rules

This does not fix the root of the problem but simply transfering problem to somewhere else that is more damaging.

Don't forget the problem is the attitude of a particular group of self entitled cyclists, if LTA will to shift them to PCN, they will continue to behave the same nuts way, next we

Will realise the safety of our children, parents, uncle aunties will be at stake.

yar lor, sure got lots of fight, but then at least fist fight not as deadly as kena knock by vehicles.  [:p]

But mayb good also, let them fight until both side give up using the PCN, and we mayb can get peaceful walk ways.. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

I just don't believe him.

"I thought I had enough space between the cyclist and me, so I was looking out for the taxi on my right," he said. He claimed that he then heard the taxi driver travelling on the right lane sound his horn, and then he heard a loud crash.

Thinking he had hit the taxi, he "instinctively" swerved to the left...."

Wasn't the loud crash on his left from the cyclist breaking the wing mirror or throwing a water bottle.

So why did he swerve left.

The uncle's explanation doesn't work for me.

At least the uncle sexplained,..

The Gavin Smith aka Eric Cheung aka Rick Chung aka Lup Cheong no pic no sound,,,Humjied...

Think must ask a soothsayer for his case..

• Praise 13

This does not fix the root of the problem but simply transfering problem to somewhere else that is more damaging.

Don't forget the problem is the attitude of a particular group of self entitled cyclists, if LTA will to shift them to PCN, they will continue to behave the same nuts way, next we

Will realise the safety of our children, parents, uncle aunties will be at stake.

Right now we hv reckless leotards and reckless e-scooters. Put them together in the same place n see who takes who out first. Survival of the fittest. No rules. Let Darwinism take it's course....lol