General Election 2015 - 11 Sep 2015

Where is Kevryn mei mei?

that one is belong to NSP mah................now is aka................No Show Party............... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

one of the many foreigners that wants to rape Singaporeans women and kill Singaporean men.

guess who invited him

post-131345-0-03333500-1440576130_thumb.png

Edited by Staff69

go clubing and went home late... prob still sleeping... [rolleyes]

Maybe she thinking.....................siao liao so many ppl resign...............must be something wrong.................maybe i also better resign............. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Would advise most of us to find out more about out V-shaped population growth.

Many couples are having fewer kids, this is a problem inherent in many advanced societies where many couples choose not to have kids as a lifestyle choice or have fewer kids. My friends and I are equally guilty.

The govt has tried hard to push for more children and it's only slowly showing results.. if we noticed, aside from monetary goodies, more is channelled now to paternity leave, flexi arrangements for mothers (already done for civil service), tax reliefs and hopefully we can see the result in the next decade or so. But certainly not 'now', cos even plants need time to grow and flower.

To me, this is the biggest problem to solve and we can all agree that the solution won't be magical. The govt also wants to have a native singaporean core for Singapore.

Some will blame lky for the stop at 2 policy but we have to remember that at that point, we were developing and not enough resources are at disposal in terms of healthcare, education and housing.

We can also discuss about micro matters about ourselves like having to squeeze on trains or traffic jams but if we can't see the bigger picture about our nations future, then we certainly cannot blame the govt for trying to see it for us.

The foreign workers are here as a tentative measure to cope with labour shortage, ask those companies who have been hiring and you will hear complaints on singaporeans shunning these jobs either cos have to work on weekends or holidays etc. Again, we want new houses but without foreign workers, who to build them? They have to take trains and eat too right?

Those who have worked in management positions probably understand the difficulty of communication as there will always be difference in views across the different stratas of the companies.

Those who are on the operations side will care about their Pay, OT, medical leave, personal training. Some with a more macro view may be scouted to move up.

Mid management will care about meeting targets etc, how to manage operations on a more macro manner as they inch up to higher management.

The top management will helm the direction of the company but will not be able to address every employee complaint on OT etc as it's the health of the company that will ensure jobs for everyone.

It's always easy to play the populist card but there are repercussions. Why must the govt face the flurry of complaints, why not adjust gst back to 5% and win the elections with ease? Why not reduce coe to $1 and win a few more votes?

I fear when people here warn others to be wary of the carrots that the govt is giving out yet are eagerly hoping to reach for the carrots that the opposition is giving out. I'm not sure if those will be free either, unless it's coming from their own pockets.

Why do, for e.g., Ang mohs in the US of A work as construction workers then? Is their pay out of this world? Absolutely not!! But its because it isn't as pathetically low as ours, that's why!!

Since when has the gahment implemented minimum wage policies, or audited whether or not workers are being compensated fairly? No they dont. They continue to let the market shape their policies, instead of shaping policies to ensure the market does not screw around with its citizens. All these led to continual supression of wages, which combined with the opening of our doors, thus allowing FTs/FWs to come here and eagerly take up the pathetically low-paying jobs.

GDP soared. So? Can eat? Can sleep on it? Can sit on the train? I can go on and on, but you get my drift.

Wha Lau Goh talk a lot hor....still harping on the AHPETC matter.

Didn't hear anything from WP on Marine Parade so how come he can conclude they have a certain arrogance. On the contrary, his interview showed a tinge of arrogance but I guess this is peanuts to him [lipsrsealed]

can see from the WP vs NSP incident what..........I also feel WP quite arrogance.................

I'm still waiting for my Swiss Standard of Living and up till now, still can't fulfill the promised ... :yuush:

WC 2010 come and gone and still nothing as promisd... :we-all-gonna-die:

swiss standard? i can maintain my current standard of living already very happy

can see from the WP vs NSP incident what..........I also feel WP quite arrogance.................

In politics, arrogant is must. Otherwise, objective will not be achieved.

He never seem to learn a lesson that never wish for something or it will be fulfilled ......

Yahoo : GE2015: Replace me in Marine Parade? Let them try: Goh Chok Tong on Workers’ Party

“They (Workers’ Party) are stronger than the NSP (National Solidarity Party), there’s no doubt about that. There’s a certain arrogance in them… Will that same arrogance be able to replace me in Marine Parade? Let them try,” said Emeritus Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, during a Wednesday press conference to unveil PAP's Marine Parade GRC candidates.

He was responding to questions about facing up to opposition parties in the coming general election. Earlier, it was announced that besides Goh, the Marine Parade GRC candidates are Social and Family Development Minister Tan Chuan-Jin, Associate Professor Fatimah Lateef, NTUC Fairprice CEO Seah Kian Peng and new member lawyer Edwin Tong, a former MP from Moulmein-Kallang GRC.

The team will most likely contest against both the Workers’ Party and the National Solidarity Party in the coming elections.

