mersaylee Hypersonic May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Michelin Latitude Sport3? Oh... yes it is. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Hi seniors, want to seek advice and clarification regarding tyre puncture. I'm new driver and just got a 2nd hand car a few days ago, so still learning. Yday I discovered I had a nail in my tyre but it was late, almost 7pm already, so quickly rushed to the nearest tyre shop to fix before all close. Checked reviews and they seemed trustworthy with high positive ratings. The nail is small nail going in on the threads, not side wall. The shop guys tried to plug but told me still leaking and told me need to change tyre. I asked a few times if there was any other alternatives and they said no. But today I found out that as long not sidewall, can patch inside. Is this true? The shop didn't even try this option. Coz a bit lost, I just agreed and changed tyre. Tyre price also kena chop big time. Only occurred to me to check prices online afterwards, and their own listing is $20 cheaper per tyre! Sigh. So much for reputable shop with high rating from sgcarmart. Dunno are the reviews fake or they see newbie they still chop - 'honest' only if they don't think can bluff you. Is there anything I can do? Or suck thumb and take as school fees? Not all tyres shop do internal patching.( very small % infact). Its very normal for online pricing to be much lower then what u get at the shop. Can go as much as 30% lower or more. (But some time u go or call them they say that is last time and recommend u something else.) As for the tyre can patch or really cannot patch no way for us to tell. Lastly they sell u at a higher price then online dun mean they are not honest or they chop u . As long as they tell u the price upfront and u agree to it.( not after the agree price then they add funny stuff to charge u ) (Even chicken rice at hawker centre u can find 2buks to 4 buks) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahboi123 Clutched May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 its obvious. your new tyre brand is called Carrot HPY tyre. Like me, go get a repair kit and save yourself from these unscrupulous shop. Haha, carrot tyre indeed. Angry also must laugh a bit. Thanks, will definitely be getting my own repair kit after this. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahboi123 Clutched May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 Not all tyres shop do internal patching. ( very small % infact). Its very normal for online pricing to be much lower then what u get at the shop. Can go as much as 30% lower or more. (But some time u go or call them they say that is last time and recommend u something else.) As for the tyre can patch or really cannot patch no way for us to tell. Lastly they sell u at a higher price then online dun mean they are not honest or they chop u . As long as they tell u the price upfront and u agree to it.( not after the agree price then they add funny stuff to charge u ) (Even chicken rice at hawker centre u can find 2buks to 4 buks) Thanks for the advice. Did not know that very few do tyre patching. However, this one does internal patching. Was checking their reviews and someone just got theirs patched internally a few days ago. I would beg to differ - even if one agrees to the price does not mean never chop. If I sell shoes at a much higher price to an Ah Ma and she agrees because she doesn't know how much the shoes cost, am I being honest? I'm silly to agree to the high price because of inexperience, that's doesn't mean high price is therefore OK, especially if you offer other customer different price. I message them for quote today and they gave me the online price. This means they see different people they change price. Hawker centre chicken rice will all have different prices, but is it right if the same stall today say 4 bucks tmr 2 bucks depend on your face? My 2 cents la. We can agree to disagree here. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 14, 2019 Share May 14, 2019 (edited) Thanks for the advice. Did not know that very few do tyre patching. However, this one does internal patching. Was checking their reviews and someone just got theirs patched internally a few days ago. I would beg to differ - even if one agrees to the price does not mean never chop. If I sell shoes at a much higher price to an Ah Ma and she agrees because she doesn't know how much the shoes cost, am I being honest? I'm silly to agree to the high price because of inexperience, that's doesn't mean high price is therefore OK, especially if you offer other customer different price. I message them for quote today and they gave me the online price. This