VES 2018

Fuelsaver

the lta scholars sibei shallow thinking

when people comprain ... wah Cat A COE got bmw / merc / audi

what the scholars can think of is to limit bhp to 130bhp because there are toyota / honda / nissan / mazda models at 130bhp

#$!~#@~!$@!%#@%! [furious]

it's like remove all stainless steel knife from kitchen before it can kill

only allow plastic knife

Anyone from MCF is better than them.

130hp COE is a joke. AD immediately slap their face by bringing in diesel car. Low horsepower but high torque. More pollution too.

Anyone from MCF is better than them.

130hp COE is a joke. AD immediately slap their face by bringing in diesel car. Low horsepower but high torque. More pollution too.

But LTA slapped them back with VES.

U can never win the regulators yo!

even CR7 cannot score goal because they can move the goal post anytime ...

else they will reduce the goal post smaller than the ball [laugh]

Singapore has always been one side setting the rules and the other side trying to work around them.

Nothing wrong with setting the rules, but the current crop can't seem to anticipate "unintended consequences" or think that people will look for loopholes.

The second group is where we see the creative side of Singaporeans.

Huh ? Its more like us car buyers being gamed from them turning a rebate into a TAX

The previous CEVS was lax cos it looked at only one pollutant. Not LTA's fault, really, because the thinking (worldwide) then was that if it met the criteria, then the other pollutants should be low as well.

So the car manufacturers optimize for just that pollutant and making the rest worse. Now the cat is out of the bag.

the lta scholars sibei shallow thinking

when people comprain ... wah Cat A COE got bmw / merc / audi

what the scholars can think of is to limit bhp to 130bhp because there are toyota / honda / nissan / mazda models at 130bhp

#$!~#@~!$@!%#@%! [furious]

it's like remove all stainless steel knife from kitchen before it can kill

only allow plastic knife

now Cat A still got bmw/ merc/ audi

Audi A1/ A3/ Q2

BMW 1 series/ 2 series

Merc A class/ B class

Since they want to remove luxury car from Cat A, they may categorize the COE based on income. Similar to HDB BTO. 

Cat A - Income below $12K (HDB)

Cat B - Income below $14K  (EC)

Open - Income above $14K or foreigners (Private)

I think it is quite easy to implement...

Audi A1/ A3/ Q2

BMW 1 series/ 2 series

Merc A class/ B class

Since they want to remove luxury car from Cat A, they may categorize the COE based on income. Similar to HDB BTO.

Cat B - Income below $14K (EC)

i know there are still bmw/merc/audi in cat A coe

if they did not chut pattern 130bhp

there are PLENTY of conti cars in cat A coe

the 1.4L and 1.6L turbo will conquer the entire cat A coe !!!

LTA slapped back after so many years.

At least they have few years to enjoy the loopholes.

I do not know why LTA want VES. Euro 6 is good enough.

Audi A1/ A3/ Q2

BMW 1 series/ 2 series

Merc A class/ B class

Cat B - Income below $14K  (EC)

Using engine capacity to classify is outdated and stupid

I already suggested before, COE should be split into Family and Others.

Each household allowed one Family COE to buy one family car, amount to pay based on household income.

Family car defined as minimum four doors and five seats. Has to be below certain OMV. If family has more than 5 members, OMV threshold may be increased but car purchased must be MPV/7-seater SUV.

If family got more than 10 members and minimum two driving adults, can have 2x Family COE to buy two cars. Reward for having more kids.

Every other car gets an Others COE, same like today's bidding system.

So all your Altis/Civic/Mazda3/Toyota Wish/Estima etc etc all Family COE.

Everything else, Others COE.

The whole VES thing looks very hastily done and the reading ranges and bands look like it's prepared by someone/a team who didn't do extensive research and feasibility studies to confirm that they can be accomplished. In other words paper researchers only. No offence if the implementators are reading this but that's the public perception which have damaged public confidence of your professional knowhow.

http://www.nea.gov.sg/corporate-functions/newsroom/news-releases/vehicular-emissions-scheme

This article that backtrack the rating further confirms that the team may not have even consulted LTA or various leaders in the motor industry to confirm if the values are achievable.

The fact that the VES proceed is still a mystery could be due to them trying to remediate whatever mess they have gotten themselves into.

It will be a joke if once VES comes out all exist vehicles end up in band 2. It's akin to rating your water saving capability by seeing if you can use a bottlecap to rinse your mouth after brushing your teeth. Because you hire the ants to do the research.

Perhaps the real objective was to increase revenue, hence the harsh terms

U think?

No lah. It's really for environmental reasons. That's why we all shld be happy paying extra.

Edited by Soya

Very noble intentions.

But COE has always been about control of car population and in recent years, contribution to the fiscal income of the government. It is not meant to be making sure equitable distribution of car ownership. Or making it affordable for all. 

It is not statistically proven but I do observe that with easily accessible car ownership in recent years (uber/grab), we get more underskilled, under experienced drivers on the road making the road condition more dangerous for all. 

Using engine capacity to classify is outdated and stupid

I already suggested before, COE should be split into Family and Others.

Each household allowed one Family COE to buy one family car, amount to pay based on household income.

Family car defined as minimum four doors and five seats. Has to be below certain OMV. If family has more than 5 members, OMV threshold may be increased but car purchased must be MPV/7-seater SUV.

If family got more than 10 members and minimum two driving adults, can have 2x Family COE to buy two cars. Reward for having more kids.

Every other car gets an Others COE, same like today's bidding system.

So all your Altis/Civic/Mazda3/Toyota Wish/Estima etc etc all Family COE.

Everything else, Others COE.

LTA slapped back after so many years.

At least they have few years to enjoy the loopholes.

I do not know why LTA want VES. Euro 6 is good enough.

Totally agree with u, LTA is confused. It suggests VES is more an error/loophole correction for the poorly executed CEVS.  

Very noble intentions.

But COE has always been about control of car population and in recent years, contribution to the fiscal income of the government. It is not meant to be making sure equitable distribution of car ownership. Or making it affordable for all. 

It is not statistically proven but I do observe that with easily accessible car ownership in recent years (uber/grab), we get more underskilled, under experienced drivers on the road making the road condition more dangerous for all. 

If like that then just equalise COE la. One category for everybody. Heck care whether you big engine small engine.

I hate this stupid wayang where they 'pretend' to have Cat A for 'bread and butter' cars. It's all nonsense.

Able to afford car does not make one a skillful driver either. However, it is true that new PHV drivers do pose a road danger. While Taxi can happy happy go to Taxi stand or pick up road side passenger, new PHV drivers have to find the exact spot to pick up passenger with they limited driving experience.  

Agree with your statement somewhat.

But if the car is going to cost the same as the flat the owner is staying in, he/she will be more careful in how they drive...no?

Able to afford car does not make one a skillful driver either. However, it is true that new PHV drivers do pose a road danger. While Taxi can happy happy go to Taxi stand or pick up road side passenger, new PHV drivers have to find the exact spot to pick up passenger with they limited driving experience.