[Random] Why drive fast?

boonhat_91

Do you change lanes/change direction suddenly? Go around corners without slowing down? Do you indicate when you change lanes? Do you drive faster than the cars around you? Brake abruptly? Have road rage, especially with "buey zai" drivers?

I ever took a lift in a lady colleague's car.

Similar to what u described and either her Altis suspension too soft or cui already.

Didn't drive fast but I felt nausea after we arrived.

There is always difference in feel between the driver and front passenger when driving fast. Coz the driver has full control of the vehicle while the passenger is just sitting duck. Its like sitting in a roller coaster. So what is fast for a passenger may not be the same for the driver.

I almost wet my pants as a front passenger when my friend chiong to almost 200kmph on an expressway many years back.

Most cars can do 200 safely under controlled road conditions. Pushing a stock car to the max, speed and boost limit will be cut off by the ecu. If the limit is set too low might be dangerous if you need to get out of sticky situation say a tornado coming your way. Or overtaking or a ferrari beating red light and coming your way at the cross junction.

Even if you are very confident with your skills and have a fast performance car, good tyre n etc, you need to understand that driving it’s not just you on the road. There’s so many factors to consider e.g some Drivers are lousy(last sec filter lane without warning), road with oil that is unable to see, your own body(tiredness) even if you are accustomed to be driving fast, road debris and much much more.

With those reasons to factor in, if you drive too fast and unable to react then how? Better be safe than sorry.

With so many unforeseeable external factors, why drive fast? Even if you think 100km/h isn't fast, surely you can afford to go at 90km/h instead as it would be objectively safer should anything happen. Then why not travel at 80, or 70, or etc....

Fast when alone, slow and steady when with family. Never put others' life at risk when driving fast. Fast on express lane and not on HDB road. No matter how good your skills, fast surely prompt danger to yourself and others! Just sharing my experience.

Your family don't care about you? You don't care about your family? What if something happen to you while you were driving fast alone then you can't provide for them anymore? *touch wood* Nothing personal bro, this is just an argument that is thrown at me many times.

side note: how to quote multiple posts ar? :XD: edit: cool, it has done that for me automatically

Edited by boonhat_91

A woman is cooking eggs in the kitchen when her husband comes running in. Immediately, he sees the eggs and gasps in horror.

"Be careful! CAREFUL! Put in some more butter! Oh, my GOSH!"

The wife, startled at her husband's violent reaction, dashes to the fridge to get some butter.

"You're cooking too many at once. TOO MANY! Turn them! TURN THEM NOW!"

The wife, concerned by the status of her husband's mental state,forgets about the butter and goes running to the eggs.

"WE NEED BUTTER! Are you CRAZY??? Where are we going to get the butter? They're going to stick! HURRY!"

The wife runs to the fri-

"CAREFUL about the eggs! CAREFUL. You NEVER listen to me when you're cooking! Never! Turn them quickly! Oh not that quickly, don't you know how to cook? Are you insane? Turn the EGGS!"

At this point, the wife starts crying, since she has no idea what to do.

She gasps, "What is WRONG with you? I know how to cook eggs."

The husband simply smiles and replies, "I just wanted to show you what it feels like while I'm driving with you in the car," and leaves.

+5 praise here cause not able to.

TBH I am the one making noise when she's cooking or driving.

The safest way to drive is to go with the flow of traffic keeping an appropriate distance and not making sudden unpredictable moves and always be alert and focus 100% on the road and interact with other vehicles by signaling and using car "body language" (you are not alone on the road).

If everyone follows this principle, there will be no impatient overtakes, no sudden manoeurvres to avoid, no fights, no accidents, etc.

The problem starts when one driver thinks he can drive at his own pace or change lane without consideration or respect for other road users. One action can cause a reaction which in turns cause another reaction leading to a chain reaction.

This is what we see on the road today,

• Praise 13

The safest way to drive is to go with the flow of traffic keeping an appropriate distance and not making sudden unpredictable moves and always be alert and focus 100% on the road and interact with other vehicles by signaling and using car "body language" (you are not alone on the road).

If everyone follows this principle, there will be no impatient overtakes, no sudden manoeurvres to avoid, no fights, no accidents, etc.

The problem starts when one driver thinks he can drive at his own pace or change lane without consideration or respect for other road users. One action can cause a reaction which in turns cause another reaction leading to a chain reaction.

Go with the flow... But not applicable to overtaking lane hor.. that should be on the lane 2 onwards

Some Friday night food for thought... arguing with CO about my driving style is never ending. She feels that I drive too fast, too recklessly, whereas I feel confident in my ability and in control of the car. How to argue without seeming complacent? Is it complacent or arrogant to say I feel confident in my driving?

Then the argument is that driving at lower speed will cause less damage if an accident happens, got more time to react..the usual..which is not wrong. So then why does anyone drive fast? What is "fast"?

Why do carmakers make cars with different performance? Given that most countries have speed limits which are way below what a modern car is capable of, why bother to make a vehicle that can go above speed limits? If I were a bmw or merc exec, having studied the singapore car market, I would just make my cars with as small an engine as possible and limit the top speed to 90km/h. Singaporean badge whores (no offence meant here) would lap up my cars and I would be making huge margins by making consumers pay a premium for nothing more than the badge. Until truly autonomous cars become reality this would be the best way to go, no?

Sorry for rambling...just wanna see what opinions there are out there. cheers :D

I think it’s more to driving at your comfortable speed, a speed that you are capable enough to handle, rather than being ‘fast’ or ‘slow’. Speeds are subjective like some have mentioned. Having said that, the road speed limits come into play too. You just have to moderate your speed according to the road condition and traffic situation at that point in time. Seriously, I have never seen those LTA/TP bikes riding at or lower than the road speed limits; they were riding much faster.

