Kxbc Turbocharged August 14, 2022 Share August 14, 2022 26 minutes ago, Kb27 said: I moved from Samsung to LG, bcuz of all the deadweights apps, SS like to put in. Got a few LG models, then they stop making phone. Moved to Xiaomi bcuz of the price. Now so many dizzying models, everyone is producing. I guess I'll stick with Xiaomi for a while. My current is Redmi Note 10. I had a Poco that my toddler damaged by dipping into water. My next upgrade would still be a budget phone, but I like a bigger screen, bigger battery, and a reasonably fast cpu, is good enough. 5G at the moment, I don't think it's necessary. Neither do I game, it's a waste of time. Same as you. I moved from ss to LG as ss has so many apps I don't use and can't uninstall. But LG now no more models so I switched back to ss. On a ss A70 too like @inlinesix. It's $300+ so mai hiam is buay pai. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 I heard that Samsung now less bloated with apps than last time, and they now provide 4-5 years of android updates. That is what attracts me to Samsung phones now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 (edited) 16 minutes ago, Tkseah said: I heard that Samsung now less bloated with apps than last time, and they now provide 4-5 years of android updates. That is what attracts me to Samsung phones now. Hmm some clarification here. Android updates is generally only for S and Z series and their premium tablets. Some select A series also. Generally Google check for their launch news to see if the device u bought is covered. Only the newer ones will be covered as it takes a lot of effort to update for every model. So for the above. Right now is android 12. So if u buy an android 11 based phone launched last year. That would be one update already. Its also based on launch date, not purchase date. Oppo has something similar for Find X Series which is 2 android updates and 4 year security updates. Edited August 15, 2022 by Lala81 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 5 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Hmm some clarification here. Android updates is generally only for S and Z series and their premium tablets. Some select A series also. Generally Google check for their launch news to see if the device u bought is covered. Only the newer ones will be covered as it takes a lot of effort to update for every model. So for the above. Right now is android 12. So if u buy an android 11 based phone launched last year. That would be one update already. Its also based on launch date, not purchase date. Yeah... That's why my Note 10+ probably can last till S23 launch.... https://www.androidauthority.com/samsung-galaxy-note-10-plus-update-1020236/ Already many tech news outlets are saying that Android 12 is probably the last update my phone will get. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 2 minutes ago, Vratenza said: Yeah... That's why my Note 10+ probably can last till S23 launch.... https://www.androidauthority.com/samsung-galaxy-note-10-plus-update-1020236/ Already many tech news outlets are saying that Android 12 is probably the last update my phone will get. Why not. I'm using 4.5 year old s9+. On android 10. still had security update on 18 march 2022 at 4 year mark. (even though my phone not really covered by the the policy going forward then). This is one major advantage for Samsung. Xiaomi is notoriously slow with updates past a certain point. For example, xiaomi doesn't really fix some bugs despite user feedback even for their flagship products. They still very into releasing lot of products every 6 months. Bit like Malaysia keep building buildings but don't maintain lol. Similarly I'm interested in oppo find x series cos at least they commit to something close to SS. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 16 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Oppo has something similar for Find X Series which is 2 android updates and 4 year security updates. am using Oppo Reno (bought from Oppo Official Store on Shopee). came preloaded with Android 10 and updated to 11 and now 12 just last month. 2 updates already and Android 12 should be the final one. for Oppo A series, think only 1 android update. so sweet spot is a past season on sale Reno series. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 (edited) Some people complain Xiaomi is slow to update. I had the opposite experience. My Redmi Note 10 started with android 10, it's now android 12. My experience with the old SS was the opposite, it was really slow and then stopped. LG also does not update much. It just stop. My wife's SS Note 9, it's still at android 10. It hasn't move or upgraded. 😁 Edited August 15, 2022 by Kb27 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 15 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Hmm some clarification here. Android updates is generally only for S and Z series and their premium tablets. Some select A series also. Generally Google check for their launch news to see if the device u bought is covered. Only the newer ones will be covered as it takes a lot of effort to update for every model. So for the above. Right now is android 12. So if u buy an android 11 based phone launched last year. That would be one update already. Its also based on launch date, not purchase date. Oppo has something similar for Find X Series which is 2 android updates and 4 year security updates. Oppo X series price is like flagship liao.. Samsung will support even the a33 with 4 android versions upgrade.. https://www.sammobile.com/news/samsung-give-galaxy-a33-a53-and-a73-four-android-os-upgrades/ 