Carbon82 Moderator January 16, 2023 Share January 16, 2023 Let talk about Bak Kwa here. The previous threads are all few years old liao. My wife's staff managed to help us to get quite a few boxes this year, after queuing up for slightly over half a day. Their pineapple bak kwa is really 肉干皇 can get quite tough if not eaten fresh, but their marinate is better than 美真香 imo. Never tried 五香 bak kwa before. ↡ Advertisement 16 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 16, 2023 Share January 16, 2023 Hear so much on this pineapple bah kwa every CNY, and yet still no try before. So what is so special on this bah kwa as compared with those pork bah kwa? Should find time to go buy during normal days. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic January 16, 2023 Share January 16, 2023 Yearly BCH gift from my elder sister. 1 kg. Eat slowly. 😅 Frankly, we are able to eat to our heart's content the various brands anytime, no need wait for CNY period. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic January 16, 2023 Share January 16, 2023 (edited) 6 hours ago, PSP415 said: Yearly BCH gift from my elder sister. 1 kg. Eat slowly. 😅 Frankly, we are able to eat to our heart's content the various brands anytime, no need wait for CNY period. https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/stompers-parents-paid-5760-for-1kg-of-bak-kwa-but-it-weighed-only-5766g Did you weighted the package before consumption? 😁 Looking at the weight I reckon should be an oversight by the packers. Edited January 16, 2023 by Kopites 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged January 16, 2023 Share January 16, 2023 am still struggling with my herbal ham,bone in and kurubuta ribs save money on CNY 🙈🙉🙊 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 16, 2023 Share January 16, 2023 Bak kwa? Cant be choosy for what people want to give me😆 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 16, 2023 Share January 16, 2023 (edited) 9 hours ago, 13177 said: Hear so much on this pineapple bah kwa every CNY, and yet still no try before. So what is so special on this bah kwa as compared with those pork bah kwa? Should find time to go buy during normal days. Lol. Pineapple juice is a meat tenderizer. Some people in the West use it to tenderize tougher cuts of beef. Edited January 16, 2023 by Lala81 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 Supercharged January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 5 minutes ago, Abracadabra said: Expensive stuff, I avoid buying but wife always insist on getting during CNY. I simply cannot understand why. On normal days when it's cheaper don't buy 'cos never into eating it, when prices skyrocket before CNY, rush to get. Why ahh??🤔 Tradition 😀 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 23 minutes ago, Abracadabra said: Expensive stuff, I avoid buying but wife always insist on getting during CNY. I simply cannot understand why. On normal days when it's cheaper don't buy 'cos never into eating it, when prices skyrocket before CNY, rush to get. Why ahh??🤔 For the feel of festival season lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 BCH can use NS credits. I bought some before Xmas to snack. If you have credits left it is the best time to use them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Pineapple juice is a meat tenderizer. Some people in the West use it to tenderize tougher cuts of beef. yup. so give you shittier quality of pork and use lots of tenderizer to make it soft. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 1 hour ago, Cheesey74 said: Tradition 😀 local businessman created "tradition". thus not a true tradition for me. same with our local lou hei. its all about the money like christmas presents. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 37 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: local businessman created "tradition". thus not a true tradition for me. same with our local lou hei. its all about the money like christmas presents. Bak Kwa originated from air-dried meat in China. It is done in December of Lunar Calendar. Just nice for Lunar Calendar New Year. Lou Hei is a Cantonese dish that originated in China. But OG dish is different from what we have in Malaysia and Singapore. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 (edited) 4 hours ago, Kopites said: https://stomp.straitstimes.com/singapore-seen/stompers-parents-paid-5760-for-1kg-of-bak-kwa-but-it-weighed-only-5766g Did you weighted the package before consumption? 😁 Looking at the weight I reckon should be an oversight by the packers. No. It is actually easy to tell its 1kg or half kg when one lift it up. May not be exact to it but more or less. Yes, that incident is lightly an oversight. Can happen when very busy and lots of different orders with many staff handling and the one packing may not be alert. I wonder who's the lucky one who went off with 1kg when paid for only half kg. No complaint why gave so much, so heavy. Arm very pain to carry. 😂😂😂 Stay safe Cheers Edited January 17, 2023 by PSP415 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 2 hours ago, Abracadabra said: Expensive stuff, I avoid buying but wife always insist on getting during CNY. I simply cannot understand why. On normal days when it's cheaper don't buy 'cos never into eating it, when prices skyrocket before CNY, rush to get. Why ahh??🤔 All about marketing. Red colour, nice packaging, connotes abundance .. Unhealthy, actually 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
boonhat_91 6th Gear January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 My favourite is hock moon hiong from malaysia. Cheap(er than sg) and good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 2 hours ago, Abracadabra said: Expensive stuff, I avoid buying but wife always insist on getting during CNY. I simply cannot understand why. On normal days when it's cheaper don't buy 'cos never into eating it, when prices skyrocket before CNY, rush to get. Why ahh??🤔 CNY eat then got "fewling". ang ang huat huat. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 17, 2023 Share January 17, 2023 9 minutes ago, Stratovarius said: CNY eat then got "fewling". ang ang huat huat. have sex also need fewling mah. Or else no fewling, got feel song meh? haha ↡ Advertisement 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...