New car recommendations

Wind30

HRV not made in Japan.

Japan version is branded Vezel plus more goodies.

Honda Vezel uses DOHC engine for G, X and S and also hybrid

Honda HR-V is SOHC engine for the 1.5, LX and LX Premium, no news about hybrid HR-V

mai sia suay leh.

now is 2017 liao. ur news is pre July 2016. Bwaahahahahaa

TS started of with 100k budget. Can stretch to 120-130k but I don't think it is recommended to stretch all the way to 140k.

I suspect TS is comfortable with a lot more, he is just being financially prudent.. but he is getting itchy, so he wants to explore..

At the end of the day, it could all be for nothing and he has booked the Corolla.. ;)

I suspect TS is comfortable with a lot more, he is just being financially prudent.. but he is getting itchy, so he wants to explore..

At the end of the day, it could all be for nothing and he has booked the Corolla.. ;)

Yes, why not stretch 10k or 20k if it can get you a car you truly desire? We do not have many 10 years in our lives, early forties means you possibly only have max 3 x 10 years left for driving, by then you will be 70s and may not be a good idea to continue driving.

for every $10-20k, you will experience another level. so do go for the best where your budget permits. but car is not everythng, it is a depreciation asset.

important features? Like the 2 airbags? anything else?

If I can put the budget at 120-130k, is there any other good deals now?

I am early forties. My first car was a Nissan cefiro, then I bought a 2nd car Nissan Slyphy for my wife. Sold off the cefiro when we bought a new place a few years back.

Wondering if I should buy a more Ëxpensive car while I am still errr... young?

Start away from more expensive car since you need to think about it.

HRV not made in Japan.

Japan version is branded Vezel plus more goodies.

Honda Vezel uses DOHC engine for G, X and S and also hybrid

Honda HR-V is SOHC engine for the 1.5, LX and LX Premium, no news about hybrid HR-V

SGCarMart state HRV made in Japan.

http://www.straitstimes.com/lifestyle/motoring/return-of-the-hr-v

3rd September 2016 straits times article, Kah motors HRV is replace with Made in Japan! Thus buy HRV better as their computer speak to you in English not Japanese unless TS know Japanese lastly better OMV.

If you read the article, Kah Motor price close to PI and AD wanna kill PI off business on this model

Edited by D3badge

TS started of with 100k budget. Can stretch to 120-130k but I don't think it is recommended to stretch all the way to 140k.

dude i am juz saying my opinion and i have said the price is 140k.

TS is entitled to hear the opinions and weigh for himself / herself what he or she can afford or cant.

As forumers, we come here to share our opinion to those who sought for it. It is up to the TS to choose

Buy the Jetta... U will not regret. Sub 100k ...

Big drop in price... Let's see if TS will consider conti cars and DSG gearboxes..

My wife had a renault before we got married and the gearbox was horrible.

Is it True that Volvo and Merc is the two most reliable conti cars? I just realised that Merc/Volvo has high overtrades? Maybe they are cheaper than I thought

BMW seems to have bad reviews for reliability...

Buy the Jetta... U will not regret. Sub 100k ...

Defintely. My 2 colleagues, 1 having a 2 years old Jetta  and another 3 yrs old Jetta is

quite comfortable and quiet during the drive. 

Only have small issues like gearbox issues and change the gearbox twice. 

Engine stalled on PIE and nearly cause accident. 

Engine stalled in various locations 4 to 5 times and have to be towed back to Volkswagen workshop. 

Other than that, not much issue overall. 

• Praise 17

Is it True that Volvo and Merc is the two most reliable conti cars? I just realised that Merc/Volvo has high overtrades? Maybe they are cheaper than I thought

Bro

You have to really what's your real budget and also answer who it's for, what's the purpose of your car. You didn't answer that. Once you do, sure go and visit Merc and I can share a sales rep if you need ..

Jumping from City to Merc sounds very random bro ..

And forget the obsession with COE rebate.. How many get it in reality?

Getting the car is more important..

Edited by therock

Just to add on:

If reliability is the main criteria and it's a family use car then you can't really go wrong with the Corolla.

The safety features it has are as good or as poor as any other Thai car.

The Mazda 6 or 3 is much better in this aspect but it's not on your list.

I would also look at Hyundais which are solid safe and a good drive. Fits your budget too.

But decide on your budget and also the purpose of the car first..

Defintely. My 2 colleagues, 1 having a 2 years old Jetta  and another 3 yrs old Jetta is

Engine stalled in various locations 4 to 5 times and have to be towed back to Volkswagen workshop. 

your sarcasm..  [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]

based on recent evidence...  ... .. 

Defintely. My 2 colleagues, 1 having a 2 years old Jetta and another 3 yrs old Jetta is

Funny like hell! Thumbs up

Guys, my nine year old Sylphy is giving me problems so I need to get a new car asap.

I am looking for a reliable and cheap to maintain car for my family, two adults two kids. Don't care how it looks or how the drive is. I usually service with the authorised dealer so servicing is a concern too.

Budget is flexible but looking at the cheaper models unless the more expensive one is very fuel efficient or reliable.

I am thinking like Toyota or Honda. No more Nissan due to bad experience with Sylphy. Toyota Corolla or wish? Honda city?

Going down to the showrooms today. Any suggestions is appreciated

obviously Corolla or Civic is your best option,

reliability and fuel efficiency are top of brands, authorized dealer

don't choice Honda city, I have bad experience with, lack power, noisy engine, A/C compressor problem...