Singapore Property Scene Discussion

therock

1 minute ago, Wt_know said:

you can't put the genie back in the bottle liao ... 

XrC6j.jpeg

To the rich, it is opportunity to be richer. Even if they don't speculate, HDB don't affect them either. To the average Joe, they struggle to survive. For others, shall I say 'chasing the dragon?'. You are in the losing game. 

1 minute ago, Starry said:

It is a tricky situation. If HDB resale sells back to gov at a low price so as to keep it affordable to the next buyer,  then the wealth gap between HDB owners and private owners will be significant since private can sell at market price with significant profit. A big wealth inequality between the two groups will pose other social issues. 

My take on this : Don't worry about the next generation.  They have their challenges, but they will also have opportunities that the previous generation doesn't have. Every generation has to find their own best path in life. In anycase, the new generation now  has better help and inheritance from their parents, so that gave them a head start that their parents probably doesn't have in the past.

'Asset wealth' is nothing if you have only 1. As I have said, unless you migrates. otherwise, you sell high, you buy higher.

Rich/poor gap is not measured by the property you live in. Your anology is what the government is selling you. Be a high class slave

14 minutes ago, Starry said:

It is a tricky situation. If HDB resale sells back to gov at a low price so as to keep it affordable to the next buyer,  then the wealth gap between HDB owners and private owners will be significant since private can sell at market price with significant profit. A big wealth inequality between the two groups will pose other social issues. 

My take on this : Don't worry about the next generation.  They have their challenges, but they will also have opportunities that the previous generation doesn't have. Every generation has to find their own best path in life. In anycase, the new generation now  has better help and inheritance from their parents, so that gave them a head start that their parents probably doesn't have in the past.

Ya, at least the new generation now when inheritance their parents HDB, can sell $1m or even higher which the past generation dont have lo.

2 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Ya, at least the new generation now when inheritance their parents HDB, can sell $1m or even higher which the past generation dont have lo.

ah gong know their mistake 

that’s why they try to curb the “loterry hdb” issue

but it’s too late to u-turn now … so slowly slowly lo … 

On 6/7/2022 at 8:26 PM, therock said:

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/sembawang-park-estate-illegal-parking-1918351

I have mixed feelings about the parking issue in these estates... Looking at Google Maps, the nearest parking space is quite far away..

Someone must have had a driveway blocked then he/she called the LTA and now everyone is affected.. if rubbish trucks and fire engines can't get through because some chap didn't park properly, then everyone suffers now..

Many estates rely on the roadside parking, and it's a privilege to have such a home and also to have more than one car, so sympathies from other Singaporeans will be scarce... but another example of how some civic behaviour could have prevent it..

On a different note, this is one factor to take note when buying a house - parking and the width of the street..

Terrace houses are around 6m wide, and with homes on either side, add a narrow street and you're going to grit your teeth everyday.. so look out for this..

This is what I mean using a different analogy... civic sense, park well and no one has to ban parking..

image.thumb.png.7d0fc363553ea0fcb56fe2679e38b0d8.png

Marina Bay HDB flats... nice

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/public-housing-in-marina-south-analysts-say-it-is-likely-given-govts-push-for-more-inclusivity

SINGAPORE - The Marina South precinct is likely to have public housing as well, given the Government's move to inject Housing Board flats into traditionally private housing estates elsewhere, said analysts.

In its long-term plan unveiled on Monday (June 6), the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) said it would create a better mix of public and private housing islandwide, starting with the area around Upper Changi MRT station and Bayshore estate.

Its plans showed that new homes could also be built in areas such as Marina East, Marina South, Lower Seletar, Chencharu in Yishun, Sembawang North, Woodlands North and Sengkang West.

While URA's plans did not specify the type of housing that will be built within the new housing areas including Marina South and Marina East, analysts expect public and private housing will be offered in most, if not all, the estates.

Development in Marina South was kickstarted Tuesday when the first private residential site in Marina South was launched as part of the Government Land Sales programme.

ERA Realty head of research and consultancy Nicholas Mak said while conventional economics would mean selling prime land in the Marina South and East areas to the highest bidder to build private luxury developments, Singapore's housing policies have to fulfil a social need.

This means it is likely that the Government will inject public housing in those areas, although the ratio of public to private housing remains uncertain, he said.

37 minutes ago, Daniu82 said:

So 4 rooms HDB there starts at 700k?

3 rooms. 

starting 750k 

18 hours ago, Wt_know said:

ah gong know their mistake 

that’s why they try to curb the “loterry hdb” issue

but it’s too late to u-turn now … so slowly slowly lo … 

you think so? ah gong always say they are right even till their dying breadth. to admit they are wrong is forbidden.

wasnt the key underLYING purpose in asset enhancement, is to lock up more CPF so that one is more beholden to the state?😁

plus when one uses CPF to pay for HDB loans, ah gong no need to pay you 2.5%......

Edited by Mkl22

On the principle of equal pain, we may need to send enforcers to clear HDB corridors of clutter and forcibly remove rubbish from the lift landing that hoarders use as extra storage 😘😝😛

Still not the same lah. 1 is hoarding landed space and the other is hoarding multi-layered space. 😄 

Easy to be high and mighty and quote the law, until it affects us.. 

If you move into a landed, then suddenly it's "hey, where's my parking", or "why did you park in front of my place?"

But this is one very important reason to choose wisely...

In my dad's old place, there was an unwritten SOP, park on the right, leave the left for traffic. No one complained, the rubbish truck went through smooth and viola..

In other places, the rubbish team goes on foot to pick up the trash, whilst the truck remains at the head of the road.. the key being that everyone knows the SOP and plays ball..

As Chinese buyer drops US$61m on 20 condo units, what’s fuelling Singapore’s home prices?

......Property insiders say instead of even more cooling measures, the government should release more land supply to alleviate cost pressures, or legislate apartment sizes.... 

we have limited land supply, how many more plot of land can the government continue to put them on sale. The other consideration is what is our population plan? if we continue to increase our population in flow, then housing plan has to move in tandem, otherwise the housing price  will continue to be like COE , supply lower than demand, price will continue to sky rocket.  

https://www.scmp.com/week-asia/economics/article/3181218/chinese-buyer-drops-us61m-20-condo-units-whats-fuelling

SG wants to become HK

HK wants to become SG 

huan ying huan ying for more PRC to throw US$61m to SG .... huat ah!

2022-06-12_155617.png

2022-06-12_155632.png

51 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

As Chinese buyer drops US$61m on 20 condo units, what’s fuelling Singapore’s home prices?

......Property insiders say instead of even more cooling measures, the government should release more land supply to alleviate cost pressures, or legislate apartment sizes.... 

we have limited land supply, how many more plot of land can the government continue to put them on sale. The other consideration is what is our population plan? if we continue to increase our population in flow, then housing plan has to move in tandem, otherwise the housing price  will continue to be like COE , supply lower than demand, price will continue to sky rocket.  

https://www.scmp.com/week-asia/economics/article/3181218/chinese-buyer-drops-us61m-20-condo-units-whats-fuelling

They already released the latest GLS for 2H 2022 with quite a few attractive plot of lands to increase supply. 

On 6/7/2022 at 8:26 PM, therock said:

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/sembawang-park-estate-illegal-parking-1918351

I have mixed feelings about the parking issue in these estates... Looking at Google Maps, the nearest parking space is quite far away..

Someone must have had a driveway blocked then he/she called the LTA and now everyone is affected.. if rubbish trucks and fire engines can't get through because some chap didn't park properly, then everyone suffers now..

Many estates rely on the roadside parking, and it's a privilege to have such a home and also to have more than one car, so sympathies from other Singaporeans will be scarce... but another example of how some civic behaviour could have prevent it..

On a different note, this is one factor to take note when buying a house - parking and the width of the street..

Terrace houses are around 6m wide, and with homes on either side, add a narrow street and you're going to grit your teeth everyday.. so look out for this..

These kind of landed better dont buy.  Horrid!