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Tkseah said: Oppo X series price is like flagship liao.. Samsung will support even the a33 with 4 android versions upgrade.. https://www.sammobile.com/news/samsung-give-galaxy-a33-a53-and-a73-four-android-os-upgrades/ Cos Samsung knows they can't sell more phones. They are peaked. What they need is better support so canabalise other sales and keep customers loyal to brand. Whereas China is still trying to chip away at Samsung globally. So trying to have a barrage of models. SS is more mature already, doing things at their own pace. That's why I recommend a53 even though there is Chinese comparables at say 80-100 dollars cheaper. Edited August 15, 2022 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 16 minutes ago, Kb27 said: Some people complain Xiaomi is slow to update. I had the opposite experience. My Redmi Note 10 started with android 10, it's now android 12. My experience with the old SS was the opposite, it was really slow and then stopped. LG also does not update much. It just stop. My wife's SS Note 9, it's still at android 10. It hasn't move or upgraded. 😁 Xiaomi is good other than os not efficient for high end phones. Drain lot of battery to peers. My wife is on mi8. Also 4 year phone. Was considering mi12 for her. But not available in Sg. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 58 minutes ago, Tkseah said: I heard that Samsung now less bloated with apps than last time, and they now provide 4-5 years of android updates. That is what attracts me to Samsung phones now. i dun find any bloatware on SS after using the S series for last 7 yrs, i guess will stick to their high end range Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 (edited) 15 minutes ago, Jman888 said: i dun find any bloatware on SS after using the S series for last 7 yrs, i guess will stick to their high end range Just those apps u don't use lah. We just don't put on home screen. But some Chinese low end phones have ones with ads etc. but can delete. Edited August 15, 2022 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Hmm some clarification here. Android updates is generally only for S and Z series and their premium tablets. Some select A series also. Generally Google check for their launch news to see if the device u bought is covered. Only the newer ones will be covered as it takes a lot of effort to update for every model. So for the above. Right now is android 12. So if u buy an android 11 based phone launched last year. That would be one update already. Its also based on launch date, not purchase date. Oppo has something similar for Find X Series which is 2 android updates and 4 year security updates. My 3 year old SS A70 just got an Google/SS update last Sat. Security app was enhanced but not sure what else. I think it's a minor one as it took barely 10 min. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 43 minutes ago, Kb27 said: Some people complain Xiaomi is slow to update. I had the opposite experience. My Redmi Note 10 started with android 10, it's now android 12. My experience with the old SS was the opposite, it was really slow and then stopped. LG also does not update much. It just stop. My wife's SS Note 9, it's still at android 10. It hasn't move or upgraded. 😁 Depending on your usage pattern, sometimes a software upgrade might not be good as the hardware can't process the upgraded software as quickly so your phone slows down. But without a software upgrade, some of your critical apps (eg banking apps) may not be supported by your OS or lack some new critical features. I am using a 3 year old hand me down phone. Better than my old one which was 6 years old. So no complains. 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 29 minutes ago, Jman888 said: i dun find any bloatware on SS after using the S series for last 7 yrs, i guess will stick to their high end range SS sure have bloatware. You can check your playstore. Always start with "SS xxx". Want to uninstall also cannot though I don't use most at all. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 34 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Just those apps u don't use lah. We just don't put on home screen. But some Chinese low end phones have ones with ads etc. but can delete. 6 minutes ago, Kxbc said: SS sure have bloatware. You can check your playstore. Always start with "SS xxx". Want to uninstall also cannot though I don't use most at all. they have but not those that push in your face type like some MIC phones, that's why getting the higher end range with faster processor and ram that make the phone run smoothly and not draggy. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 55 minutes ago, Kxbc said: Depending on your usage pattern, sometimes a software upgrade might not be good as the hardware can't process the upgraded software as quickly so your phone slows down. But without a software upgrade, some of your critical apps (eg banking apps) may not be supported by your OS or lack some new critical features. I am using a 3 year old hand me down phone. Better than my old one which was 6 years old. So no complains. 😁 I'm a bit kiasi as I use phone for banking n online purchases. I get a bit bothered when the phone security patches is not up to date. Will prob wanna change phone when no more supported and the last security patch is >1 year old. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged August 15, 2022 Share August 15, 2022 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...