means they see different people they change price. Hawker centre chicken rice will all have different prices, but is it right if the same stall today say 4 bucks tmr 2 bucks depend on your face? My 2 cents la. We can agree to disagree here. . this confirm is wrong. (pls put your review there,, see if they remove it lol) I message them for quote today and they gave me the online price. This means they see different people they change price. Edited May 14, 2019 by Beregond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahboi123 Clutched May 15, 2019 Share May 15, 2019 . this confirm is wrong. (pls put your review there,, see if they remove it lol) I message them for quote today and they gave me the online price. This means they see different people they change price. Thanks for the advice. I posted a review on their Facebook and they responded quite promptly + offer refund on the extra charge. Give them benefit of the doubt that it's the particular staff and not a reflection of the company as a whole. They did say tyres too old cannot do inside patch. My tyres were 2014 (2nd hand car), so age of tyres affect ability to repair? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 15, 2019 Share May 15, 2019 Thanks for the advice. I posted a review on their Facebook and they responded quite promptly + offer refund on the extra charge. Give them benefit of the doubt that it's the particular staff and not a reflection of the company as a whole. They did say tyres too old cannot do inside patch. My tyres were 2014 (2nd hand car), so age of tyres affect ability to repair? I think can repair.But anw its so old and puncture already. For safety confirm must change. And they willing to refund good enough already. No 1 will be 100% honest with u 1. This 1 still will to refund quite steady liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahboi123 Clutched May 15, 2019 Share May 15, 2019 I think can repair. But anw its so old and puncture already. For safety confirm must change. And they willing to refund good enough already. No 1 will be 100% honest with u 1. This 1 still will to refund quite steady liao Agreed, some good lessons learnt. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic January 1, 2021 Share January 1, 2021 (edited) So I found a flat tyre today. I stop at Caltex East Coast to fuel up and pump air. Great, Stamford Tyre is also there, I can just pay some dollars and get it fixed. Double great !, today is Jan 1, public holiday, and of cuz it's closed. I always tend to find myself with a flat tyre on a Sunday or public holiday. No choice, but to drive home after pumping up the tyre and attempt a patch. I had this tyre plug sitting around for a long time, and it's time to get it to work. The tools seemed difficult to use, but after watching a few youtube, I got it right. This is a tyre plug, not the usual worm repair. This one is with a plunger: https://www.amazon.sg/Stop-Go-1075-Standard-Plugger/dp/B0018EUDHW Incidentally, you don't need to remove the tyre, just jack the car up, spin the tyre, find and remove the offending screw/nail. Then plugged it. And you'll need a tyre inflator to complete this DIY. Edited January 1, 2021 by Kb27 9 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged January 1, 2021 Share January 1, 2021 nice, looks more more solid repair comparing to the worm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear January 4, 2021 Share January 4, 2021 On 1/1/2021 at 4:19 PM, Kb27 said: So I found a flat tyre today. I stop at Caltex East Coast to fuel up and pump air. Great, Stamford Tyre is also there, I can just pay some dollars and get it fixed. Double great !, today is Jan 1, public holiday, and of cuz it's closed. I always tend to find myself with a flat tyre on a Sunday or public holiday. No choice, but to drive home after pumping up the tyre and attempt a patch. I had this tyre plug sitting around for a long time, and it's time to get it to work. The tools seemed difficult to use, but after watching a few youtube, I got it right. This is a tyre plug, not the usual worm repair. This one is with a plunger: https://www.amazon.sg/Stop-Go-1075-Standard-Plugger/dp/B0018EUDHW Incidentally, you don't need to remove the tyre, just jack the car up, spin the tyre, find and remove the offending screw/nail. Then plugged it. And you'll need a tyre inflator to complete this DIY. On 1/1/2021 at 4:19 PM, Kb27 said: So I found a flat tyre today. I stop at Caltex East Coast to fuel up and pump air. Great, Stamford Tyre is also there, I can just pay some dollars and get it fixed. Double great !, today is Jan 1, public holiday, and of cuz it's closed. I always tend to find myself with a flat tyre on a Sunday or public holiday. No