Text: Euphonics

Instrument: Euphonium

We only accept: Euros

:grin:

LEcturers:

Atomic

Neutron

Proton

and fyi, those are REAL names for a few lecturers in sgp.  Atomic Leow I believe

actually Thomson JC sounds alright

1. it's located near Upper Thomson Road

2. Thomson was a pioneer who contributed much to Singapore

3. Thomson is ang moh mia, also sounds atas

I like Thomson JC.  Short name, has some local attribute and sounded quite atas.

LEcturers:

Atomic

Neutron

Proton

and fyi, those are REAL names for a few lecturers in sgp. Atomic Leow I believe

Lol, these lecturers probably has an eye for details.

Teach students how to split hair

I thought this is a Singaporean trend. My FT friends don't give weird names to their kids but all my Singaporean friends like to give their kids weird names which most people cannot pronounce. Or they'll take a common name and change the spelling.

That is so bloody lame.........

At the board room...... the sex-cretary ask the director.... Boss... there have been uproar over the new name of the school...... should we change it?? Maybe give it a new name..... what should it be.....

Director" "Nbzz CCB...... and before he can continue, the sex-cretary is out of the door sending emails....   [lipsrsealed]

Optimus JC, stands for good, best and one (in the form of a blue prime mover) who fights for justice against the bad guys...

Also the JC aims to "transform" the boys and girls to men and women.

Notice there are 3 vowels - one for each of the 3 IP schools.

The governing board will be elected from a very selected pool of well respected individuals..... all members of MCF.

The logo of course will be:

post-128138-0-28413900-1451553208.jpg

Edited by Volvobrick

On a more serious note, this issue reveals one of my worries for our future... leadership figures and exclusive committees that insist they are right with no due consideration for reasoned alternative views and counter-proposals. They will just bulldoze through, even off a cliff [laugh] Good luck!

Edited by Sosaria

by Joshua Ip

A newly announced junior college (JC) has sparked much public interest online. Eunoia Junior College, set to start taking students from Catholic High School, CHIJ St Nicholas Girls’ School and Singapore Chinese Girls’ School starting 2017, has captured the attention of netizens here for…its name. Acting Minister for Education Ng Chee Meng explained how the name “Eunoia” has Greek origins and that it means “beautiful thinking” and “goodwill towards others”. However different interpretations of its pronunciations have been made (MOE says its pronounced ‘yoo-noh-iea’), and many netizens can’t help but imagine other names the JC could have had.

Will the name catch on? Here’s what the future might look like.

1. What if the online buzz over Eunoia started a new naming trend among Singapore civil servants?

New university – Eunoiversity

New theme park – Eunoiversal Studios

New park – Eunoisco World Heritage Gardens

2. What should we call Eunoia JC students?

Because “Eunoians” is too obvious.

Avoiding the problem – EJCians

To prevent teenage sex – Eunuchs

Easy to distinguish each batch – First year – Jeunoias, Second year – Senoias.

Cuter – Eunoinois

3. What are Eunoia JC’s students’ favourite things?

Favourite TV Show

My Little Eunoinya

Favorite Football Club

Manchester Eunoited or Liverpool (because Eunoiver Walk Alone)

Favourite Bookstore

Kinokeunoia

Favourite Card Games

Uno

Favourite Board Games

Scrabble (Easy to get rid of all the vowels)

Favourite Food

Quinoia

Favourite Restaurant

Yoshieunoiya

Favourite Swear Word

Kanieunoia

4. What are our favourite mispronunciations of Eunoia?

You know yah!

You nuah

You nao hiah!

Your nai nai!

Yo Yo Ma

You Pinoy ah.

No lah.

Eunos

Innova

5. What are the worst puns about Eunoia JC?

Q: What do you do when Eunoia JC is on fire?

A: Eu noia, noia, foia!

Q: What do you call a thin Eunoia JC student?

A: Eunoirexic

Q: What did the principal of Eunoia JC say over the PA system?

A: Students, I would like to make a Eunoincement

Q: The Eunoia JC student had a burning feeling when he went to pee. What happened to him?

A: Infection of the Eurinoiary tract

Q: What was the result of the MOE meeting on the naming of the new JC?

A: It was Eunoinimous.

Q: What do the MOE civil servants who named the JC want to be now?

A: …also, Eunoinymous.

6. What should Eunoia JC’s school song be?

Flo Rida – Club Can’t Handle Me ft. David Guetta

Eunoia Know how/To make them stop and stare as I zone out/The club can’t even handle me right now

Madison Avenue – Don’t Call Me Baby

Don’t call me baby/You got some nerve, and baby that’ll never do/Eunoia don’t belong to you

Lady Gaga – Bad Romance

Eunoia want you/Eunoia need you/I want it bad, bad romance

7. What else could Eunoia JC have been named?

Mount Sinai JC

Ghim Moh JC

Controver-JC

Chinese Catholic Convent JC (3CJC)

LKYJC

SG50JC

CCA- Erotic Dance

Dres Code- Enough (to cover vital points)

halo, IP student okay... should be SK JC.... Sibei Kiang JC...

Can only use Eurythmics music

Or else only Eurobeat.

Actually St Nicholas and Catholic High are already affiliated to Catholic JC but I guess it is not good enough for them...must be similan IP programme JC then can..

Good for SCGS affiliation cos the poor girls didn't have no affiliation before...

On a more serious note, this issue reveals one of my worries for our future... leadership figures and exclusive committees that insist they are right with no due consideration for reasoned alternative views and counter-proposals. They will just bulldoze through, even off a cliff [laugh] Good luck!

It's been like that for donkey years...

Seems like that Atas School board chairmen is sticking to his gun.

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/eunoia-still-a-meaningful-choice-for-singapores-newest-jc-school-board

SINGAPORE - Amid the scrutiny that Singapore's newest junior college has been under in the last two days since its name was unveiled, some people have defended the name, saying it is a meaningful choice for the school.

Reverend Father Henry Siew, chairman of the school management committee of Catholic High School, told The Straits Times on Wednesday (Dec 30) that "Eunoia" is a "good name" because of its meaning: To have a sound mind and goodwill.

The word has Greek origins and means "beautiful thinking" and "goodwill towards others".

"It may not be a familiar word and it's Greek, but it reflects the world view that we want our students to have as leaders," said Rev Siew, who was consulted in the naming process.

bc1530_fdb9631645b64901a785acce87d5fea6.

Some schools are MORE EQUAL than other schools - Welcome to our Animal Farm...

dont think sgaporeans care much about its meaning in greek when we cant fathom its meaning in English

now is it an english school or greek school

ask the greeks maybe

I think what matter most is the motto and the value it's going to impart to the students.

It's also sign of SG moving towards greater diversity, greater acceptance of something global.

Anything from anywhere, as long sounds right, can already.

Sin Ming is not a good place to house that new JC.

They should place it at Jalan Eunos. This way, the naming of that JC as "Eunoia" will not spark any question.

Hey, but for so many years, I didn't know that Jalan Eunos means "beautiful thinking" and "goodwill towards others".