Atrecord Supersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 National brand under Panasonic umbrella which owns by Matsushita? No leh. It's a foreign brand, think European... Now we know why its call a pcb.... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 No leh. It's a foreign brand, think European... Pea-Cheah board right? can also....i was thinking in the line of hokkien expletive.... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 can also....i was thinking in the line of hokkien expletive.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic December 31, 2016 Share December 31, 2016 Yeah, my home setup very similar to yours... One big kdk in living room, 2 smaller kdk in the rooms. One other room is my entertainment room, did not install ceiling fan as most likely to switchon aircon when playing games or movie night. I had an incident with one of the smaller kdk, one day it cannot be operated (on/off/speed) via remote. Tried the other remote from the other room's kdk to no avail. Can just switch on and off via the wall switch which defaults to the lowest noisiest setting. I already condemn it to a possible remote sensor failure or pcb failure. A few weeks later, i decided to do a thorough clean of the fan, cleared quite a lard amt of dust balls from the gap between the motor unit the the housing structure. Next thing I know the remote function begins working again! I suspect that those dustballs might have been blocking the remote sensor port. Something for people here to consider if they have similar issues with their remote controlled fans. I have 3 KDK ceiling fans at home. I larger one in living room, and 2 smaller ones in 2 bedrooms. Last yr before CNY, when the fans were 4 yr old, one small one conked off. From 3 speed, becomes like only one same slow speed, super noisy. Called KDK, they sent a technician, who is a freelancer. He checked, said PCB spoilt, quoted i think about $80 for a new PCB, plus labour/transport of $30. LL asked him changed. I asked him why KDK, which is supposed to be v reliable, so lousy, 4 yr spoilt, he said nowadays all things are like that. Then he asked me whether I've heard of a certain brand (which I can't remember now) that makes rice cookers. I had in fact heard of the brand before when younger. He sarcastically said that brand used to make solid rice cookers, never spoilt one... and so the company folded years ago When done and walking past the other room with the KDK fan, he asked me whether wanna check. I said that one got no noise, and speed also got 3 distinct speeds, but asked him check anyway. He took remote, pressed all buttons, and showed me the sleep mode is spoilt! I don't even use that mode!!! He told me same thing the PCB some part spoilt, so it was like that. Also said if change together, save the transport/labour component as only charged once... Also told me it's possible the old PCB might give more/different problems later. LL a second time, asked him changed also. Finally, walking towards door, past my living room, he asked if wanna check that too. I was like heck lah, check lah. That one we didn't suspect anything. He took remote pressed... then wryly told me to test speed 4 and 5, asked me can i tell there's no difference!!! Told me all problems are cos PCB spoilt, so ended up also asked him to change, and the PCB is bigger and cost $10 more. oh, btw, he said (when I asked) that yonks ago all the schools KDK fans all no spoil, cos all is use the knob on the wall turn types. Those won't spoil. All these use remote, the PCB surely will spoil one day 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 1, 2017 Share January 1, 2017 I have 3 KDK ceiling fans at home. I larger one in living room, and 2 smaller ones in 2 bedrooms. Last yr before CNY, when the fans were 4 yr old, one small one conked off. From 3 speed, becomes like only one same slow speed, super noisy. Called KDK, they sent a technician, who is a freelancer. He checked, said PCB spoilt, quoted i think about $80 for a new PCB, plus labour/transport of $30. LL asked him changed. I asked him why KDK, which is supposed to be v reliable, so lousy, 4 yr spoilt, he said nowadays all things are like that. Then he asked me whether I've heard of a certain brand (which I can't remember now) that makes rice cookers. I had in fact heard of the brand before when younger. He sarcastically said that brand used to make solid rice cookers, never spoilt one... and so the company folded years ago When done and walking past the other room with the KDK fan, he asked me whether wanna check. I said that one got no noise, and speed also got 3 distinct speeds, but asked him check anyway. He took remote, pressed all buttons, and showed me the sleep mode is spoilt! I don't even use that mode!!! He told me same thing the PCB some part spoilt, so it was like that. Also said if change together, save the transport/labour component as only charged once... Also told me it's possible the old PCB might give more/different problems later. LL a second time, asked him changed also. Finally, walking towards door, past my living room, he asked if wanna check that too. I was like heck lah, check lah. That one we didn't suspect anything. He took remote pressed... then wryly told me to test speed 4 and 5, asked me can i tell there's no difference!!! Told me all problems are cos PCB spoilt, so ended up also asked him to change, and the PCB is bigger and cost $10 more. oh, btw, he said (when I asked) that yonks ago all the schools KDK fans all no spoil, cos all is use the knob on the wall turn types. Those won't spoil. All these use remote, the PCB surely will spoil one day Heng my fan is those manual pull the string one 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 1, 2017 Share January 1, 2017 Heng my fan is those manual pull the string one Wu eia bo bro? Your toilet also still using the pull string to flush? