Matoonia 6th Gear September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 Reminds me when i got my first flat almost 20 years ago.. was a 5 room with study 120+ sqm. Our ID got many quirky ideas, like ceiling speakers in the living area maciam like hotel, converted study to a $5k full glass mahjong room, and even had a 2m long koi pond in our living room lol. Almost everything is built in, including beds. Spent close to $100k which is maybe close to $200k today.. Our house was also featured in some ID magazine think square rooms or something.. Then after 5 years wanted to sell cos really not conducive with small kids very hazardous, but a flat with 3 livable rooms + study becomes only a master bedroom and a common room damn hard to sell. During those time still newspaper ads no propertyguru so I rem some of those come to see the flat was shocked cos on paper it was supposed to be 3 rooms + study lol. had such a hard time selling in the end the buyer was also a newly wedded couple who plays mahjong. Heard they covered up the koi pond to become shoe rack lol. ↡ Advertisement 4 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 54 minutes ago, Arogab said: 如果没钱就要认命 只可以羡慕, 妒忌, 恨.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 10 minutes ago, Matoonia said: Reminds me when i got my first flat almost 20 years ago.. was a 5 room with study 120+ sqm. Our ID got many quirky ideas, like ceiling speakers in the living area maciam like hotel, converted study to a $5k full glass mahjong room, and even had a 2m long koi pond in our living room lol. Almost everything is built in, including beds. Spent close to $100k which is maybe close to $200k today.. Our house was also featured in some ID magazine think square rooms or something.. Then after 5 years wanted to sell cos really not conducive with small kids very hazardous, but a flat with 3 livable rooms + study becomes only a master bedroom and a common room damn hard to sell. During those time still newspaper ads no propertyguru so I rem some of those come to see the flat was shocked cos on paper it was supposed to be 3 rooms + study lol. had such a hard time selling in the end the buyer was also a newly wedded couple who plays mahjong. Heard they covered up the koi pond to become shoe rack lol. Lucky you, still able to find buyer who like the reno you got. Lol. Like i said, i dont like owner to reduce the original bedrooms that the flat have. Like from 2 become 1 or 3 become 2 etc. And also those owner who add in extra ''bedrooms''. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 1 minute ago, 13177 said: Lucky you, still able to find buyer who like the reno you got. Lol. Like i said, i dont like owner to reduce the original bedrooms that the flat have. Like from 2 become 1 or 3 become 2 etc. And also those owner who add in extra ''bedrooms''. Lol. I know of home owners how add "extra bedrooms" for purpose of renting out to more tenants under 1 roof. My apartment 2nd floor corner unit, some years back, for a period of time, had many unsavoury characters walking in and out of the unit and loud noises and conversations deep into the middle of the night in a quiet neighbourhood. Walked pass the ground floor looking up can see the living room and part of the walls, can see the living room shrunk by half compared to similar unit on the same stack. A few of us made complaint to the MC and the MC helped us made a complain to BCA. Within weeks, the partitions were removed and those tenants moved out. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 2 minutes ago, Vratenza said: I know of home owners how add "extra bedrooms" for purpose of renting out to more tenants under 1 roof. My apartment 2nd floor corner unit, some years back, for a period of time, had many unsavoury characters walking in and out of the unit and loud noises and conversations deep into the middle of the night in a quiet neighbourhood. Walked pass the ground floor looking up can see the living room and part of the walls, can see the living room shrunk by half compared to similar unit on the same stack. A few of us made complaint to the MC and the MC helped us made a complain to BCA. Within weeks, the partitions were removed and those tenants moved out. Such illegal configuring to the existing layout of the house and add in many ''extra bedrooms'', no matter it is private or HDB, must complain to the authority, cannot give chance. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Author Share September 12, 2022 29 minutes ago, Matoonia said: Reminds me when i got my first flat almost 20 years ago.. was a 5 room with study 120+ sqm. Our ID got many quirky ideas, like ceiling speakers in the living area maciam like hotel, converted study to a $5k full glass mahjong room, and even had a 2m long koi pond in our living room lol. Almost everything is built in, including beds. Spent close to $100k which is maybe close to $200k today.. Our house was also featured in some ID magazine think square rooms or something.. Then after 5 years wanted to sell cos really not conducive with small kids very hazardous, but a flat with 3 livable rooms + study becomes only a master bedroom and a common room damn hard to sell. During those time still newspaper ads no propertyguru so I rem some of those come to see the flat was shocked cos on paper it was supposed to be 3 rooms + study lol. had such a hard time selling in the end the buyer was also a newly wedded couple who plays mahjong. Heard they covered up the koi pond to become shoe rack lol. So what happened to your new place? