Sim Lim Square

Forte3737

seriously.........the eating abilities of the farmer workers.............sibei scary......... [laugh] [laugh]

Yes, nvr nvr challenge them when it comes to eating n eating 😃👍

my colleague told me that if want to try luck at SLS, start from level 3 & above. Level 1 is deadly & level 2 is still too big a gamble.

This reminds me of the classic quote for this case

"No amount of CASE barking or police action can stop Jover Chew from scamming more victims, only we the people can"

Using numbers to explain away the shady image of SLS is plain nonsense.

It is like saying, there are 10 gunmen roaming the streets of Orchard Road and it’s ok. . .

• SINGAPORE: There are almost 500 retailers at Sim Lim Square, but around 10 black sheep among these, said Sim Lim Square's Chairman Raymond Chua at a press conference on Friday (Nov 7). That means the errant retailers - some of whom have attracted a barrage of bad press over the past week - form less than 2 per cent of the total retailers, said the mall's management.

I just bought a dot matrix printer from Video-Pro. It's online price is about $10 cheaper (even after paying extra $6 for delivery) than when I went there to ask.

I also manage to buy 2-ply printer paper there, where nowhere else seemed to be selling.

So, while there are black sheep, certainly not everyone is one.

Edited by Kb27

it's like saying in the usa ... school shooting is not serious ... 1-2 times per year only ... don't panic

it's not about the frequency ... it's not right means not right ... solve it ... mitigate the risk ... don't throw stats

Using numbers to explain away the shady image of SLS is plain nonsense.

It is like saying, there are 10 gunmen roaming the streets of Orchard Road and it’s ok. . .

• SINGAPORE: There are almost 500 retailers at Sim Lim Square, but around 10 black sheep among these, said Sim Lim Square's Chairman Raymond Chua at a press conference on Friday (Nov 7). That means the errant retailers - some of whom have attracted a barrage of bad press over the past week - form less than 2 per cent of the total retailers, said the mall's management.

my colleague told me that if want to try luck at SLS, start from level 3 & above. Level 1 is deadly & level 2 is still too big a gamble.

May i humbly suggest you dun even try, simply becoz all of them are reading in NOW !!!

It 's a plague, once Ebola strike, every1 kenna. [lipsrsealed][furious][lipsrsealed]

From HWZ:

That Joker chew sure dun know where he is hiding now, everybody here wants a piece of him - The hunter has become the hunted.

Well well well, Case seems to take action by asking Police to investigate into scam allegation, in d first case, the Police will point finger to whose dept should do the dirty job - it has become a merry-go-round circus.

Our System sure Boleh than Bolehland.

This reminds me of the classic quote for this case

"No amount of CASE barking or police action can stop Jover Chew from scamming more victims, only we the people can"

A leopard cannot change its spots. Even if this ah beng is banned from SLS, he can easily set up shop at lucky plaza, chinatown, etc and it's business as usual.

As long as sg's pathetic consumer laws are as is n overseen by toothless tiger n polis bo chap, many more victims will be scammed. If the authorities cannot protect us, the people will.

A leopard cannot change its spots. Even if this ah beng is banned from SLS, he can easily set up shop at lucky plaza, chinatown, etc and it's business as usual.

As long as sg's pathetic consumer laws are as is n overseen by toothless tiger n polis bo chap, many more victims will be scammed. If the authorities cannot protect us, the people will.

I am sure the laws will change soon... This case will probably expedite the urgent change.

Just give them some time to amend and pass the law in parliament...

In the meantime, police report have been made, and I am sure SPF will search for this Ah Beng and bring him to lim kopi... Once this is done, this will act as a deterrent for others too...

We have to remember that without laws, and once ppl power comes in, we may have riots here and there, as everyone deem that laws are in their hands...

Ok, Let's have some faith in our juridical system :))

I am sure the laws will change soon... This case will probably expedite the urgent change.

Just give them some time to amend and pass the law in parliament...

In the meantime, police report have been made, and I am sure SPF will search for this Ah Beng and bring him to lim kopi... Once this is done, this will act as a deterrent for others too...

We have to remember that without laws, and once ppl power comes in, we may have riots here and there, as everyone deem that laws are in their hands...