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 1, 2017 Share January 1, 2017 Wu eia bo bro? Your toilet also still using the pull string to flush? Real one15 Years Liao That time the kdk guy discouraged me from taking the remote one saying + 120 for remote Last time kdd got those flower pattern lights cover facing down Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 1, 2017 Share January 1, 2017 Yeah, my home setup very similar to yours... One big kdk in living room, 2 smaller kdk in the rooms. One other room is my entertainment room, did not install ceiling fan as most likely to switchon aircon when playing games or movie night. I had an incident with one of the smaller kdk, one day it cannot be operated (on/off/speed) via remote. Tried the other remote from the other room's kdk to no avail. Can just switch on and off via the wall switch which defaults to the lowest noisiest setting. I already condemn it to a possible remote sensor failure or pcb failure. A few weeks later, i decided to do a thorough clean of the fan, cleared quite a lard amt of dust balls from the gap between the motor unit the the housing structure. Next thing I know the remote function begins working again! I suspect that those dustballs might have been blocking the remote sensor port. Something for people here to consider if they have similar issues with their remote controlled fans. hmm... this is useful info. I'm not bold enough to consider repairing one myself (like what you did for the photos), but if it's just cleaning, then maybe can try one day. But a bit tough as the fans in the bedrooms are right on top of beds leh, so it's not easy to reach. In fact, i was amazed the not-very-tall technician could stretch - and balance - to reach the fans when the ladder is at the side/edge of the beds. I was keeping my fingers crossed he dun fall onto my bed lor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged January 1, 2017 Share January 1, 2017 I diy-ed my living room KDK ceiling fan last year. Your hook looks like the one I bought from KDK. If you are fixing onto a concrete slab, best to use a eye ring raw blot. For false ceiling, the mounting on the ceiling grid to ensure the fan is secured is very important. Fan turning movement cause vibrations and mounting is very important. Also need to be careful to ensure when you lift your hands, it is below the fan blades. Sometimes when playing with kids, don't lift them high around ceiling fans. I like ceiling fans, it is one of the most effective cooling appliances for our weather. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pinobii Hypersonic January 1, 2017 Share January 1, 2017 Thanks for the advice! thinking of buying this to replace: DC motor and power consumption more than half my current model V60WK Will try to do a direct swap myself Just got this installed for parents and it is working well, wind is not bad 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deividz 5th Gear January 2, 2017 Share January 2, 2017 Want to share that KDK is cheaper in MY compared to SG. Same models but they put a different code name. https://www.kdk.sg/products/ceiling-fan/remote-controlled/m11su.html http://www.kdk.com.my/product/k11z1-es/ 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 2, 2017 Share January 2, 2017 Good share! Anyway, I don't frequently go up north. So I have to settle for a Qoo10 deal at $390 delivered (after $60 cart coupon and some shop coupon) with 1 yr local KDK warranty. I might buy 2 smaller 4-blade model from MY to replace the smaller ones in my other 2 rooms later part of 2017 on my road trip up to KL/Camaron/Melaka/JB. Want to share that KDK is cheaper in MY compared to SG. Same models but they put a different code name.https://www.kdk.sg/products/ceiling-fan/remote-controlled/m11su.htmlhttp://www.kdk.com.my/product/k11z1-es/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 2, 2017 Share January 2, 2017 yeah same experience! my masterbedroom's one is right smack over my bed....so need to clean blade by blade from the side. That's also the reason why I had always been putting off cleaning the centre stack which requires me to stretch further.....good thing though if I fall I will just fall onto something soft... hmm... this is useful info. I'm not bold enough to consider repairing one myself (like what you did for the photos), but if it's just cleaning, then maybe can try one day. But a bit tough as the fans in the bedrooms are right on top of beds leh, so it's not easy to reach. In fact, i was amazed the not-very-tall technician could stretch - and balance - to reach the fans when the ladder is at the side/edge of the beds. I was keeping my fingers crossed he dun fall onto my bed lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 2, 2017 Share January 2, 2017 Got a question: Please look at this pic: Does the current ceiling hook look like it is universal? With the newer KDK model in mind. I just realised that the lazy installer just stuff the white safety wire into the hole on the ceiling.. Not attached to anything! Grrrhh.... Your ceiling looks like it's ceiling board. Did the install placed a piece of wood where the anchor points are for the wood? The wood is for additional support for the anchoring points as over time, the vibrations from the fan will weaken the grip on the ceiling board. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic January 2, 2017 Share January 2, 2017 Heng my fan is those manual pull the string one Apart from the 3 KDKs, I have 4 other ceiling fans at home. All those pull string ones. Now all use chain in fact. Of the 4, 3 of them the chains kana yanked out before... so also not so heng. All these done by my growing son. Big problem when they grow from not-tall-enough to just-reaching stage, and will attempt to pull n pull 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 2, 2017 Share January 2, 2017 Yups,during my renovation 5yrs ago, specific instruction is for the false ceiling to be reinforced at those points in preparation for ceiling fans. The separate installation of the fans were done by the electrical contractor. Your ceiling looks like it's ceiling board. Did the install placed a piece of wood where the anchor points are for the wood? The wood is for additional support for the anchoring points as over time, the vibrations from the fan will weaken the grip on the ceiling board. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 2, 2017 Share January 2, 2017 Apart from the 3 KDKs, I have 4 other ceiling fans at home. All those pull string ones. Now all use chain in fact. Of the 4, 3 of them the chains kana yanked out before... so also not so heng. All these done by my growing son. Big problem when they grow from not-tall-enough to just-reaching stage, and will attempt to pull n pull ð The chain now rusty Liao :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altis72 3rd Gear January 3, 2017 Share January 3, 2017 After buying the fan..Anyone got good installer contact ? I need a plumber contact too..Pls share. Thks I used the installers from Ntuc Income Home Services. They are professional and reliable imho. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...