Aloe111 5th Gear July 7, 2017 Share July 7, 2017 (edited) One reason why FXT felt more responsive could be due to the turbo itself. FXT uses twin scroll turbochargers which mitigate low rev turbo lags by having 2 fan blades of different pressure. The turbo pressure is also quite high and can reach 1.5 bar max. The CVT of the FXT are chain driven instead of the regular rubber driven CVT so it is built to handle high torque and doesn't have that rubberband effect. CVT bringing its rev to the optimum so there is no loss of torque. But then it will feel more like a golf cart acceleration...boring for some. Smoother for some. FXT does come with a S sharp mode which the CVT mimicked a 8 speed gear to allow you to rev. While this mode feels faster and more engaging to drive, owners have taken the timings and found it to be slower compared to its original CVT mode. Taken all this into consideration that could be why the harrier felt less urgent compared to the FXT. I believe Harrier also uses twinscroll. And further more its 6AT which is supposedly tuned to fit the engine. And specs to specs the Toyota engine hits max torque earlier. No I think it's primary down to power to weight ratio difference - Fxt is lighter by 60kg if specs are true. And also did those comparing use the sportiest mode in both cars when testing? Did they know Harrier has a power mode cos by SE didn't know until I pointed the button. Edited July 7, 2017 by Aloe111 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aloe111 5th Gear July 7, 2017 Share July 7, 2017 I signed on Monday 3/7 and got the COE 2 days later on 5/7. No loan, no trade in. Car ready only in Nov and registering in Dec. Wonder why BM bid high to get my COE so early this round.I did one day before you. Same terms too. Got CoE for Oct delivery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Docomospur 3rd Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 I signed on Monday 3/7 and got the COE 2 days later on 5/7. No loan, no trade in. Car ready only in Nov and registering in Dec. Wonder why BM bid high to get my COE so early this round. Aside from the margin from your sale as a possible reason, maybe they're expecting COE to go northwards? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Earthboy 4th Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 I believe Harrier also uses twinscroll. And further more its 6AT which is supposedly tuned to fit the engine. And specs to specs the Toyota engine hits max torque earlier. No I think it's primary down to power to weight ratio difference - Fxt is lighter by 60kg if specs are true. And also did those comparing use the sportiest mode in both cars when testing? Did they know Harrier has a power mode cos by SE didn't know until I pointed the button. Lol your se is a new join. The 2 liter is a twin scroll 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bioinformatics 3rd Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 Today's paper: 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 @Xlack, I also booked for the car, though I didn't pay for the $3K. Also, I didn't get the COE in the last bidding. Now I'm all green with envy of you. Grrrh!! Hi LookSkyWalker, Not sure if usual but this was another sore point for me that there is no difference if you had pay 3k deposit or walkin booking 2 friday ago when test drive was available. Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 I believe Harrier also uses twinscroll. And further more its 6AT which is supposedly tuned to fit the engine. And specs to specs the Toyota engine hits max torque earlier. No I think it's primary down to power to weight ratio difference - Fxt is lighter by 60kg if specs are true. And also did those comparing use the sportiest mode in both cars when testing? Did they know Harrier has a power mode cos by SE didn't know until I pointed the button. Hi Aloe111, Think basically sedated tuning of the Harrier Turbo by Toyoya Japan despite same 350nm/227bhp vs 350nm/240bhp .... and this explains the higher FC of fxt at 11.8km/l vs 13.6km/l. Furthermore Harrier Turbo is euro 6 compliant but not the fxt. It is certainly not a mere 60kg weight difference to explain the totally different pick up response. Yes, I test drove twice the harrier turbo and drove the fxt immediately thereafter with all 3 drive modes of the harrier turbo as well as fxt's. With the 2 lower drive mode the Harrier Turbo feel sedated compared to the fxt which was quite effortless and at the final most aggressive mode, it indeed wake up and you will feel the full glory of its 350nm/227bhp but a bit uncontrolled despite improved suspension compared to non turbo version which I drove for 2 week to be familiar. Note however that it defaults to lowest mode and you have to set this final mode. For the fxt, its same default lower gear was effortless in pick up and the final mode did not exhibit the same uncontrolled feel ... hard to describe and only test drive of both will you appreciate this significant difference. Cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 Hi Aloe111, Think basically sedated tuning of the Harrier Turbo by Toyoya Japan despite same 350nm/227bhp vs 350nm/240bhp .... and this explains the higher FC of fxt at 11.8km/l vs 13.6km/l. Furthermore Harrier Turbo is euro 6 compliant but not the fxt. It is certainly not a mere 60kg weight difference to explain the totally different pick up response. Yes, I test drove twice the harrier turbo and drove the fxt immediately thereafter with all 3 drive modes of the harrier turbo as well as fxt's. With the 2 lower drive mode the Harrier Turbo feel sedated compared to the fxt which was quite effortless and at the final most aggressive mode, it indeed wake up and you will feel the full glory of its 350nm/227bhp but a bit uncontrolled despite improved suspension compared to non turbo version which I drove for 2 week to be familiar. Note however that it defaults to lowest mode and you have to set this final mode. For the fxt, its same default lower gear was effortless in pick up and the final mode did not exhibit the same uncontrolled feel ... hard to describe and only test drive of both will you appreciate this significant difference. Cheers. Thus the difference between paper specs vs a test drive 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 BM is more stressful than the buyers now that they have to secure sufficient COE to fullfil the monthly Harrier sales volume that was previously sold by all the PI Harrier combined. I am assuming conservatively 90% of the to-be PI buyers would swing to BM with this new launch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xlack 2nd Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 (edited) I signed on Monday 3/7 and got the COE 2 days later on 5/7. No loan, no trade in. Car ready only in Nov and registering in Dec. Wonder why BM bid high to get my COE so early this round.Huh is that what your SE