Grab/Ryde issues and charges

Yamapi

since insurance claim so difficult against Private Hirer Company, Ah Cow should propose all wanabe Private hirer (driver) to BUY own Personal Insurance in order to drive on the road

Will this happen in SG?

Uber halts services in Taiwan after racking up $50 million in fines in a month

http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/uber-halts-services-in-taiwan-after-racking-up-50-million-in-fines-in-1-month

TAIPEI - Global car-hailing firm Uber is putting the brakes on its ride-sharing services in Taiwan after racking up NT$1.1 billion (S$49.9 million) in fines within a month in the wake of a new law prohibiting unlicensed taxi services.

The company said in a statement on Thursday (Feb 2) it was suspending its operations with effect from Feb 10 with the hope of  "restarting dialogue" with the government to "innovate the transport technology" in Taiwan. 

The decision came amid reports that the Directorate General of Highways, an arm of the Taiwan's Transport Ministry, had ordered Uber to cease operations.

Taiwan media reported that the company had been slapped with total fines of some NT$1.1 billion since Jan 6, when an amendment to the Highway Act that raises the maximum fine for illegal passenger transport services to NT$25 million took effect.

Calling the pullout a "tough decision", Uber said it is "an ordinary citizen that is facing unprecedented penalties for providing passengers with a safe ride".

It also said that the government is "moving away from embracing innovation and 21st century trends in transportation".  

The latest move comes ahead of the launch of the company's taxi services under its UberTaxi platform later this month. The launch is expected to go ahead.

Since Uber launched its service in Taiwan in 2013, it had made 15 million trips, the statement added. 

Some one million people in Taiwan have downloaded the Uber app and there are 10,000 active drivers.

Ceasing its ride-sharing services in Taiwan is the latest setback for Uber, which has faced pushback from regulators and drivers in many other markets. It pulled out of China last August and suspended its taxi and van services in Hong Kong."

Won't la. Govt here very encouraging of Uber and Grab.

They appreciate that these private companies are helping them take the load off the public transport system. Plus earn their money through all the cars they buy.

took uber home yesterday as it just started to rain. While the driver was polite, he was driving faster than I would have liked and did not keep a safe distance several times ..................... in the pouring rain !  :mellow:

From my understanding .....

Grab - Temasek has a share in this

Uber and Grab changing the taxi service landscape

Many established taxi companies are suffering because of years of high-handedness towards their drivers.

All except NTUC declared how many taxis are sitting in their dock and not being rented out. But inside source said that there are about 6000 NTUC sitting in their docks looking pretty. In addition, many drivers will be giving up their rental and go into hourly rental after CNY or when their contract is over.

Our buses also not that great. If they had better connectivity, the public don't have to rely on taxis except in emergency or situations when they are in a hurry.

Our trains, the past years of neglect on maintenance will take sometime to solve, poor planning may mean some stations need to be torn down and rebuild because cannot accommodate extra carriages.

Like many things in Singapore, Singapore is small, if there is a will, problems can be quickly solved.

Somebody is dragging their feet.......

• Praise 17

Won't la. Govt here very encouraging of Uber and Grab.

They appreciate that these private companies are helping them take the load off the public transport system. Plus earn their money through all the cars they buy.

if govt twist the policy creating a "same" level of playing field with taxi companies, can uber or grab sustain in the long run.

Edited by Jp66

took uber home yesterday as it just started to rain. While the driver was polite, he was driving faster than I would have liked and did not keep a safe distance several times ..................... in the pouring rain !  :mellow:

my experience (albeit 3 times only), the Uber drivers all drive slowly. Maybe cos they can be driving longer shifts than they are used to compared to cabbies. Newbie drivers also all not so familiar with their car.

I'm used to cabbie driving style lol.

I took from the north to dempsey. I can appreciate my cabbie shortening my ride time lol.

The reverse way, i was literally yawning.

TAXIS: FAST and RECKLESS

UBER: SLOW, BLUR and RECKLESS

my experience (albeit 3 times only), the Uber drivers all drive slowly. Maybe cos they can be driving longer shifts than they are used to compared to cabbies. Newbie drivers also all not so familiar with their car.

