VES 2018

Fuelsaver

No offense? why you so scared about blaming incompetency. that's the very problem with our scholars and people in government service. i relate an incident which happened almost 10years ago.

I was in contact with a government stat board and gave them a presentation and advice. unfortunately they didn't want to believe. And how i knew about it was, I was contacted a month or two later by their consultant(ang mo by the way) who asked me for the same help and advice.

really KNN, had to waste my tax payers money to hire an ang mo to ask the same question and obviously this ang mo also had no bloody clue and had to seek advice too.

So what do i think of technical staffs in civil service? [furious]

Is there even any service ?

I know that you can not typecast all into the same bucket.

Typical Chinese. Although I am one but I different wavelength.

The client normally Kowtao to Ang moh. Think a world of good about Ang moh.

I too kanna with a stat board. I find it pointless to beat around the bush, So my answer was, cannot be dont in this short period of duration. Not practical nor advisable.

Kanna escalated.

Company send someone from US.

Come down do the same presentation.

Come up with great power point presentation. Provide lunch . Hello hello and ra rah.

Say can be done but will take min 2 years.

While I kanna left right and center on dont tell me cannot be done, tell me how to get it done within that period of 6 months to make it happen and the man in the moon story of if everyone thinks like me then wont have a man in the moon logic.

With the Ang moh, the reply was, you make good sense. We need to do things methodological and if it takes 2 years, I agree, cannot be rush as there is high risk involved.

WTF ???????????????

I was flabbergasted.

Using engine capacity to classify is outdated and stupid

I already suggested before, COE should be split into Family and Others.

Each household allowed one Family COE to buy one family car, amount to pay based on household income.

Family car defined as minimum four doors and five seats. Has to be below certain OMV. If family has more than 5 members, OMV threshold may be increased but car purchased must be MPV/7-seater SUV.

If family got more than 10 members and minimum two driving adults, can have 2x Family COE to buy two cars. Reward for having more kids.

Every other car gets an Others COE, same like today's bidding system.

So all your Altis/Civic/Mazda3/Toyota Wish/Estima etc etc all Family COE.

Everything else, Others COE.

Forgive me.

This sounds silly.

I cannot imagine LHL proposing this in parliament.

But give u points for being pro family.

Agree with your statement somewhat.

But if the car is going to cost the same as the flat the owner is staying in, he/she will be more careful in how they drive...no?

I can agree with you on personal car owners would tend to drive more carefully. I just think carefulness, skillfulness and recklessness are different things.

If you are a senior chinese citizen, then likely you not persuasive enough plus no public speaking skills. Presentation not so eloquent. Plus you were being a doomsayer and pessimist.

The other issue with chinese citizens, especially those seniors, is that we not thick skin enough and cannot admit when we are wrong or we don't know. Likely you have that pride too that's why you were too blunt and forceful. Likely the decision makers in the panel were also too prideful themselves and cannot admit they don't know enough.

But you were not decision maker status yet, so you hold grudge for so long for what? Loss of face?

Nah, just that I know we still doom to be submissive and always want to only hear the good stuff. Cannot withstand the bear fact of truth.

Same for SQ flight. In business class, was told to switch seats because ang moh say got discomfort. All because of another infant in front. 

While I did not feel a need to I just take it at face value that the fat lady needed some peace and quiet because of medical reason.

Who knows 15 mins later, she was watching the in flight entertainment, drinking and laughing like she was at home.

I can agree with you on the thick skin part. While we are not thick skin enough, we are more of intergrigty bearing and proud of it.

Never commit like a hero and die like a fool. While many other would not be bothered with committing you to do the job so that you die like a fool.

[:p]   :a-good:

We do know what happened when you have moral hazard. You can do no wrong because you were told that you needed to meet the numbers.

So you continue to do what you were paid to do just to survived.

Edited by Sdf4786k

If you are a senior chinese citizen, then likely you not persuasive enough plus no public speaking skills. Presentation not so eloquent. Plus you were being a doomsayer and pessimist.

The other issue with chinese citizens, especially those seniors, is that we not thick skin enough and cannot admit when we are wrong or we don't know. Likely you have that pride too that's why you were too blunt and forceful. Likely the decision makers in the panel were also too prideful themselves and cannot admit they don't know enough.

But you were not decision maker status yet, so you hold grudge for so long for what? Loss of face?

well well well..

Was at Renault earlier.

They said the grand scenic will still be getting rebate. But lesser than current of $15k.

The are getting new shipments for the new year.

Diesel and qualify for rebate under new VES? 

Was at Renault earlier.

They said the grand scenic will still be getting rebate. But lesser than current of $15k.

The are getting new shipments for the new year.

There is only 1 band of new VES rebate <$15k, it will be the -$10k then.

Perhaps the real objective was to increase revenue, hence the harsh terms

Purpose is for the loss of income with the CEVS previously.

want to drive car or not? want right? everyone want right? So just shutup and pay to drive.

aaa.....who say one huh?

not so chim la ... ah gong statement very plain and straightforward right on your face one

you have a choice, to drive or not to drive ....

if you dont want to pay erp on sat, go on sun ... muahahaha

Now that EU has change from NEDC (New European Driving Cycle) to WLTP (Worldwide Harmonised Light Vehicle Test Procedure) from this September, emission figures are set to be even higher than before, a double whammy for European car manufacturers selling their cars here in SIngapore.

What is WLTP and how does it work?

From NEDC to WLTP: What will change?

What is the purpose of the WLTP lab test?

What emissions are being tested?

The same car suddenly has two different CO2 values, why is this?

And here is one mission impossible, sort of, as you are unlikely to have the best of both worlds, so I would say LTA is the sole winner by setting so many parameters for the new VES scheme...

Why is it challenging to reduce CO2 and pollutants at the same time?

acc-imgu-1.png

vs.

20170308_Table1_VES_Banding_Rebates_and_

but coe might not drop that much this time round. unlike in 2007 when they introduced Euro4 for diesels. tsk tsk... but they still never learn...always implementing policies to shoot themselves in the foot. and then have to back track. what a disgrace.

Edited by Mkl22

last time they have master the skill to move goal post

now ... they have master the skill to flip prata ... faster than you go pangsai

but coe might not drop that much this time round. unlike in 2007 when they introduced Euro4 for diesels. tsk tsk... but they still never learn...always implementing policies to shoot themselves in the foot. and then have to back track. what a disgrace.

Using engine capacity to classify is outdated and stupid

I already suggested before, COE should be split into Family and Others.

Each household allowed one Family COE to buy one family car, amount to pay based on household income.

Family car defined as minimum four doors and five seats. Has to be below certain OMV. If family has more than 5 members, OMV threshold may be increased but car purchased must be MPV/7-seater SUV.

If family got more than 10 members and minimum two driving adults, can have 2x Family COE to buy two cars. Reward for having more kids.

Every other car gets an Others COE, same like today's bidding system.

So all your Altis/Civic/Mazda3/Toyota Wish/Estima etc etc all Family COE.

Everything else, Others COE.

Sounded very communist style of resource allocation.

Very equitable, but also autocratic.

Cannot choose type of car.

If have extended family?

Own family say 3 person, extended is 7,

Can be entitled to buy 12 seater van?