Volvobrick Hypersonic March 2, 2022 Share March 2, 2022 16 minutes ago, Micb said: Need some advices from the experienced cyclist here. I have been riding a bifold Dahon Curve D3 (16") with 3 speed sturmey archer for some time now. Normally, I will just fold and place it flat in my car trunk, with the rear derailleur chain side facing up. Now I'm seriously thinking to get a replacement foldie. As I'm reluctant to get an external bike rack (too troublesome to install and remove), with the main criteria of placing in the boot, would you think getting a 1. trifold type - pike/3sixty type with 6 speed sturmey archer OR 2. bifold type - Sava/Crius type with 9 speed external gearing would be more suited for the above placement criteria. Kum Sia (thank you) for sharing ! https://wheretheroadforks.com/16-vs-20-inch-the-best-folding-bike-wheel-size/ Maybe this article will help in the decision. Trifold wheels should be 16 inch only. I have a bifold but I think I only folded it once! ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 2, 2022 Share March 2, 2022 38 minutes ago, Micb said: Need some advices from the experienced cyclist here. I have been riding a bifold Dahon Curve D3 (16") with 3 speed sturmey archer for some time now. Normally, I will just fold and place it flat in my car trunk, with the rear derailleur chain side facing up. Now I'm seriously thinking to get a replacement foldie. As I'm reluctant to get an external bike rack (too troublesome to install and remove), with the main criteria of placing in the boot, would you think getting a 1. trifold type - pike/3sixty type with 6 speed sturmey archer OR 2. bifold type - Sava/Crius type with 9 speed external gearing would be more suited for the above placement criteria. Kum Sia (thank you) for sharing ! Depends on your needs. Trifold heavier and 16" wheels. But more compact. Bifold lighter by at least 2kg and 20" wheels. Not as compact. I have both and enjoying the best of both worlds. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear March 2, 2022 Share March 2, 2022 (edited) I am addicted to Wheel Angel built wheels, installed on my Tyrell with White Industries T11 hubs. Also installed 3rd set on my Brompton BE S6L that belong to my wife now still progress hopefully got it before end of this week. Edited March 2, 2022 by Knighthunter 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knighthunter 4th Gear March 2, 2022 Share March 2, 2022 @Micb Rather than Pikes or 360 I will consider Birdie.....another good bike much better than your option 1 and fold as compact as bike at your option 1. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged March 2, 2022 Share March 2, 2022 (edited) 10 hours ago, Knighthunter said: @Micb Rather than Pikes or 360 I will consider Birdie.....another good bike much better than your option 1 and fold as compact as bike at your option 1. Agreed to certain extend.. to me important what the reason you want to fold.. Fold for storage then most foldable should fit the bill.. of cos some fold more compact than others.. Fold for commute i will get the lightest trifold.. Brompton or equivalent fold well but not the lightest.. unless the new T-line but oso much more expensive. Edited March 2, 2022 by Ody_2004 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 @Ody_2004 I have the previous Brompton half titanium. It is still around 12kg😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 6 minutes ago, inlinesix said: @Ody_2004 I have the previous Brompton half titanium. It is still around 12kg😂 The new one claimed abt 10kg wor.. to get weight down on a brompton is super expensive.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 14 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said: The new one claimed abt 10kg wor.. to get weight down on a brompton is super expensive.. I think I can match it by removing rear rack. I don’t intend to reduce the weight further. It is easier to get a road bike below 6kg (more ex than Brompton). 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Micb 5th Gear March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 Thanks all for the info. One of my main concerns which type - internal gear hub (sturmey archer) or those external gear with derailleur , will be more suited if I have to place the bike flat in the car boot (sedan). Also, noted on the increased folding size for the 20" models. Hope I can get one which is more sturdy with flat placement, and less tuning or maintainance on the drive train. Anyone carries his/her foldie in the boot regularly? Which gear type do you own? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 My Crius 9-speed bi-fold (10kg) is in my boot all the time. I can get it out and unfolded in 3 mins. Same when it comes to folding. As my car is a sedan (Merc W212), I keep it horizontally with chain upwards. The only bad things are the chain get dirty, so I have a protective sheet on the boot floor. And the "click-click" sound/rattles when I drive bumpy roads from the bicycle wheel spinning and paddles hitting sides of boot. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic March 3, 2022 Share March 3, 2022 3 hours ago, Ody_2004 said: Agreed to certain extend.. to me important what the reason you want to fold.. Fold for storage then most foldable should fit the bill.. of cos some fold more compact than others.. Fold for commute i will get the lightest trifold.. Brompton or equivalent fold well but not the lightest.. unless the new T-line but oso much more expensive. One trooper takes BMW huh? 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 Since this is a car forum, I wanna ask how you guys pack your bikes in your car. I am driving sylphy sedan and I have 3 bikes to pack inside car. External mounting is not an option I will take. Currently I have 2 foldables and 1 kids mtb, all can go inside boot plus front passenger seat. Rear seats reserved for passengers. I am riding crius velocity and have been looking to get something else but restricted by how to load in car. Can a full size bike go into sedan boot just removing 1 wheel, or need 2 wheels removed? How about mini velo? Else, I have to stick to another foldable, have been looking at Birdy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 5 hours ago, Columbian78 said: Can a full size bike go into sedan boot just removing 1 wheel, or need 2 wheels removed? How about mini velo? Else, I have to stick to another foldable, have been looking at Birdy. Sedan not possible to load a road bike without removing front wheel.. some even remove front wheel oso cannot load.. Mini velo will need to remove front wheel too.. one of the reason i drive Superb is the big boot with foldable seat. I just put full bike in. Birdy is nice to ride but i don't like how it fold. If just occasionally u load in car guess ok lah.. I find Crius fold is neater than birdy.. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 6 hours ago, Columbian78 said: Since this is a car forum, I wanna ask how you guys pack your bikes in your car. I am driving sylphy sedan and I have 3 bikes to pack inside car. External mounting is not an option I will take. Currently I have 2 foldables and 1 kids mtb, all can go inside boot plus front passenger seat. Rear seats reserved for passengers. I am riding crius velocity and have been looking to get something else but restricted by how to load in car. Can a full size bike go into sedan boot just removing 1 wheel, or need 2 wheels removed? How about mini velo? Else, I have to stick to another foldable, have been looking at Birdy. I don't think sedan can load full size MTB. Need to remove both wheels and ensure the rear seats can fold down. Get a foldable MTB? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 I ever fit a MTB into the trunk of a Mazda 3, just need to remove the front wheel. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 2 hours ago, Ody_2004 said: Sedan not possible to load a road bike without removing front wheel.. some even remove front wheel oso cannot load.. Mini velo will need to remove front wheel too.. one of the reason i drive Superb is the big boot with foldable seat. I just put full bike in. Birdy is nice to ride but i don't like how it fold. If just occasionally u load in car guess ok lah.. I find Crius fold is neater than birdy.. My kid size mtb already need to remove front wheel then can fit into boot, so i know adult bike cannot. I am not keen to have to remove rear wheel so I basically give up normal bike liao. Maybe will look at mini velo. Your superb is sedan version? I am not changing car soon but future I thinking of wagon like superb or octavia if i still in today situation. I previously drive a honda jazz and I can squeeze in a full size mtb without removing wheels, with the rear seats down. My current situation is that my car boot is permanent storage for my 2 foldables. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 I have had wagons for more than 10 years. Once used to the practicality (swallows all bikes without removing wheels/folding) will never go back to sedan (if it's the only car). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear March 4, 2022 Share March 4, 2022 1 hour ago, Adrianli said: I don't think sedan can load full size MTB. Need to remove both wheels and ensure the rear seats can fold down. Get a foldable MTB? My sedan cannot fold down rear seat, and anyway the whole bench is reserved for passengers, so bike must be in boot or front passenger seat. Foldable MTB is refering to? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...