Yewheng Twincharged December 29, 2018 Share December 29, 2018 I dont understand why police would impound the lorry if they are charging him for reckless driving. So i try to google for it, nothing found on Singapore. The only information I can find is this, may not be applicable to SG or this case, but mayb just for some reading information. https://www.legalmatch.com/law-library/article/when-can-police-impound-a-car.html @galantspeedz, your case, TP charge you "failure to keep proper look out" and not "reckless driving" right? Did TP impound your car back then? I am just curious if there is a different. Anyone got experience of having their vehicles impound after an accident? Of coz tp will need to impound the lorry.. As the lorry driver did hit the cyclist and video show the cyclist flown to grass patch. That itself is enough. So impound 1st while waiting for investigation to finish. Tp did the right thing. If not, any driver can suka suka just because of not happy with cyclist way of cycling and do the same stunt as the lorry driver and endanger cyclist life. That is not what we want to promote right? It's human life vs right of way. Which is more important? Human life right? If anyone who say it's right of way, then it will be super sad that we come to this stage. However, that does not mean anyone vulnerable can do whatever he want like this cyclist. He already faced the consequences of public saying this cyclist, he may had lost his job because of this incident, he become famous, everywhere he goes, people will look at him. He may become an outcast. That itself is also very painful lesson for him. It also serve as a reminder to all cyclist not to be so arrogant and thinking want come hit me la. I am vulnerable, you dare to hit me? This is taking risk and 1/100 time it may backfire. So as of current things go, it is still okay what. Kill 2 stones in one go. 1. Tp send a strong message to all drivers, if drive like this lorry that hit cyclist, vehicle will get impounded with pending investigation. 2. Public send a strong message to all cyclist that if cyclist cycle so arrogantly, this is what the cyclist will get. Nightmare after that. So it's a win win situation to make public road safer. ↡ Advertisement 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 No sane cyclist would block a vehicle for no reason, putting their lives at risk.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 (edited) As I said, both are dick. Mind you, 50km/h is legal speed limit. Try travelling at 50km on the extreme right lane of a expressway in front of traffic police and see how legal it would be.the discussion here is about being considerate on the road, not to behave like an Eric. Edited December 30, 2018 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Try travelling at 50km on the extreme right lane of a expressway in front of traffic police and see how legal it would be. the discussion here is about being considerate on the road, not to behave like an Eric. Which road are you talking about in the 1st place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr8445r 5th Gear December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 You all dun CB lah, Gavin Smith is his name all along. He is AMDK!!How come surname become non asian? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 How come surname become non asian? He stated he was born and bred in the UK. Born from where I don't know, bred by what I also don't know. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 I just don't believe him. "I thought I had enough space between the cyclist and me, so I was looking out for the taxi on my right," he said. He claimed that he then heard the taxi driver travelling on the right lane sound his horn, and then he heard a loud crash. Thinking he had hit the taxi, he "instinctively" swerved to the left...." Wasn't the loud crash on his left from the cyclist breaking the wing mirror or throwing a water bottle. So why did he swerve left. The uncle's explanation doesn't work for me. It worked fine for me leh 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 I dont understand why police would impound the lorry if they are charging him for reckless driving. So i try to google for it, nothing found on Singapore. The only information I can find is this, may not be applicable to SG or this case, but mayb just for some reading information. https://www.legalmatch.com/law-library/article/when-can-police-impound-a-car.html @galantspeedz, your case, TP charge you "failure to keep proper look out" and not "reckless driving" right? Did TP impound your car back then? I am just curious if there is a different. Anyone got experience of having their vehicles impound after an accident? No impound and no arrest.. given a date go tp hq meet IO Failure keep proper lookout iirc Reckless driving different.. negligent driving also different type of max sentence 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lotr8445r 5th Gear December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 (edited) He stated he was born and bred in the UK. Born from where I don't know, bred by what I also don't know. Doesnt matter where we born as surname dont change no matter where we born right? If Ang Mo with Ang Mo father born in sgp dont change their surname to asian one , correct? Edited December 30, 2018 by Lotr8445r 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 