should gov give COE rebate to households with many children?

Wind30

I think the most important question for this proposal is "why a car is needed for families with 3 children?"

If one can't answer that question properly, i think we should just stop there. 

4 minutes ago, Scion said:

yah lor

actually no need all public transport, over here, they can trial by having free MRT for 2-3 workdays and see the response

see how many car owners willing to not drive and take MRT

but i just dun see they will do this 😁 even if MRT is nationalised liao

There is a reduced fare before 7:45 am.  I wonder how many ppl took it up.

COE can subsidize but buses and trains should not!

We want to incentivize people to be hardworking

and have cars and kids and not be lazy and milk the subsidy by taking public transport.

If people want to take transport that belongs to the public they should pay full price and not raid our reserves.

If seniors have free public transport they will ride the buses and trains all day to enjoy the free aircon and people going to work and school will have no place.

What kind of well thought out policy is that?

5 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

I think the most important question for this proposal is "why a car is needed for families with 3 children?"

So they don't have to take 2 taxis

One car instead of 2 taxis will reduce congestion by half!

People might say I am bias

as I have 3 kids

and sell cars.

Anyone with 3 kids and don't sell cars

object to this fine policy?

6 hours ago, badlammy said:

Yayy, then my parents can help me buy and I save 20% COE.

Cannot lah, need to add a caveat like only children 12 years of age and below are counted. Otherwise you see a lot of ah-gong ah-mah crowding the car showrooms next.

As families with young children are the ones most in need of convenient transport. Once kids hit their teens or adulthood, it's more of a luxury to get chauffeured around.

8 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

Exactly. I don’t see the link. My P3 son takes the SBS bus home from school.

if the starting point is the children needs to be ferried everywhere in a private car, then Singaporeans need to be re-educated to think otherwise 😃😃😃

25 minutes ago, RadX said:

Like Germany reduced public tpt fares by 90% so less ppl drive

do that here and it’s “robbing the reserves “

"Subsidising will lead to over consumption" - yeah people will take MRT the whole day going nowhere, or take to longest route to work... 😄

13 minutes ago, yishunite said:

Why does anyone need transport? Can walk what. Why does anyone need to own a flat? Can rent what. All convenience is subjective by nature.

The question is the same as all economic questions: how should we allocate something that has limited supply?

Give to the ultra-wealthy for their 3rd/4th car? Give to families? Reserve all for PHV/business? Whatever your opinion you are privileging one grp over the other... is money the only fair way to decide? So by that example we should also use money to decide public housing and school places and how many children ppl can have?

Exactly. Current allocation is 100% by money. Richest win. Should we have a skew? We have skew in a lot of stuff like public housing, income taxes, healthcare benefits, subsidies, etc, etc, etc… 

Should car ownership have a skew? Or should it be richest win?

Edited by Wind30

37 minutes ago, Stratovarius said:

I don’t think I need to prove car is needed for families with 3 children to implement this proposal. All I need to show is that the policy will or likely to lead to a better outcome for Singapore. 
I feel a slight skew in coe allocation will lead to

1) cars having more average passengers per trip

2) an easier life for big families with young children as in cheaper COEs

3) more expensive coes for rest of us

4) no change in coe revenue.

is that considered a better outcome?

Edited by Wind30

just to throw a spanner into the whole discussion.

a little off topic but it shows the mindset of the receiving party

there are quite some out there who have sold the free textbooks received under the financial assistance scheme

Edited by Mkl22
  • Angry 1

I would love to hear what people with 3 or more kids have to say!

Who cares if people with just 1 or 2 kids don't like the idea.

They don't need a car. They can just use taxi or PHVs.

Its great that people are recycling school textbooks.

Reuse, Re purpose and Recycle.

Its the green way.

49 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Honestly, if u put your thinking to it, what is a better way? A sincere question. If there is a better way to allocate coe, i would like to know.

I think many of us have made suggestions here. And your latest one isnt bad either.

The real problem to tackle is not a singular one, its multi faceted.

COE, ERP, Road tax, Loans, Motor insurance, EVs all rolled into one. 

i dont profess to have a solution, but my better way is the way which many people may hate. 🫢😎🤣