Goh, who has been a Member of Parliament in Marine Parade for 40 years, also highlighted the Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC) saga, involving the Workers’ Party.

“I will just tell the Marine Parade residents, look at the way they (Workers’ Party) run their town council’s finances. Look at the way we run our town council’s finances. You decide,” said Goh.

The Workers’ Party has been embroiled in an ongoing saga over the accounts of the town council it oversees.

Among the lapses found in its accounts include lack of governance over transactions with related parties, and poor monitoring of Service and Conservancy Charges (S&CC).

more stories, link : https://sg.news.yahoo.com/ge2015--replace-me-in-marine-parade--let-them-try--goh-chok-tong-on-workers--party-052512376.html

:a-noway::a-noway::a-noway:

Edited by Picnic06

wait wait... she is an MP ... she is not in the cabinet... i think your point will stand if she is a policy maker and all she is interested in doing is walking the ground.. listening the people who may need her help...

credit where credit is due.. she is a MP who is doing her job... and thats what she should be judged based on.

btw... im not in macpherson... juz my 2c tho

She is a Member of Parliament. This is a powerful job cause LHL and entire civil service is accountable to us through her.

She is supposed to be asking the hard-hitting questions during Parliament sessions.

Let me give an example:

A 80year old lady recently hospitalised for a lung infection now has a hospital bill she cannot afford and attends TPL's meet the people session, hoping to get a waiver of bill.

TPL points her to the medical welfare services and say even secures that waiver. Hooray!

But really - the reason why our 80 year old could not pay the bill is because her 50 year old single son was recently retrenched.

Sat TPL notes that - and even got job reskilling programme for the son. Hooray!

All her RC members pat themselves on the back and - we get a nice and genuine photo op. Hooray!

But we should be asking - why was her son retrenched? Why is TPL seeing so many such cases in last few years?

The ONLY person who can even make a systems change - is not you or me (keyboard warrior I admit) or her RC members.

It s TPL and how doggedly she pursues it by fielding hard hitting questions.

So far my perception is only Gerald Giam is on the ball here.

For this I give TPL a C+.

And RC helpers A- for the enormous work they did to write such letters day in day out. :-)

Brother Hotshot85, which country do not have them?

Also, pioneer package only came in recent years after we reached a very high level of achievement and affluence. Otherwise, how can those with something give anything to the folks?

Slow down? Sure. If you don't feel the need to feel slightly threatened by other countries at all. Our 5 million population size is just 0.5% the size of China population. Let's all go back a little in time when we hung on to our reserves for our dear lives. I am fine with that.

Did the shining star on the world map help to feed the numerous ah gongs and ah mas who still collect trash everyday to earn a pitiful amount of money to sustain themselves? There are many numerous examples of how this shining star has failed in improving the lives of "ordinary folks".

There's nothing wrong with slowing down from 300km/h to 200km/h (Or at the very least, upgrade engine first before engine piang). There's been no precedent where a 1st World Country suddenly morphed into Somalia just because their GDP dropped, that's just repurposed bovine waste.

Stop spreading misinformation man.

Jokes aside...............I seriously hope to see SDP send in 1 or 2 candidates into parliament.................then we get to see the different between WP and SDP..............and what are their agendas.............and how they perform............I wouldn't be surprise SDP may grow faster than WP..............they are after all more aggressive...........

and then we get to see ....................My 3 kingdom............. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

If at all, prof tambyah

GotF oru mWhip mah...

Siang ka pager

I resonate w bro myplix

Good civil engagement here abd even more civil thsn press conferences haha

She is a Member of Parliament. This is a powerful job cause LHL and entire civil service is accountable to us through her.

She is supposed to be asking the hard-hitting questions during Parliament sessions.

Let me give an example:

A 80year old lady recently hospitalised for a lung infection now has a hospital bill she cannot afford and attends TPL's meet the people session, hoping to get a waiver of bill.

TPL points her to the medical welfare services and say even secures that waiver. Hooray!

But really - the reason why our 80 year old could not pay the bill is because her 50 year old single son was recently retrenched.

Sat TPL notes that - and even got job reskilling programme for the son. Hooray!

All her RC members pat themselves on the back and - we get a nice and genuine photo op. Hooray!

But we should be asking - why was her son retrenched? Why is TPL seeing so many such cases in last few years?

The ONLY person who can even make a systems change - is not you or me (keyboard warrior I admit) or her RC members.

It s TPL and how doggedly she pursues it by fielding hard hitting questions.

So far my perception is only Gerald Giam is on the ball here.

For this I give TPL a C+.

And RC helpers A- for the enormous work they did to write such letters day in day out. :-)

Asking hard question sounds like the job of opposition MP.

Shouldn't she be working in the system to fix the system?

If at all, prof tambyah

those who know him in person..................sld advice him to go fight out a SMC................I think he stand a better chance ...............than trying to break a GRC.................if any at all.................