Ok, Let's have some faith in our juridical system :))

I'll believe it onli when I see it. This SLS scams hv been happening for donkey years n all we hear are 'excuses' why it's difficult to eradicate.

If they can swiftly pass laws against shisa which is a recent phenomenon, it's BS why such scams are considered 'legal'......

Edited by Soya

I'll believe it onli when I see it. This SLS scams hv been happening for donkey years n all we hear are 'excuses' why it's difficult to eradicate.

If they can swiftly pass laws against shisa which is a recent phenomenon, it's BS why such scams are considered 'legal'......

the thread started in Apr 2013, now still happening, means nobody want to take action lah

The Vietnam case quite viral around the world.

Now, heard on radio, Shan says there are laws to hammer that SLS guy.

Now wake up already . .

Don't expect the gahmen to protect you. If you get whacked on the street, it is a civil case and mata don't even want to bother themselves. You think kenna cheated/scammed can get restitution?

Just do your own homework which are the reliable retailers and shop there. Don't be tempted by a few dollars savings from an unknown shop.

Given the international broadcasting of this news esp so in China and Vietnam, this could have accelerated the passing of the laws..

Let's just wait awhile more...

Anyway, we all know how bad these shops operate in SLS, so all the more we should tell our foreign friends to forget abt going to SLS for deals lor...

So far, we have not heard of locals falling prey nor do we see FTs residing here too ....

So, much have to be done in educating the tourists... that's where the embassy come in, and thats where the SLS management is doing...

Lastly, if everything fails, the law will catch up, and thats where the garmen will be correcting in due course..

May i humbly suggest you dun even try, simply becoz all of them are reading in NOW !!!

It 's a plague, once Ebola strike, every1 kenna. [lipsrsealed][furious][lipsrsealed]

Haha , thx . Prev when i go at my last 2 monotors , was at lev 5 . But thats only after chking my bro whos been there since secondary sch to giv a call to establish the path 1st .

Imo buy pc laptop is like buy pi car . Rather pay more for an older name .they have a reputation to protect .

It is TIME to regulate all sales personnel, Govt did it on Insurance Agent, Property agent, Tour guide Agent . . .etc

What about Car Showroom agent, Used car dealer ? ( Most Important ) and any other sales tactics deployed by sales gimmick in e-commerce sales launch & exhibitions with hidden agenda. Consumer has the right to protect themselves against profiteering and scamming by unscrupulous retailers, not merely " Joker Chew " they are many more JoverChew wannabe hanging around, waiting for things to subside, then strike the tourist unknowingly. Wipe that SMUG face off Jover, You're an utter disgrace to the whole of Singapore

Sunday Times reporter, John Lui quoted : Could there be a T-shirt to complement the one about how " Singapore is a Fine City " ? How about " In Singapore, I shopped Till I dropped to my Knees! " [thumbsup]

Used car sales men talk about in-house loan and MAS are regulated on such policy, in the first place thy haven't gone through any regulation exercises, let alone assist customer in financial prudence, if one idiot car buyer is a noob, then I guess it a gone case , Do we need another car dealer snooking on innocent car buyer? To this group of Scammers, thy think a sucker is born every minutes, Think harder, the more juicy news being brought against SLS, P.P, LUckY PlaZa or any Black hole you're hiding, The Authorities will flush you out. [whip]

I'm sure Your Time is Up.

Given the international broadcasting of this news esp so in China and Vietnam, this could have accelerated the passing of the laws..

Let's just wait awhile more...

Anyway, we all know how bad these shops operate in SLS, so all the more we should tell our foreign friends to forget abt going to SLS for deals lor...

So far, we have not heard of locals falling prey nor do we see FTs residing here too ....

So, much have to be done in educating the tourists... that's where the embassy come in, and thats where the SLS management is doing...

Lastly, if everything fails, the law will catch up, and thats where the garmen will be correcting in due course..

Despite not agreeing to vigilante act, I hav to say thanks to them for exposing how inadequate our law in protecting consumer.

Wait till law catch up means 50 yrs later?

If 1 cannot protect oneself, no law could. Keep on waiting loh!!