I took from the north to dempsey. I can appreciate my cabbie shortening my ride time lol.

I think part of the reason is alot of Uber drivers treat the car like theirs. Whereas for taxi, the car isn't theirs.

I guess he is driving fast because since it is raining, he is likely to get more passengers and there is surge pricing. He need to get you home faster and pick up the next passenger and make more money :) 

if govt twist the policy creating a "same" level of playing field with taxi companies, can uber or grab sustain in the long run.

Hard to say. As it is a lot of things are different between taxis and Uber/Grab.

Fares are different

Surcharges are different

Rental rates are different

Requirements are different (Uber/Grab anyone can drive, taxi driver need license)

What constitute a safe distance? 1 mtr from car in front, one car length, two, or five? And faster is how fast? 10 km/hr above recommended, 20, or 120 km/hr?

I guess many drivers have a habit not to keep a safe distance, regardless uber or taxi or private owners. This is why accident rate is high on our road.

What constitute a safe distance? 1 mtr from car in front, one car length, two, or five? And faster is how fast? 10 km/hr above recommended, 20, or 120 km/hr?

*safe distance means have to keep 10 car lenght. He was travelling 5kmh above*  [furious] 

errr, when it's raining cats and dogs and driver still accelerates to close in whenever there is a 2 car gap ? And he also chose to step on the gas when passing through water puddles on the PIE. He might have PS4 on his car, but how would I know that ? Anyway, if a passenger feels this way, means is too fast liao lor ....................  [laugh]

you talk about specifics, have you ever considered the road and traffic conditions ?? Or you are one that abides by the speed limit on Lane 1 ?  [flowerface]

I guess many drivers have a habit not to keep a safe distance, regardless uber or taxi or private owners. This is why accident rate is high on our road.

same everywhere lah. But when ferrying passengers, gotta be more careful, especially in heavy rain !!! Roads are wet and most will bo chup their tyres. Esp cab tyres, get all those cheapo china brands 

Edited by Othello

TAXIS: FAST and RECKLESS

UBER: SLOW, BLUR and RECKLESS

Many uber or grab follow the GPS blindly. Think the 7000 a month idea is more attactive then SAF promo for career.

Many of them have no situation of road condition ahead. The other day I went to yew tee industries workshop area And saw many lion who have lost the battle on the road, lying at the road side waiting to access for repair. All in a pretty bad condition for repair.

Edited by Rustyz

*safe distance means have to keep 10 car lenght. He was travelling 5kmh above*  [furious] 

errr, when it's raining cats and dogs and driver still accelerates to close in whenever there is a 2 car gap ? And he also chose to step on the gas when passing through water puddles on the PIE. He might have PS4 on his car, but how would I know that ? Anyway, if a passenger feels this way, means is too fast liao lor ....................  [laugh]

you talk about specifics, have you ever considered the road and traffic conditions ?? Or you are one that abides by the speed limit on Lane 1 ?  [flowerface]

same everywhere lah. But when ferrying passengers, gotta be more careful, especially in heavy rain !!! Roads are wet and most will bo chup their tyres. Esp cab tyres, get all those cheapo china brands 

My guess is you are not a driver. Either that, or you are not a frequent driver. Having said that, Every body's definition of safe driving is different, otherwise, you can consider Taxis Drivers to be the worse lot. Try sitting in a cab in Malaysia. 

Many uber or grab follow the GPS blindly. Think the 7000 a month idea is more attactive then SAF promo for career.

Many of them have no situation of road condition ahead. The other day I went to yew tee industries workshop area And saw many lion who have lost the battle on the road, lying at the road side waiting to access for repair. All in a pretty bad condition for repair.

If the driver does not know the direction on the road, no choice but they need to follow GPS blindly. But some drivers even worst, cause even when passenger direct them to go by certain route, but the driver could argue back and tell you GPS direct them to use the other road?!

yes my wife's nephew ever kena one young driver (i believe he drove under his dad uber account), follow the GPS and refuse to listen, yet he made 3 round inside an estate and couldn't come out  [laugh]  [laugh]

Wrong driver = no insurance leh. 

Still dare to sit?