Samsung Note7

Seriously so far, anyone heard of exploding Note 7 outside of US of A..... none that I know..... whassup with the set in US of A??? They put Iphone 7 battery in Note 7??? KABOOM..... -_-

Wow. The exchange process is very efficient. I got my new phone in less than 10 minutes, including the queue..hassle free..

One phone n 2sets of accessories. Worth it.. haha.

Man sues Samsung after Note7 explodes in his pocket

NEW YORK • Samsung Electronics is being sued by a Florida man who said he suffered severe burns after his Galaxy Note7 smartphone exploded in his front pants pocket.

http://www.straitstimes.com/world/united-states/man-sues-samsung-after-note7-explodes-in-his-pocket

ouch ...  :o

I am very curious to understand how would a handphone battery explode without attaching to any charging cable to a power line. I have experienced the phone being very hot because there are plenty of apps running in he background that drains off the battery but explode means the battery is super high voltage?

Good to know the technical possibility so that we ca avoid such a situation. If it applies to Note7, surely any other phone too.

I am very curious to understand how would a handphone battery explode without attaching to any charging cable to a power line. I have experienced the phone being very hot because there are plenty of apps running in he background that drains off the battery but explode means the battery is super high voltage?

Good to know the technical possibility so that we ca avoid such a situation. If it applies to Note7, surely any other phone too.

Explode means overheat due to high current, and/or short circuit.

It doesn't necessary mean high voltage.

So a faulty lithium battery can develop an internal short without being charged, although the likelihood is lesser.

Explode means overheat due to high current, and/or short circuit.

It doesn't necessary mean high voltage.

So a faulty lithium battery can develop an internal short without being charged, although the likelihood is lesser.

Thank you for your explanation. The lithium battery is a solid state component. I wonder how short circuit could take place unless it completely melt down, which would require very high heat.

Seriously so far, anyone heard of exploding Note 7 outside of US of A..... none that I know..... whassup with the set in US of A??? They put Iphone 7 battery in Note 7??? KABOOM..... -_-

Saw in Hardwarezone there are 2 cases in China liao

http://m.mydrivers.com/newsview/499966.html

quote name="Doppel" post="5935122" timestamp="1474118604"]

I am wondering what Samsung would do to the recalled Galaxy Note 7 sets with the defective batteries?

Roll them over with a bulldozer, or replace the defective batteries and resell them as refurbished sets?

Probably refurbish but sell to 3rd world countries. Like Apple who did that with their recon phones. There is a demand for it. Edited by Xanavi

Thank you for your explanation. The lithium battery is a solid state component. I wonder how short circuit could take place unless it completely melt down, which would require very high heat.

Here's a simple explanation

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-37255127

The problem is the manufacturing of lithium cells. At its current state, it's not completely safe.

Unfortunately, lithium cells provides the most energy dense battery in a small package, and still in high demand.

People complain about short battery time in their phone, but they don't complain about the small lithium battery size, until it explode.

when i use the phone under the sun (like catching pokemon or surf mcf) where it require constant data up/downloading, the battery get heated up till very very hot, even more hot when you use power bank at the same time.

Battery explode is always due to over-heat problem. Same as tyre.

Even car lead-acid battery explode. This usually happen when there's 1 shorted-cell, leading to overcharging of the rest of the 5 good cells. The 5 good cells become super-heated and the next time, you try to crank the engine...boom !

However, lead-acid battery cracks and spill acid into the car, while lithium battery explodes in flame in a self-consuming fire.

Battery explode is always due to over-heat problem. Same as tyre.

Even car lead-acid battery explode. This usually happen when there's 1 shorted-cell, leading to overcharging of the rest of the 5 good cells. The 5 good cells become super-heated and the next time, you try to crank the engine...boom !

However, lead-acid battery cracks and spill acid into the car, while lithium battery explodes in flame in a self-consuming fire.

Is it possible due to unforseen chemical reaction? Rather than just over heating.

when i use the phone under the sun (like catching pokemon or surf mcf) where it require constant data up/downloading, the battery get heated up till very very hot, even more hot when you use power bank at the same time.

Normally when I surf MCF not so bad. But when hor I visit sammyboy, I get so hot and heat up the phone. Jialat... haha

Iphone also have lah. Some cyclist fell off a bicycle and his iphone cracked on impact and burnt his thigh or buttock.

Will still have confidence to use meh? If i had bought and all these bad news out, i'd just exchange it and sell off liao. 

How u know it won't burn down ur home while u sleeping, or it explode in ur pocket??

Pay more shud expect more quality, all these top range samsung, iphones that command the biggest price tags should also come with the MOST QUALITY tio bo?

After spending millions on advertising the new Note 7, to organize a global recall is an absolute nightmare.  I was patiently waiting for the Note 7 but the longer this drags on, many including me will look for alternatives.

I already decided to bypass Note7 for V20 which i believe should be in by this month....

Will still have confidence to use meh? If i had bought and all these bad news out, i'd just exchange it and sell off liao. 

How u know it won't burn down ur home while u sleeping, or it explode in ur pocket??

Pay more shud expect more quality, all these top range samsung, iphones that command the biggest price tags should also come with the MOST QUALITY tio bo?

the last statement is not true most of the times. as long as the MAT of a product is not thoroughly and properly done, chances of it hitting into problems are high.

After the exchange, should be safe already. Not like other phones don't burn. I had another phone which is not a Samsung catch fire while it was charging. Using the original adaptor and cable.