Felipe 3rd Gear July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 transport ministar was doing that for a while (let's not go there whether he wayang or not ), but at at least he got down from his tower for a while.. If transport minister can get down from his astronomical salary, that will be the real deal ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 Many people hate the FTs for taking away our jobs and lowering the wage levels, are not understanding the big picture. The cruel truth is, we need them. Look at other countries, which one is not taking in foreign workers ? More than a decade ago, when i worked in united states in a very large world wide organisation, many of the professional level workers were from all over the world, china, india, sgp, hong kong .. you name it. People only see the problem the influx of ft brought along, but they fail to realise that, we have no choice. back then our population was too small to sustain our economy and if not for the ft policy, wages wil be driven up high artificially (and not due to producitivity but labour crunch), and we will lose out in competitiveness to the rest of the world. result will be our economy will experience negative growth and companies shut down, people lose job. so for the bigger good, we had to go for the necessary evil, i.e. to take in FTs , so as to enjoy a bigger economic pie in the world. It is a painful measure but it ensured our progress for years. Put simply: Singapore does not have any resource other than human resource. Cut that off and we are gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 家家有本难念的经 My chinese lousy but i think we all understand the above.... We are all striving hard, for various reasons. Some for our families, some to impress others, some for ourselves. Just remember not to lose yourself in the process. Integrity is one of the most under-rated virtues of this world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 (edited) The reason we need to import so much cheap labour is that there is no financial incentive for companies to replace cheap labour with investments in automation and innovation. Take service and construction, they are still using the same old labour intensive methods that were used 20 years ago. Where is the improvements in productivity? Companies need to discard the short term view but why should they when the flood gates for cheap labour is wide open. As for people that say - Singaporeans only want white collar jobs. Thats very true and lets not be hypocrites, if they really think blue collar jobs are so fantastic then let their children do it. Or are the people that saying this also pushing their kids to do well in school so that they also get white collar jobs? I am sure these are also the people that say exams are not important. Edited July 3, 2013 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 agree. i do know of two very low income family, they rent their house frmo gahment at a token fee (redhil), and the children didnt need to pay school fees. however, this two families dont have a father, and the mothers (whom i kow) every day play mahjong and go genting once a while, and totally heck care their children. their children all run amok until cid go arrest at the house, and another one chalked up few k of phone bills to malaysia (donno for what), and dropped out of school. my pointis, they need to be resposible for their lives instead of just rely on the gahment to provide foc since they are poor. if they indulge in self-pity and blame the whole world yet not pull themselves up and out of the pit they are in, there is a limit to anyone that can help; they'll be forever in this state. similar situation in other countries, like the aborigines in australia, and even malaysia. hands long long and expect aid yet getting drunk everyday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 If transport minister can get down from his astronomical salary, that will be the real deal the boss give mah.. take loh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 (edited) The people that always tell us how rich they are and always look down on others who are not so well off tell us not to lose ourselves in the process. These people need to follow their own very good advice. Or are they really too lost to see? I hope not. Edited July 3, 2013 by Jamesc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 The reason we need to import so much cheap labour is that there is no financial incentive for companies to replace cheap labour with investments in automation and innovation. Take service and construction, they are still using the same old labour intensive methods that were used 20 years ago. Where is the improvements in productivity? Companies need to discard the short term view but why should they when the flood gates for cheap labour is wide open. As for people that say - Singaporeans only want white collar jobs. Thats very true and lets not be hypocrites, if they really think blue collar jobs are so fantastic then let their children do it. Or are the people that saying this also pushing their kids to do well in school so that they also get white collar jobs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 The people that always tell us how rich they are and always look down on others who are not so well off tell us not to lose ourselves in the process. These people need to follow their own very good advice. Or are they really too lost to see? I hope not. JAMES!!!! JAMES!!!! JAMES!!!! JAMES!!!! JAMES!!!! JAMES!!!! JAMES!!!! JAMES!!!! JAMES!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 Many people hate the FTs for taking away our jobs and lowering the wage levels, are not understanding the big picture. The cruel truth is, we need them. Look at other countries, which one is not taking in foreign workers ? More than a decade ago, when i worked in united states in a very large world wide organisation, many of the professional level workers were from all over the world, china, india, sgp, hong kong .. you name it. People only see the problem the influx of ft brought along, but they fail to realise that, we have no choice. back then our population was too small to sustain our economy and if not for the ft policy, wages wil be driven up high artificially (and not due to producitivity but labour crunch), and we will lose out in competitiveness to the rest of the world. result will be our economy will experience negative growth and companies shut down, people lose job. so for the bigger good, we had to go for the necessary evil, i.e. to take in FTs , so as to enjoy a bigger economic pie in the world. It is a painful measure but it ensured our progress for years. you talked like wage is the only business cost. Import of foreign workers drove down the wage. Business owner started to have more profit. Then the landlord asked for a higher rent and take away any extra profit the business owner made. This is especially true in Singapore where the available space for business is limited. Thus import of foreign worker just transfer the wealth from the worker to the landlord. It is not surprised that the period of stagnant wage in the past ten years in Singapore coincided with the period of rapid raising rent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 you talked like wage is the only business cost. Import of foreign workers drove down the wage. Business owner started to have more profit. Then the landlord asked for a higher rent and take away any extra profit the business owner made. This is especially true in Singapore where the available space for business is limited. Thus import of foreign worker just transfer the wealth from the worker to the landlord. It is not surprised that the period of stagnant wage in the past ten years in Singapore coincided with the period of rapid raising rent. UP for you!