Dp26 5th Gear January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 If my wife fell prey to a scam like this and loses money, she will definitely be more sad than me. and I won’t be upset with her, just be sad together with her. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 7 minutes ago, mikk123 said: you think app is safe meh...the hacker are tooooo smart nowadays... it may not be safe if you anyhow click any hyperlink or install any apk files where hackers can gather the details in the your phone. This is what happened to the ocbc incident. this is why the old and gold rule is never click any untrusted websites. For banking or purchases made online, make sure there is an S behind the http hyperlink. If you dont click on these links or install any untrusted apk files, there is nothing much they can do. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 1 hour ago, Cheesey74 said: I think that guy got more than 500k cos we usually have at least 2 banks nowadays, yeah this guy either damn frugal or father rich lor. But 500k at 43yrs old is peanuts in mcf, waiting for T2 to respond.... wahaha huh... u all need at least 2 bank one account ah? all cup overflowth... i feel very low ses now..... 😟... though i know it all along. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 1 hour ago, Scion said: yah incredible.. 500k in 20 years average 2k per mth at the start surely couldn't save 2k... in later career need to be high earner to make up also need to be very disciplined to save this amount Maybe kenna 4D or Toto leh. Never know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 1 hour ago, Scion said: yah incredible.. 500k in 20 years average 2k per mth at the start surely couldn't save 2k... in later career need to be high earner to make up also need to be very disciplined to save this amount people dun even buy new phone lor, use phone that's too old to support banking apps. dun buy car, dun go tour, change gadgets/appliances only when spoil (maybe once every 5-10 years). can lar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 1 hour ago, Ganwb79 said: His wife blamed him for being stupid and falling prey to the scam and lost all his (also hers) money? aiyo, never practice no blame culture. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 3 hours ago, Windwaver said: I know but his wife wasn't the one that scammed his $$ Money can't buy happiness, but no money, sure unhappy. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 19, 2022 Author Share January 19, 2022 1 hour ago, Ganwb79 said: His wife blamed him for being stupid and falling prey to the scam and lost all his (also hers) money? 1 hour ago, Dp26 said: If my wife fell prey to a scam like this and loses money, she will definitely be more sad than me. and I won’t be upset with her, just be sad together with her. Yeah, I thought that should be the case but article says they quarrel over the incident. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 19, 2022 Author Share January 19, 2022 41 minutes ago, Etnt said: people dun even buy new phone lor, use phone that's too old to support banking apps. dun buy car, dun go tour, change gadgets/appliances only when spoil (maybe once every 5-10 years). can lar May not be old phone, but be a phone that is security compromised e.g. rooted or jail break. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 1 hour ago, Stratovarius said: it may not be safe if you anyhow click any hyperlink or install any apk files where hackers can gather the details in the your phone. This is what happened to the ocbc incident. this is why the old and gold rule is never click any untrusted websites. For banking or purchases made online, make sure there is an S behind the http hyperlink. If you dont click on these links or install any untrusted apk files, there is nothing much they can do. That’s why but Apple phone Their App Store is they look thru the code and pass one. If use official app then kena bad people steal then much easier to say is bank fault so bank compensate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 1 minute ago, Windwaver said: May not be old phone, but be a phone that is security compromised e.g. rooted or jail break. Can jail break phone is 高手 liao 高手 tio jiak is ownself probkem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dp26 5th Gear January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 Sometimes that’s why its better to keep your phone as original as possible. And the apple ecosystem is probably more restricted/secured than playstore and all these helps I guess. But of cos be vigilant be very vigilant cos the first point of failure is always the human being 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 3 hours ago, Playtime said: While I realllyyyyy feel for his loss. But man... to have $500k saving at only 43 years old.. that's amazing. Yah that is 10 years of annual income for SG median income. Maybe sold house got cash....? Maybe run a profitable business. Maybe job pays well. Key here is smart (astute) people can also get cheated. Scammers took opportunities when people let guard down on least expected stuff. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Etnt Turbocharged January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 2 minutes ago, Dp26 said: Sometimes that’s why its better to keep your phone as original as possible. And the apple ecosystem is probably more restricted/secured than playstore and all these helps I guess. But of cos be vigilant be very vigilant cos the first point of failure is always the human being yah, you can have the most tekong lock in the world but it's useless if you hand out the key to strangers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged January 19, 2022 Author Share January 19, 2022 DBS scam? 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 7 minutes ago, Windwaver said: DBS scam? vIsiting siol. hahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 12 minutes ago, Windwaver said: DBS scam? Kin!!!! Poh mata Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 19, 2022 Share January 19, 2022 (edited) I don't understand how this person lost 500k in 1 calendar day, unless the scamming took over 2 calendar days. UOB has a 100k hard limit daily of transfer everday for the average joe. It's not a limit that can be raised over the app. SCB/Maybank for example is 200k. OCBC one can set so high? Most banks i know have such a limit. I don't even know how to raise such a limit. You can't even pay billing organisations if u exceed the limit of the day. Edited January 19, 2022 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...