told you? Nov and Dec delivery? Wow that's super long, somemore u already got the COE. I was advised car ready Jul, register in Aug. But I booked very early. I also no loan no trade in, maybe they bid for those who pay in full cash first? Edited July 8, 2017 by Xlack Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 (edited) Huh is that what your SE told you? Nov and Dec delivery? Wow that's super long, somemore u already got the COE. I was advised car ready Jul, register in Aug. But I booked very early. I also no loan no trade in, maybe they bid for those who pay in full cash first? They bid for those who pay the most, meaning max loans. They always make less with Full cash. It's all about the money Edited July 8, 2017 by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 Hi Aloe111, Think basically sedated tuning of the Harrier Turbo by Toyoya Japan despite same 350nm/227bhp vs 350nm/240bhp .... and this explains the higher FC of fxt at 11.8km/l vs 13.6km/l. Furthermore Harrier Turbo is euro 6 compliant but not the fxt. It is certainly not a mere 60kg weight difference to explain the totally different pick up response. Yes, I test drove twice the harrier turbo and drove the fxt immediately thereafter with all 3 drive modes of the harrier turbo as well as fxt's. With the 2 lower drive mode the Harrier Turbo feel sedated compared to the fxt which was quite effortless and at the final most aggressive mode, it indeed wake up and you will feel the full glory of its 350nm/227bhp but a bit uncontrolled despite improved suspension compared to non turbo version which I drove for 2 week to be familiar. Note however that it defaults to lowest mode and you have to set this final mode. For the fxt, its same default lower gear was effortless in pick up and the final mode did not exhibit the same uncontrolled feel ... hard to describe and only test drive of both will you appreciate this significant difference. Cheers. To say the "lower gear of CVT" actually sounds funny cos CVT is only 1 gear. Just thats it's dynamic and expands according to the power needed. Anyway since both cars and 350nm and has twin scrolls then its not really mechanical limitation. Unlike lower powered cars 60kg different is quite negligible for a 350nm engine. I guess it's the way the throttle is tuned. Perhaps tuned to retard whatever emissions so it can pass the euro 6 lab based tests... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 Not so bad lah, public transport is like using a sex doll. haha. http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/east-asia/in-pictures-japan-men-with-sex-dolls Brother Alim. I said taking public transport is like using my Left hand means it's a little inconvenient, but still get the job done bringing me to point A to B. Nothing sexual hor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aloe111 5th Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 Lol your se is a new join. The 2 liter is a twin scrollMy SE is old bird, but maybe he didn't bother to check out all the features. To say the "lower gear of CVT" actually sounds funny cos CVT is only 1 gear. Just thats it's dynamic and expands according to the power needed. Anyway since both cars and 350nm and has twin scrolls then its not really mechanical limitation. Unlike lower powered cars 60kg different is quite negligible for a 350nm engine. I guess it's the way the throttle is tuned. Perhaps tuned to retard whatever emissions so it can pass the euro 6 lab based tests... 60kg is one med sized Asian adult. Not negligible for 350nm. Try it with one additional pax in Fxt Vs. Harrier again. Or try your own car if similar performance. Or try on your own car with full tank and near empty tank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aloe111 5th Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 (edited) Hi Aloe111, Think basically sedated tuning of the Harrier Turbo by Toyoya Japan despite same 350nm/227bhp vs 350nm/240bhp .... and this explains the higher FC of fxt at 11.8km/l vs 13.6km/l. Furthermore Harrier Turbo is euro 6 compliant but not the fxt. It is certainly not a mere 60kg weight difference to explain the totally different pick up response. Yes, I test drove twice the harrier turbo and drove the fxt immediately thereafter with all 3 drive modes of the harrier turbo as well as fxt's. With the 2 lower drive mode the Harrier Turbo feel sedated compared to the fxt which was quite effortless and at the final most aggressive mode, it indeed wake up and you will feel the full glory of its 350nm/227bhp but a bit uncontrolled despite improved suspension compared to non turbo version which I drove for 2 week to be familiar. Note however that it defaults to lowest mode and you have to set this final mode. For the fxt, its same default lower gear was effortless in pick up and the final mode did not exhibit the same uncontrolled feel ... hard to describe and only test drive of both will you appreciate this significant difference. Cheers. Any difference in tuning should already be accounted for in the torque and power outputs. Maybe the 6AT cmi lah. Maybe Subaru underreport the specs, or toyota over report. Maybe it's just your butt feel. Maybe Fxt noisier and you thought it's faster. Maybe harrier speedo sweep slower because graduations are further apart (true) as it only goes to 180. Short of a topgear style drag race we can only infer Edited July 8, 2017 by Aloe111 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
khinghong 1st Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 who say economy bad.. I see here a number of folks buy in full cash woooowww tok kong leh 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RogerNg_185295 6th Gear July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 Stress is not the word. Overjoyed will be more apt. They have tons of experience in COE issues and it is the least of their worries. Like the Altis, this may propel them to even greater heights. BM is more stressful than the buyers now that they have to secure sufficient COE to fullfil the monthly Harrier sales volume that was previously sold by all the PI Harrier combined. I am assuming conservatively 90% of the to-be PI buyers would swing to BM with this new launch. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged July 8, 2017 Share July 8, 2017 My SE is old bird, but maybe he didn't bother to check out all the features. 60kg is one med sized Asian adult. Not negligible for 350nm. Try it with one additional pax in Fxt Vs. Harrier again. Or try your own car if similar performance. Or try on your own car with full tank and near empty tank. I own the FXT for 2 yrs so I can tell you 1 additional passenger makes negligible difference. We are talking about real life commute here not racetrack sensitive timings. If there's a difference in in that 60kg for a 350nm harrier...then it's indeed worrying... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...