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VolksBarSG Clutched July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 Many people hate the FTs for taking away our jobs and lowering the wage levels, are not understanding the big picture. The cruel truth is, we need them. Look at other countries, which one is not taking in foreign workers ? More than a decade ago, when i worked in united states in a very large world wide organisation, many of the professional level workers were from all over the world, china, india, sgp, hong kong .. you name it. People only see the problem the influx of ft brought along, but they fail to realise that, we have no choice. back then our population was too small to sustain our economy and if not for the ft policy, wages wil be driven up high artificially (and not due to producitivity but labour crunch), and we will lose out in competitiveness to the rest of the world. result will be our economy will experience negative growth and companies shut down, people lose job. so for the bigger good, we had to go for the necessary evil, i.e. to take in FTs , so as to enjoy a bigger economic pie in the world. It is a painful measure but it ensured our progress for years. You're missing the point lah bro. We have TOO many. Yes, FT is good IN MODERATION. Right now we have too many, and they are kicking out locals from jobs, leading to a mass jobless rate amongst locals. FTs can run anywhere they want because they are not anchored to this country, but locals cannot what. Tio tied down by reservist, HDB flat and relatives, and cost of living going up up and up while the purchasing power of their salaries going down down and down. How? You tell me how we are not 'understanding the big picture' lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 You're missing the point lah bro. We have TOO many. Yes, FT is good IN MODERATION. Right now we have too many, and they are kicking out locals from jobs, leading to a mass jobless rate amongst locals. FTs can run anywhere they want because they are not anchored to this country, but locals cannot what. Tio tied down by reservist, HDB flat and relatives, and cost of living going up up and up while the purchasing power of their salaries going down down and down. How? You tell me how we are not 'understanding the big picture' lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 You're missing the point lah bro. We have TOO many. Yes, FT is good IN MODERATION. Right now we have too many, and they are kicking out locals from jobs, leading to a mass jobless rate amongst locals. FTs can run anywhere they want because they are not anchored to this country, but locals cannot what. Tio tied down by reservist, HDB flat and relatives, and cost of living going up up and up while the purchasing power of their salaries going down down and down. How? You tell me how we are not 'understanding the big picture' lah. Agreed, nothing against FTs but if too many of them then become no good liao. Some of the jobs here confirm locals can do, example like those executive/engineer but i noticed many companies even get FTs to do such job?! Dont tell me no locals want to do these jobs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 You're missing the point lah bro. We have TOO many. Yes, FT is good IN MODERATION. Right now we have too many, and they are kicking out locals from jobs, leading to a mass jobless rate amongst locals. FTs can run anywhere they want because they are not anchored to this country, but locals cannot what. Tio tied down by reservist, HDB flat and relatives, and cost of living going up up and up while the purchasing power of their salaries going down down and down. How? You tell me how we are not 'understanding the big picture' lah. How many is "too many"? How many is "moderation"?? Is moderation the perfect balance when all local PMETs, barring none, hold middle to high corporate positions, earn $20k a month salaries, drive contis and live in private condos? Talk c0ck lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 Many people hate the FTs for taking away our jobs and lowering the wage levels, are not understanding the big picture. The cruel truth is, we need them. Look at other countries, which one is not taking in foreign workers ? More than a decade ago, when i worked in united states in a very large world wide organisation, many of the professional level workers were from all over the world, china, india, sgp, hong kong .. you name it. People only see the problem the influx of ft brought along, but they fail to realise that, we have no choice. back then our population was too small to sustain our economy and if not for the ft policy, wages wil be driven up high artificially (and not due to producitivity but labour crunch), and we will lose out in competitiveness to the rest of the world. result will be our economy will experience negative growth and companies shut down, people lose job. so for the bigger good, we had to go for the necessary evil, i.e. to take in FTs , so as to enjoy a bigger economic pie in the world. It is a painful measure but it ensured our progress for years. you the same as govt we already repeat this until sian we need FWs for our construction, F&B, garbage clearing, shipyard, etc, but not the overflowing of those foreign PMETs (aka FTs) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 but not the overflowing of those foreign PMETs (aka FTs) Why not? Are you absolutely sure that Singaporeans can do the jobs that these FTs do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VolksBarSG Clutched July 3, 2013 Share July 3, 2013 How many is "too many"? How many is "moderation"?? Is moderation the perfect balance when all local PMETs, barring none, hold middle to high corporate positions, earn $20k a month salaries, drive contis and live in private condos? Talk c0ck lah. You PAP IB isit...might as well ask me if I want my meals in a hawker centre, a food court or restaurant lah. Moderation means that no local PMETs have to be retrenched in order for these foreigners to have a job. Moderation is when all the local PMETs all have jobs and the FTs can also have jobs without displacing any locals. Understand not? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...