I just don't believe him. "I thought I had enough space between the cyclist and me, so I was looking out for the taxi on my right," he said. He claimed that he then heard the taxi driver travelling on the right lane sound his horn, and then he heard a loud crash. Thinking he had hit the taxi, he "instinctively" swerved to the left...." Wasn't the loud crash on his left from the cyclist breaking the wing mirror or throwing a water bottle. So why did he swerve left. The uncle's explanation doesn't work for me. It is plausible. imagine you hear a loud banging sound on your left, by reflex, one will move away from the sound and towards your right, then you hear a loud horn on your right, you swerve back to avoid a collision? Lol... But i think he did it on purpose but police may not be able to prove beyond reasonable doubt he did it with intent to punish the cyclist. Cyclist turned aggressive first, so I have little sympathy for him. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Ultimately as bro tianmo mentioned, who the judge believe is the most important. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Ultimately as bro tianmo mentioned, who the judge believe is the most important.The driver is arrested for rash driving and there is no charge for voluntarily causing hurt, which can be a lot more serious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 Let's see a few definition of the term he used in his linkedin born and bred used to say that someone was born and grew up in a particular place, and has the typical character of someone who lives there: He's a Parisian born and bred On the other hand..... I think this suits his character better: 2. to produce by mating; propagate sexually; reproduce. 3. to cause (plants or animals) to reproduce and usu. to be improved by selection. He stated he was born and bred in the UK. Born from where I don't know, bred by what I also don't know. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 (edited) It is plausible. imagine you hear a loud banging sound on your left, by reflex, one will move away from the sound and towards your right, then you hear a loud horn on your right, you swerve back to avoid a collision? Lol... But i think he did it on purpose but police may not be able to prove beyond reasonable doubt he did it with intent to punish the cyclist. Cyclist turned aggressive first, so I have little sympathy for him. I dont even have little sympathy for the cyclist, how I see also he has no right to hit the side mirror of the lorry. He was just asking to be fark and he had his request granted. But i strongly believe the lorry driver bang the cyclist on purpose, which is a very very dangerous act. I cannot imagine what the lorry driver will do to other road users, since he can bring himself to bang into another unprotected human being with his lorry like that. The cyclist is arrogant, and attitude simply CMI, no sympathy at all, but I think the lorry driver is a very dangerous thing on the road. Edited December 30, 2018 by Tianmo 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 It is plausible. imagine you hear a loud banging sound on your left, by reflex, one will move away from the sound and towards your right, then you hear a loud horn on your right, you swerve back to avoid a collision? Lol... But i think he did it on purpose but police may not be able to prove beyond reasonable doubt he did it with intent to punish the cyclist. Cyclist turned aggressive first, so I have little sympathy for him. I think our legal system is the other way round. Driver has to prove beyond reasonable doubt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic December 30, 2018 Share December 30, 2018 It is plausible. imagine you hear a loud banging sound on your left, by reflex, one will move away from the sound and towards your right, then you hear a loud horn on your right, you swerve back to avoid a collision? Lol... But i think he did it on purpose but police may not be able to prove beyond reasonable doubt he did it with intent to punish the cyclist. Cyclist turned aggressive first, so I have little sympathy for him. we all suspect(shot of saying we know) that he did it on purpose, I myself would have the tendency to do so in the same situation, just that I am not so impulsive or rather , not so brave(have no balls) to do that. The rest of his explanation(excuse) is irrelevant. I dont believe any of us here think that uncle did the right thing but many of us is supportive of uncle in moral simply because the cyclist deserves it. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic December 31, 2018 Share December 31, 2018 I think our legal system is the other way round. Driver has to prove beyond reasonable doubt.Guilty until proven innocent? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 31, 2018 Share December 31, 2018 The cyclist 'purposely' occupy the lane to restrict the lorry. The lorry driver 'purposely' 'side kick' him off the road. These 2 actions are facts. otherwise there is nothing to talk about if the cyclist act like his friend riding at the side of the road. The idea of cyclists right in occupying the entire lane is something LTA need to address not not sits on the fence. Is it logical and practical to have such law in our congested roads? Try doing this in Orchard Road and tell me if it works. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...