Nothing wrong with driving fast, but again a lot of factors before we can also pipe in lah like type of car, traffic conditions, weather etc etc. 

But if your confident of the situation as most are then no opinion for us to offer also.

But with family I would just relent :) sometimes I drive quick when coming back from late movie with CO but after awhile I also slow down to lengthen the time to chit chat while driving quite enjoyable also.

Govt also knows that people like to speed, speed limits were determined based on the factors mentioned above to ensure general safety for all road users.

Believe me if Govt were that concerned about speeding they would follow Aust method and have mobile camera's everywhere, confirm no one dare speed.

Some Friday night food for thought... arguing with CO about my driving style is never ending. She feels that I drive too fast, too recklessly, whereas I feel confident in my ability and in control of the car. How to argue without seeming complacent? Is it complacent or arrogant to say I feel confident in my driving? 

Then the argument is that driving at lower speed will cause less damage if an accident happens, got more time to react..the usual..which is not wrong. So then why does anyone drive fast? What is "fast"?

Why do carmakers make cars with different performance? Given that most countries have speed limits which are way below what a modern car is capable of, why bother to make a vehicle that can go above speed limits? If I were a bmw or merc exec, having studied the singapore car market, I would just make my cars with as small an engine as possible and limit the top speed to 90km/h. Singaporean badge whores (no offence meant here) would lap up my cars and I would be making huge margins by making consumers pay a premium for nothing more than the badge. Until truly autonomous cars become reality this would be the best way to go, no?

Sorry for rambling...just wanna see what opinions there are out there. cheers :D

Isn't every individual on the road essentially driving at their "own pace"? If so happen you are on the expressway (speed limit 90) but every car in your vicinity is only driving at 80, are you then the maverick for deciding/wanting to drive at 90 (which is still keeping to the limit)?

I think it’s more to driving at your comfortable speed, a speed that you are capable enough to handle, rather than being ‘fast’ or ‘slow’. Speeds are subjective like some have mentioned. Having said that, the road speed limits come into play too. You just have to moderate your speed according to the road condition and traffic situation at that point in time. Seriously, I have never seen those LTA/TP bikes riding at or lower than the road speed limits; they were riding much faster.

A point about comfortable speed, confidence, and capability: if all along you always drive at 100 and are lucky enough to never encounter any incidents, how do you know for real that you are really capable? 

Isn't every individual on the road essentially driving at their "own pace"? If so happen you are on the expressway (speed limit 90) but every car in your vicinity is only driving at 80, are you then the maverick for deciding/wanting to drive at 90 (which is still keeping to the limit)?

The statement you highlight is more referring to road hogs who drive at their own pace and making sudden turns or lane change without regard to other road users like living in their own world.

Frankly I have no problem following at 60km/h on lane 1 of expressway in a moderate-to-heavy traffic condition when the driver in front is doing his best to keep up with the traffic in front of him with a reasonable gap.

However, I have problem when the driver in front simply drive at his own pace at the same speed of 60km/h when there is no car in front in the next 100m or so.

Anyway I'm not sure what's the point you are trying to make cos your statement is contradicting. How can one drive at their "own pace" of 90km/h when surrounded by 80km/h traffic?

Go with the flow... But not applicable to overtaking lane hor.. that should be on the lane 2 onwards

Drive fast is not dangerous.

Inconsiderate driver whom hog , insist on right of way even at the time of  live or dead , not checking surrounding , my car my way in dangerous manner are the real culprit !

I have maintained 50% NCD/ no accident  and no speeding ticket for the past 15 years . Do I drive fast ? Yes relatively so .

My driving pattern has been mostly overtaking in safe manner for my daily to/fro work, due to not following  behind cars ( own pace below speed limit with large gap in front of car , road hogger) train ,

I dont have to deal with panic spider whom will jam brake at any possible given chance to create accident.

Do i give way to others ..ALWAYS, especially those that put on Signal to filter. who drive faster .

hmmm...here's my thought:

why is there a speed limit in almost every road in every country? there's got to be a reason (or reasons) for this. and here's one reason imho: a speeding car that is out of control will do much, much more damage than one at lower speed.

my 2c.

Fast is a relative word when not used with any absolute values or figure.

To my parents, 80-90 km/h is fast but to me, it is not fast.

I drive at a pace that I am comfortable with, a pace that I can cognitively coordinate my eye and body and make any immediate judgement if any unforeseen circumstances arises.

Driving fast is one issue.

Driving safe is more important.

If you are confident of driving fast and yet ensure safety is important, ignore what others say.

You are the driver.

You do not understand.

The problem for TS is, the 'others' is his OC..

Maybe because you are still single.

With so many unforeseeable external factors, why drive fast? Even if you think 100km/h isn't fast, surely you can afford to go at 90km/h instead as it would be objectively safer should anything happen. Then why not travel at 80, or 70, or etc....

Your family don't care about you? You don't care about your family? What if something happen to you while you were driving fast alone then you can't provide for them anymore? *touch wood* Nothing personal bro, this is just an argument that is thrown at me many times.

Follow the speed limit as a guide then. Some here claim it is too slow just because they don't have the competence to keep to it. But I guess it is a safe guideline to follow if you really need one.

Is your wife a driver too and are you frequently in near miss incidents? If no, just ignore.

Perhaps you can ask other passengers taking a ride in your car, do they feel unsafe while you are behind the wheels?

Simple...either change wife...or change your driving habit. :grin: