Heng no more in running for PM

1 minute ago, Kopites said:

which one you want to be PM? Graceful? Jo Jo? Indranee? lol

5 hours ago, Enye said:

and i was just wondering why was tharman speaking on rising interest rates and crypto currencies instead of heng a few days ago

😬😅

Thing is tharman is arguably tbe ONLY minister now that would be considered a talent internationally,  someone people would open doors to and listen. No need to use his political appointment... for others,  once they leave politics  no one will even bother listening. 

Even before tharman.. there was George yeo,  also with a reputation as an intellectual.

But... BOTH specifically ruled out as PM material 🤔🤔 

But I can't help wonder,  if we had an alternate universe where those 2 formed the PM line... what would politics be like in Singapore... personally,  I think its a huge tragedy for Singapore that something along that line didn't play out 😔😔.. 

1 minute ago, Nolicense said:

None.

Exactly one month ago. 

My gut feel is ho ching.

6 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

Fool Mee Har...

What we saw and heard unless is direct dealing, then we may not know that person that well. Most times reports are bias and not accurate. What these MP or rather ministers report are done up for them just to read out. Of course reading itself also not easy but training and experience will overcome lah.

So at most, now we are only basing on their characters during their air time. Many are scholars,  I am sure they are intelligent,  just how much EQ and really wanted to serve. 

50 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Ah Heng is never a leader. He’s a technocract as mentioned by someone here.

Someone who work very well behind the scene and implement policies. As when he was the MD of MAS.

The individuals that occupy such positions in a technocracy are known as "technocrats." An example of a technocrat could be a central banker who is a trained economist and follows a set of rules that apply to empirical data. Decisions made by technocrats are supposed to be based on information derived from data and objective methodology, rather than opinion or self-interest.

actually that is the system that LKY wanted, and which China copied and improvised, a system where the shy but brilliant technocrat can become the leader, and not always the lawyer turn politician who has the most glib tongue.       

3 minutes ago, Chongster said:

actually that is the system that LKY wanted, and which China copied and improvised, a system where the shy but brilliant technocrat can become the leader, and not always the lawyer turn politician who has the most glib tongue.       

glib tongue.. yes.. either a Merkel or a Turmp..

12 minutes ago, Freeder said:

BFF88EF5-CB40-4240-9410-434205236B9E.jpeg

I hope not as well.

Exactly one month ago the question of lady was posed and published on 9th March.

She announced to stand down from. Temasak in Feb? March?

I prefer ah Heng if that will be the case. 

3 hours ago, Lethalstrike said:

Coming from a guy who don't even bother or to have the decency to dress appropriately (proper footwear not slippers) when addressing his audience at a suit/tie event as a representative of Gov Tech. 

Just because he thinks he's the Messiah of IT? Oh no, more likely it's because the Li surname carries a lot of weight here in Singapore. And that means respect don't have to be given from him. 

f**k this guy lah. If there's a 3rd gen Lee in political leadership, we're doomed. 

image.thumb.png.74c320673103d831b99db83b048decdd.pngimage.png.2277a60a33cc900db0993c328ff5a0cc.png

This one try too hard .  What is this bohemian? Hippy?  
Pwui!  No respect. 

Edited by Throttle2

Can that numbar satu breaks the third generation curse...? I certainly pray so...just hand over gracefully...not necessarily to gracefoolly...😁

3 hours ago, Lethalstrike said:

Even Zuckerberg, Jeff Bezos and the late Steve Jobs all wore smart casual. By this definition, it means a proper top (no T shirts) and jeans with covered shoes.

Doesn't hurt anyone a bit to throw on a casual blazer over that T shirt, and switch to sneakers to complete the hippy IT look. 

Black turtleneck with jeans (Job's trademark), proper covered footwear (sneakers, loafers etc) were now commonly done at tech events. 

Not really. At least its adidas... :D

But seriously, makes the grandson look like a try hard.

1497.jpg?width=700&quality=85&auto=forma

4 minutes ago, Karoon said:

ZUckerberg is Zuckerberg.  Li is not

moreover zuckerberg is private , Li is govt 

no comparison at all, man

Edited by Throttle2

Can we crowdfund 10m for HSK to do a grand reveal of wtf was going on? That will be his PM salary for 5 years... he won't say no 

9 minutes ago, Karoon said:

Lol. If it's a formal event, in which everyone else turn up in a suit, he should do the same and not be a Silicon Valley wannabe try hard. 

You see how Zuckerberg wear to suit the occasion when its expected to be a formal event...

image.png

1 hour ago, Fcw75 said:

Always remind me of Tan Chuan Jin.

Outspoken and definitely a alpha but from minister become speaker of parliament...knn.

Those higher up probably feel threatened by him.

I would much prefer TCJ - articulate and sincere imho. Too bad kenna sidelined

11 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

ZUckerberg is Zuckerberg.  Li is not

moreover zuckerberg is private , Li is govt 

no comparison at all, man

Based on this alone anyone else would've been crossed out based on low eq, disrespect etc. But this fella got infinite immunity card