choice, but to drive home after pumping up the tyre and attempt a patch. I had this tyre plug sitting around for a long time, and it's time to get it to work. The tools seemed difficult to use, but after watching a few youtube, I got it right. This is a tyre plug, not the usual worm repair. This one is with a plunger: https://www.amazon.sg/Stop-Go-1075-Standard-Plugger/dp/B0018EUDHW Incidentally, you don't need to remove the tyre, just jack the car up, spin the tyre, find and remove the offending screw/nail. Then plugged it. And you'll need a tyre inflator to complete this DIY. Nothing new about this method of repair. Back in the 1980's tyre shops in Singapore, Malaysia and even Indonesia were already using this method know as " gun plug repair" 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 4, 2021 Author Share January 4, 2021 But worm plug is so much more to administer. Just plug and pull!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear January 4, 2021 Share January 4, 2021 1 hour ago, Hamburger said: But worm plug is so much more to administer. Just plug and pull!! Yes , worm plug is cheap and easy to apply, but limit to nail holes only . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
601F 4th Gear January 4, 2021 Share January 4, 2021 Hi Guys, Reading all your posts got me quite triggered and I went to do some research on tyre patching. Like @Ahboi123, I recently kena a puncture and got a whole lot of smoke thrown at me at a tyre shop. They claimed the puncture was too big to mend (to be fair, it was a bolt that caused the puncture so the hole was really quite big), tyres need to be changed in pairs due to uneven wear, etc etc.. So, I too ended up with some Carrot brand tyres 🤮 And a much slimmer wallet. But after some reading up, it seems the hole could have been patched using the tyre plug/gun plug/mushroom plug method. Lesson learnt if I get any puncture in future. Came across this article which I thought summarises quite well the 3 methods of patching a tyre. Have a look at the link below. http://www.dexel.co.uk/blog/right-wrong-way-repair-punctured-tyre/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 4, 2021 Share January 4, 2021 1 hour ago, Hamburger said: But worm plug is so much more to administer. Just plug and pull!! Spoiler 😱 Buying one nao!!!!!!!!!!! 😝 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 4, 2021 Share January 4, 2021 36 minutes ago, 601F said: I recently kena a puncture and got a whole lot of smoke thrown at me at a tyre shop. They claimed the puncture was too big to mend (to be fair, it was a bolt that caused the puncture so the hole was really quite big), tyres need to be changed in pairs due to uneven wear, etc etc.. So, I too ended up with some Carrot brand tyres 🤮 And a much slimmer wallet. the hard truth is easily 90% of tyre shop in sg use the worm type repair only 🤣 plug in pull and go, 10 buks+- , many place dun even remove the tyre from your car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 5, 2021 Share January 5, 2021 (edited) 1 hour ago, awhtc said: Usually, after a puncture, I will immediately drive slowly to a nearest petrol kiosk to pump up the tire. Thereafter, I will drive to a car workshop that uses the worm plug to fix the puncture at $10. The worm plug kit is rather cheap but I guess one will need certain technique and tools to remove the tire to find the nail, fix the leak and put the tire back and pump it up. https://shopee.sg/Car-Tire-Repair-Tools-Tubeless-Tyre-Puncture-Plug-Kit-Needle-Patch-Fix-Cement-Useful-Set-i.81190226.2776920363?gclid=Cj0KCQiAlsv_BRDtARIsAHMGVSaE2ZEip2if7-GBSOAH3Iqf8mjHg9yIcCS09UdDROjny7PC74uSoq4aAlVNEALw_wcB Have been using the DIY worm patch for years. Front wheel is easy, don’t even need to remove tyre. Just turn the wheel out. The rear tyre more siong, have to remove tyre else patch from below the rear bumper, which I have done once. What one need is strength more than anything. Not much skill needed. If those jiu hu kia or ah tiong at the tyre shop can do it and charge you $10, so can you. Edited January 5, 2021 by Fcw75 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 5, 2021 Share January 5, 2021 38 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: Have been using the DIY worm patch for years. Front wheel is easy, don’t even need to remove tyre. Just turn the wheel out. The rear tyre more siong, have to remove tyre else patch from below the rear bumper, which I have done once. What one need is strength more than anything. Not much skill needed. If those jiu hu kia or ah tiong at the tyre shop can do it and charge you $10, so can you. wow . u really diy man lol ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...