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 (edited) 11 minutes ago, 13177 said: Such illegal configuring to the existing layout of the house and add in many ''extra bedrooms'', no matter it is private or HDB, must complain to the authority, cannot give chance. i will also immediately complain to BCA. no need give chance. Edited September 12, 2022 by Mkl22 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 1 hour ago, Ct3833 said: 300k reno consider 有钱,if i had 300k i will feel very rich Bro, you have more than that lah, just keep inside pocket hot hot only. 😁I just simply comment that 如果没有钱就要任命 only😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 41 minutes ago, Tianmo said: 只可以羡慕, 妒忌, 恨.. 羡慕就好啦😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 5 hours ago, 13177 said: I dont like to buy resale flat when the owner has modified, tear down or change the original layout of the house. I like house to be in stock condition. Buying such flat, need to reinstate back walls etc, waste lots of money on reno. So even the flat price is right and location is good, i also would not buy. I like to buy stock cos I can tell owner everything so old, need to drop price. 😁 Then I modify to fit my needs. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 5 hours ago, Tianmo said: my personal experience. 1st flat was a 4 rm flat, which we spent $30K on basic reno because we wanted to sell after MOP. My direct neighbor was a 5 rm and they spent about $100k (bro was ID, so many stuffs on cost only) on reno. When we competed our MOP, we started marketing our flats almost at the same time. Took me 3 weeks to sell my unit, while they have to extent the sales period after 6 months, last heard finally sold at a price far below their asking price. Once I asked them how was the selling going, and was told those who like didnt want to pay the asking price, those ok with price didnt like how they rearrange the flat layout. When he told buyers he spent $100K on reno, someone told him, "You spend the money on your reno, and you already enjoyed it, now to me that reno is worthless, I am not going to pay for your $100K reno." that's true. But if they meet their 有缘人,then they can huat a bit. But chances are low. Every buyer will want to lowball the price. Up to see if seller has holding power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 5 minutes ago, Kxbc said: that's true. But if they meet their 有缘人,then they can huat a bit. But chances are low. Every buyer will want to lowball the price. Up to see if seller has holding power. Now property market is seller market, if buyer lowball the price, there are still tons of others buyer want to buy. So seller now has holding power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 1 hour ago, Matoonia said: Reminds me when i got my first flat almost 20 years ago.. was a 5 room with study 120+ sqm. Our ID got many quirky ideas, like ceiling speakers in the living area maciam like hotel, converted study to a $5k full glass mahjong room, and even had a 2m long koi pond in our living room lol. Almost everything is built in, including beds. Spent close to $100k which is maybe close to $200k today.. Our house was also featured in some ID magazine think square rooms or something.. Then after 5 years wanted to sell cos really not conducive with small kids very hazardous, but a flat with 3 livable rooms + study becomes only a master bedroom and a common room damn hard to sell. During those time still newspaper ads no propertyguru so I rem some of those come to see the flat was shocked cos on paper it was supposed to be 3 rooms + study lol. had such a hard time selling in the end the buyer was also a newly wedded couple who plays mahjong. Heard they covered up the koi pond to become shoe rack lol. I am almost same as you but reno not as extensive as yours. But I found a 有缘人 who liked what we did. To the buyer, it was good as no need to do any reno. She just needed to bring in her suitcases and can stay liao. We even cleaned up the place swee swee to stage it for sale. Closed the deal in 2 weekend viewing sessions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matoonia 6th Gear September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 2 hours ago, 13177 said: Lucky you, still able to find buyer who like the reno you got. Lol. Like i said, i dont like owner to reduce the original bedrooms that the flat have. Like from 2 become 1 or 3 become 2 etc. And also those owner who add in extra ''bedrooms''. Lol. Last time newlyweds 年少无知, nvr consider resale just want yolo have nice lomatic pad also good to host many parties at hm. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged September 12, 2022 Share September 12, 2022 4 hours ago, 13177 said: For big size flat like EA/EM, if do not reno extensively the house like looks too bare and not nice, a bit like wasted the big size of the house. Lol. Individual preference I feel. For me, the rare large luxury of a space should all the more be emphasized, rather than filled up. Allow for circulation of movement, gradual accumulation of clutter, emphasize the sight lines and things further away. Don't break up the vista and sense of space. Its not the same as leaving it bare, because you will still have your carpentry, lighting, and functional pieces of furniture. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator September 13, 2022 Share September 13, 2022 17 hours ago, Windwaver said: Why so many singles huh? These days really difficult to find a soulmate? This world is crooked. hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 13, 2022 Share September 13, 2022 (edited) 1 hour ago, kobayashiGT said: Salah thread... 😅😁 Edited September 13, 2022 by mersaylee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 13, 2022 Author Share September 13, 2022 7 hours ago, kobayashiGT said: This world is crooked. hahaha. OK, internal moderator is different from external moderator ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...